How to play Grey Knights in 9th edition – Tips from 40k Playtesters

The Tabletop Titans crew brings us tips on playing Grey Knights in 9th ed 40k!

Learn the new tricks and tactics you will need to play Grey Knights in 9th edition from a team that has been playtesting the game for months. We take you through all the biggest nerfs and buffs to the Grey Knights army along with the core strategies and thoughts on list creation. Don’t miss all our other 9th edition launch coverage including battle reports and tactics videos covering nearly all factions in the game.

Join our community:

And remember, Frontline Gaming sells gaming products at a discount, every day in their webcart!



About Reecius

The fearless leader of the intrepid group of gamers gone retailers at Frontline Gaming!

12 Responses to “How to play Grey Knights in 9th edition – Tips from 40k Playtesters”

  1. Shas’O August 1, 2020 6:12 pm #

    Crowe is amazing with double d6 smites!

    • abusepuppy August 2, 2020 11:51 pm #

      You can’t cast Smite more than once with a single model.

      • Venkarel August 3, 2020 7:45 am #

        Yes you can as it stands now. They should FAQ it though.

        • Venkarel August 3, 2020 8:08 am #

          Just to be thorough, from the rule book, Psychic Phase, Manifesting psychic powers, “With the exception of smite you cannot attempt to manifest the same psychic power more than once in the same battle round”. This is open and shut that you are allowed to manifest smite more than once. What I think GW is trying to achieve here is, that smite can be cast more than once a phase but by different casters, they just didn’t say that.
          The next part is specifically phrased to make smite cast more than once possible, “If the Psycher unit can attempt to manifest more than one psychic power in its Psychic phase, you can then attempt to manifest those, one at a time, as describe above.” Again there is not limit to different power or anything here (although I think they should have added it), as it is defined before this in the same Psychic Phase rules, that powers can only be cast once a turn except smite.
          Now some people say that the bullet point below limits smite casting but it says, “select another psychic power”. First, the bullet points are summaries and the rule book says that they should cover most circumstances but that the rules text is the finally source for the rules. Also the phrasing “another power” can be used to select the same power in a subset of power for each trial. If I tell you to choose a number from one to ten and you choose 5, then I say lets play again and select another number you can then select 5 again. I should have said lets play again and select a different number to get a number that is not 5.
          That being said I think GWs intent is to limit the casting of smite to once per psycher per turn, they just didn’t put the line into the rules and it should be FAQed with the first core rules FAQ.

          • abusepuppy August 3, 2020 9:17 am

            How do you translate “can attempt to manifest more than one psychic power” into “can attempt to manifest the same psychic power more than once”? Those aren’t the same phrases, and they have different meanings.

          • Venkarel August 3, 2020 10:14 am

            Because of the first part of the subsection says, “With the exception of smite you cannot attempt to manifest the same psychic power more than once in the same battle round”.
            The first part of your response, “can attempt to manifest more than one psychic power”, doesn’t limit what you cast at all, if you look at the complete quote it says, “If the Psycher can attempt to…you can then attempt to manifest those, one at a time, as describe above” that just says if you have the ability/permission to do it than you can. The permission to cast smite more than once a battle round is granted by the first part of the subsection, see the paragraph directly above this one.

          • Venkarel August 3, 2020 10:22 am

            While I have your eyeballs AP, in regards to blast minimum for units 6-10 models, I think the definition of minimum value in the appendix says that the blast minimum is per die not per weapon/model and so for a 2d6 shot weapon it should be 6 attacks minimum. What do you think?

          • abusepuppy August 3, 2020 7:19 pm

            RAW, the minimum 3 is applied per-weapon. I don’t think there’s any argument there on a strict reading.

            That said, with many blast weapons this makes little sense and at least some of the playtesters have said that was not how they were playing the rule, so I think it definitely is an issue that needs an FAQ. In my own games I’ve been playing it as a minimum of 3 per die, although I admit that is an interpretive assumption rather than anything drawn from a strict reading.

          • Venkarel August 4, 2020 8:50 am

            I would disagree. Blast says, “If a blast weapon targets a unit that has between 6 and 10 models, it always makes a minimum of 3 attacks.”
            When I first read this, I agree it says that each weapon be it 1d6, 2d6, 3d6 etc. will have a minimum of 3 attacks total. But in typical GW fashion, what is the definition of minimum?
            Per the appendix, Minimum Value, “If a rule state that a random characteristic or a dice roll has a minimum value, determine its value as if each dice that makes up the characteristic or dice roll was rolled and its result had the lowest possible dice value (examples)” If my minimum value is 3 for blast, then each dice has a minimum of 3 for a total of 6 in my example, per this definition.

  2. Sir_Prometheus August 2, 2020 5:27 pm #

    Sigh. You guys don’t know GK and it shows.

    • abusepuppy August 2, 2020 11:51 pm #

      Eagerly awaiting your explanation on how, for the fifth edition in a row, Land Raiders are actually amazingly powerful and strong in Grey Knights but no one but you knows it and you can’t provide any kind of support for it but _we just gotta believe_.

    • Jace August 3, 2020 6:23 pm #

      “this article from Tabletop titans”
      “join our community… Tabletop titans”

      I don’t think your responding to the right place with this?
      Or do you mean Tabletop titans don’t get GK?

Leave a Reply