Join us for a LIVE Big Fall FAQ Discussion!

Join us for a live discussion of the new Big FAQ 2!

Reecius will be sharing his thoughts on the FAQ and answering all the questions he is able to. The show will be starting shortly.

Join the fun by following this link!

And remember, Frontline Gaming sells gaming products at a discount, every day in their webcart!

secondhandhsop

Tags:

About Reecius

The fearless leader of the intrepid group of gamers gone retailers at Frontline Gaming!

16 Responses to “Join us for a LIVE Big Fall FAQ Discussion!”

  1. Starscream September 28, 2018 7:41 pm #

    With the new faq out, my area says now you can mix kabal of the black heart units and other kabal in a single detachment to use the Vect stratagem. Is that true? As i was reading it as in order to play it you need to have a body on board restriction was added.

    Page 120 – Agents of Vect
    Change the Command Point cost of this Stratagem
    to 4CP.
    Change the final sentence of this Stratagem to read:
    ‘This Stratagem cannot be used if there are no Kabal
    of the Black Heart units from your army on the
    battlefield, and cannot be used to affect Stratagems used
    ‘before the battle’ or ‘during deployment’.

    Because if thats the case you can mix all sorts of units with diffrent chapter tactics in a detach and still activate stratagems exclusive to them. Thanks

    • Rob Butcher September 29, 2018 11:54 pm #

      NO, detachments are still single Kabal.

      The restriction means KofBH models have to be on the board to use AofV – not dead or held in reserve.

      • abusepuppy September 30, 2018 3:04 am #

        That… isn’t true. You have never been forced to choose the same (or any other bracketed keyword) with all models in detachment.

      • Kevin Lantz September 30, 2018 4:33 am #

        Like abusepuppy said, you can have one detachment with every tau/eldar/tryannid/ork/space marine in it, you’ll just lose out on the faction specific(sept/craftworld/hive fleet/clan/chapter tactics) bonus such as -1 to hit for all models since they don’t all share the same craftworld.

        There is no restriction from having a tau farsight commander with fusion blades, a sacae cadre, viorla firewarriors and breechers, and dalyth ghost keel in the same faction, as a tau player you’d now have access to all the wargear/strats but not the cool 5+ over watch or other benefits.

  2. rvd1ofakind September 28, 2018 8:45 pm #

    So Necron Wraiths can’t charge 2nd floor of ruins period? They’re not infantry and not FLY. They can move into 2nd floor but they can’t charge into 2nd floor, right?

    How do you rule the Beast and Swarm keyword when it comes to climbing ruins:
    1. They are not in the “Can only stay on the ground” list
    2. They are not in the “can scale walls and move through walls” list

    So they can only climb where there are no “floors” impeding movement? So if you put a model on the edge – they can’t climb at all since they can’t move through “floors” or the enemy model?

    • rvd1ofakind September 28, 2018 10:12 pm #

      BTW, I’m less disappointed by the FAQ since I realised that CA is in 2 months (what). But then it’s a bad format/release dates because they have to publish the BIG FAQ when CA is already in the printers…

      Anyway, the SoCal open should be a lot more interesting with the ITC mission changes combined with the BIG FAQ 2.

  3. Zweischneid September 29, 2018 1:15 am #

    So, you can roll a 1 and 2 on a D3, because it is effectively a “one” in the result.

    Does that mean you couldn’t ever re-roll anything on a 2D3 or 2D6, because it is effectively a “two” in the result minimum?

    And Grey Knights Interceptors can still do all the “fly-charges/consolidates/HIs/etc..”? Or is that just an oversight?

    • Rob Butcher September 29, 2018 11:55 pm #

      GK Interceptors can still make that move – BUT many players choose not to use it in that manner (ask Spider from TTT).

  4. Zweischneid September 29, 2018 2:39 am #

    Unfortunately, I don’t think the CP farm nerfs affects the pre-game charge-up during deployment or so with Grand Strategist/Veritas Vitae, as it’s not in a battle round and not within a phase limited the re-roll strat to 1-use, no?

    Use a random 1-2 CP strat during deployment and roll 2 dice for GS/VV, re-rolling all results lower than 5 with the re-roll strat, netting you an average 1.11 CP for each CP spend.

    Keep up the chain rolling 2 dice for all the re-roll strats, again re-rolling all non 5s/6s again netting you 1.11 CP average for every CP spend.

    Rinse & repeat until you’re at 40-50 CP or so.

    Start the game.

    • Brakhal September 29, 2018 3:09 am #

      “Each player can only gain or have refunded a total one command point per battle round as the result of such rules, regardless of the source”

      My understanding is:
      a- You can only gain 1 per battle round.
      b- You can only gain when it is a battle round.

      • Zweischneid September 29, 2018 3:22 am #

        Well, that’d be interesting to clarify, even for less obviously abusive approaches to this.

        Can I Grand Strategist Victor of the Blood Games during deployment as pre-FAQ (outside the battle round) or not at all (as it’s outside the battle round)?

        Can I Labyrinthine Cunning a bunch of Screaming Jets during deployment as pre-FAQ (outside the battle round) or not at all (as it’s outside the battle round)?

        • Kevin Lantz October 1, 2018 4:36 am #

          as I understand it the battle round starts with deployment… then player turn 1 after all that’s done, but I’m at work.

  5. Duz_ September 29, 2018 7:14 am #

    Podcast version inbound shortly? 🙂

    • Rob Butcher September 29, 2018 11:53 pm #

      There’s plenty of podcasts so far, but waiting for the official GW one.

      Best seen so far was the Tabletop Tactics voxcast … balanced and insightful from a competitive players perspective.

    • Reecius
      Reecius September 30, 2018 9:25 am #

      Yes we will get it up as soon as we can. It was a fun conversation.

Leave a Reply