Updated Tyranid and Grey Knights FAQs

8th ed 40k FAQs for Tyranids and Grey Knights!

Tyranid 8th ed 40k FAQ

Grey Knights 8th ed 40k FAQ

What do you all think?

And remember, Frontline Gaming sells gaming products at a discount, every day in their webcart!

secondhandhsop

Tags:

About Reecius

The fearless leader of the intrepid group of gamers gone retailers at Frontline Gaming!

45 Responses to “Updated Tyranid and Grey Knights FAQs”

  1. Brakhal December 4, 2017 3:04 pm #

    So, in the end, we can equip Warriors with 4 boneswords, but they gain nothing for it.

    I’m not a native english speaker, but I guess “beating a dead horse” is the perfect phrase to say about the clarifying in Pheromone Trail. Pyrovores are the new Lictors, and Lictors are the new Pyrovores.

    Still not sure about how Endless Swarm works. Is the new unit part of the same detachment as the copied unit? It says to set up a perfect copy, but I guess its not. I guess that’s another “beating a dead horse” situation.

    I was specting some point cost adjustments in the FAQs. Silly me.

    • Marius Xerxes December 4, 2017 3:13 pm #

      From my reading on other internet locations, the FAQ’s that come out within 1-2 weeks of a Codex release will not contain point value changes.

      Supposedly, every 6 months ish a new round of FAQ’s for multiple Codex books will come out doing those kinds of adjustments.

      • Brakhal December 4, 2017 3:31 pm #

        Bad luck with the codex timming then. Well, is sad, but not the end of the world.

    • vybert December 4, 2017 3:19 pm #

      The lictor strat can still useful for Endless Swarm strat and, more likely by design, narrative missions where reserves follow the old school reserve rules where you can start units off the board. Not every strat or rule is going to be geared or useful for competitive/matched play. Lictor utility is pretty much the same as it was last edition now as Phermone Trail in 7th had limited competitive utility.

      • Brakhal December 4, 2017 4:15 pm #

        Exactly: the same limited utility.

        Well, to be honest, I wasn’t sad with the pheromone clarifications. Lictors definitively felt so low in the hot garbage abyss that GW now don’t have any excuse to not buff them in the future.

      • Brakhal December 4, 2017 4:22 pm #

        Also, I want to add that the Endless Swarm deployment rules are good enought to don’t waste the command point. The Lictor needs to arrive to the table as late as turn 3, while you can use endless swarm at any time, the recycled unit can arrive through any edge, and both rules have the 9″ from enemy restriction.

    • Shas’O December 4, 2017 5:39 pm #

      So I’m assuming this means two chainswords don’t give an extra benefit either?

      • Dakkath December 4, 2017 9:58 pm #

        No, dual chainwords still benefits because Space Marines.

        • Shas’O December 5, 2017 4:20 am #

          Ha! That would be so unfair lol

          • Dakkath December 5, 2017 12:28 pm
            #

            As it stands, that’s how it works. Extra chainswords = extra attacks for each, extra anything else = exactly one extra attack no matter how many sets.

      • Xenos Player December 5, 2017 12:14 am #

        Chainswords don’t make sense anyway. They should have been 1attack with ap-1 but for some reason GW decided to give them extra attacks instead

        • AbusePuppy December 5, 2017 2:43 pm #

          Chainswords have always been an anti-horde weapon, so it’s no surprise that they kept them that way.

  2. Will December 4, 2017 3:20 pm #

    So i see a lot of stupid questions about stratagems with the answer actually i the stratagem. But there are a few things id like to point out.
    1. GSC via the rulebook 100% should be able to use the nid stratagems, but god forbid the nids were going to be as good as gw’s eldar golden children.
    2. Pheromone trail, what the hell is this for? You cant use it for stealer nodes, you cant use it for made units of abilities. You cant get nearer than 9″ of an enemy. So your literally gaining nothing from this. Its a pointless stratagem that only effects another pointless stratagem being endless swarm.
    3. You cant advance twice a phase…. Then the next comment is them talking about advancing twice a turn. Make up your mind.
    4. You need to pay for sporefield!!!!!! what!!!! So a stratagem where you put bombs on table that you need to pay for anyway, but its pre game, but 3 Command points. Are you kidding me gw. My first turn i can actually do that fir free anyway. Now im forced to keep points free to use this, forcing me ti use uo 3 Command points or ive wasted points.

    • Brakhal December 4, 2017 4:08 pm #

      Don’t forget space wolves using vanila stratagems and taking advantadge of veil of time or might of heroes.

      And specially don’t forget mortarion with warp speed.

      I guees it was too much to give access to catalyst to aberrants. But morty moving twice is totally fine.

      • Stephen December 5, 2017 2:17 pm #

        >Space wolves using vanilla stratagems

        Is…is this a thing? Is this legal?

        • Brakhal December 5, 2017 2:24 pm #

          As long as you have a vanilla detachment, they can use all stratagems they have the keywords for (usually “adeptus astartes”).

      • N.I.B. December 5, 2017 11:11 pm #

        Yeah wtf is up with that? No nid strats for GSC, because why? When different chapters can intercross their strats. But not nids, no no.

        • Ytook December 6, 2017 2:24 am #

          Different chapters are the same army, you can take different nid hivefleet detachments just like you can take different space marine chapter detachments.

          GSC getting Tyranid battleforged stuff would be like Guard using Space Marine stuff.

          • abusepuppy December 6, 2017 5:34 am
            #

            Except that GK, SW, BA, and DA are all nominally “different armies” than SM, but can still use the SM stratagems.

          • Ytook December 6, 2017 7:02 am
            #

            Where does it say they can, I can’t see an FAQ for it?

            Sorry I completely blanked and thought this just meant mixing codex space marine chapters

          • Brakhal December 6, 2017 7:40 am
            #

            Having an “X codex” detachment (except auxiliary) in your army gives you access to all “X codex” stratagems. Is the same wording for all codex, in the first page of the stratagem section.

            Now, all stratagems have requirements about what units can use them. Most space marine strats require the “adeptus astartes” keyword, which is common within space wolves units.

          • Ytook December 6, 2017 8:23 am
            #

            I see, but you would have to have a standard Space Marine detachment to do it. Given the generic stratagems that don’t name specific units are seemingly shared with variant SM armies that seems like they won’t be gaining anything on on top of the codex, they just happen to have a way to access it earlier, I doubt GSC will share Tyranid stratagems as they are a very different army Genestealers aside. Just another case of waiting for the codex I think.

          • Brakhal December 6, 2017 9:19 am
            #

            Yes, I guess GSC will get totally different stratagems, and it will be fine then.

            But meanwhile looks like if GSC is having a different treatment than other soups, SM, CSM or eldars, who do share stratagems all across their books

          • Uber_Mouse December 6, 2017 10:43 am
            #

            I bought the Tyranid Codex for the stratagems for my GSC.
            I my opinion GW should work on consistency they shouldn’t have Deathguard and CSM, Space Marines and Adeptus Astartes, Eldar and Dark Eldar all share the Stratagems if you bring a detachment. Then have GSC(Tyranids) and Hive Fleet(Tyranids) be the Exception to the rule they already FAQ’d.

            It ends up being inconsistent and in my case I lost out on $40 to buy a codex for stratagems I could use for two weeks and my reasoning that I could use them was every other army that shared a Keyword could in every previous FAQ as long as I brought a battle forged detachment of the Codex army.

            Hopefully they ReFAQ this so it’s intent was that GSC needs to bring a battle forged Tyranids detachment to gain access to the stratagems so they work like every other army with a shared keyword.

            Shame on GW for keeping the info from GSC players for weeks before then baring their units from using the Codex’s stratagems when that information could have just been in the articles on Warhammer Community the day of release.

    • WestRider December 4, 2017 6:21 pm #

      The Advancing bit is actually an interesting clarification of how that works. When you declare that you’re Advancing, you roll a die and add that value to your Movement for the rest of the Phase. That’s the actual “Advancing” action, and the part that you can’t do twice. However, if you have a way to move twice in one Phase, the increased Movement value is still in effect for the whole Phase.

      If you could Advance twice, it would add d6″ to your Movement for the first move, and then an *additional* d6″ for the second move.

      It’s because of the odd way that they defined Advancing, which I, and apparently a lot of other people, hadn’t noticed.

  3. vybert December 4, 2017 3:22 pm #

    Overall a decent FAQ for nids. Nothing in there is really unexpected for me. Would have loved for Sporefield to make free spores, but that was a wish in one hand thing. It was pretty clear in RAW that it did cost. Still, the ability to block infiltrators is a huge thing and worth keeping a few points out I think

    • N.I.B. December 5, 2017 5:25 am #

      vybert, at the time you pay 60pts for your 6 Spore Mines you can’t be sure you will win the coin toss to place infiltrators first, going up against things like Nurglings or Forward Operative stratagems.

      • Brakhal December 5, 2017 6:12 am #

        I think the stratagem works fine, the problem is with the cost of Spore Mines when taken. They probably should be 5 points per model, as they are so bad when they’re not deployed from a model specal rule.

      • vybert December 5, 2017 1:13 pm #

        NIB, Sporefield is used “before the game begins”, Forward operatives is used at the “beginning of the first battle round” before the first turn begins. Pretty sure sporefield trumps FO. It does not beat nurglings though

        • N.I.B. December 5, 2017 11:17 pm #

          vybert actually if we’re nitpicking the wording is “before the battle begins”, not “game begins”. Which might mean the same thing though.
          But since it doesn’t beat Nurglings, Berzerkers can just use Forward Operatives using the space created by said Nurglings, and go to town.

          I rather use 2 Sporecysts than Sporefield, for the same purpose. You will still know if you have the first turn or not, at the time you deploy them. So you can chose to be aggressive or defensive, as it suits your army.

          • vybert December 6, 2017 7:35 am
            #

            I’m warming to the sporocyst. Need some more practice with them . I see that they can have a purpose against any army, not just ones with infiltrators.

  4. WestRider December 4, 2017 3:51 pm #

    There were a couple more Jormungandr questions I was hoping to get some clarification on, but they didn’t make it in. Do Jormungandr Lictors gain their Chameleonic Skin bonus if they’re receiving the benefit of Cover from their Adaptation, but aren’t actually in Cover? Does the “Burrowing Unit” used for The Enemy Below also have to be Jormungandr? Or can I have Jormungandr Warriors following a Behemoth Trygon?

    • Jural December 4, 2017 6:38 pm #

      I would say for the Chameleonic skin and Lictors the answer is a clear yes. Jorg. means you count as being in cover, and Cham. Skin clearly gives you +1 to the cover modifier (total of +2). This also means Deathleaper out in the open gets the +3 for Jorg!

      • WestRider December 4, 2017 10:06 pm #

        The condition for Chameleonic Skin is that the Model is “in cover”. The Jormungandr Adapatation grants “the benefit of cover”, but doesn’t say that the Model counts as being “in cover”.

        The distinction between the two states has mattered before, tho not since 5th Ed. I don’t know if it’s supposed to matter in 8th or not.

        • Jural December 5, 2017 11:16 am #

          Yeah, “in cover” really isn’t defined, as most of the advanced rules instead mention “getting a cover bonus to their save” when they are “completely within a terrain piece” or are “50% or more obscured by a terrain feature.

          I think its pretty clear that you are “in cover” when you are receiving a cover save (as opposed to “being in terrain”), but I can at least understand the question now.

  5. Jural December 4, 2017 6:45 pm #

    So… nothing unexpected in this for me, but fascinating that it was so important to clarify the interplay of advance and move… apparently this wasn’t being played right (and honestly, the distinction is pretty unnecessary for most armies and units.)

    But… all of that said… One cool thing I realized… A Trygon Prime can take the Scythes of Tyran and actually make use of them!

    1- gain one additional attack with the Scythes of Tyran
    2- don’t lose your additional attack from your monstrous scything talons

    So in effect you gain two profiles and one extra attack with the weapon you didn’t choose Scythes of Tyran or Monstrous.

    A bonus attack and some flexibility isn’t bad. Not saying it’s some awesome, game breaking combo… but it’s the first silver lining I’ve found in the 3X weapons (which do the same as a 2X weapon)…

    • Adjatha December 4, 2017 7:59 pm #

      Sadly, no. Trygon Primes, while characters, have Massive Scything, not Monstrous Scything. The selection of relics is exceedingly limited.

      • Jural December 5, 2017 1:32 am #

        Darn! I thought I had found a use for that 3rd pair…

    • WestRider December 4, 2017 10:08 pm #

      Unfortunately, no. The Trygons get Massive ScyTals, not Monstrous ScyTals, and the Scythes of Tyran only replace Monstrous. Too bad, that actually would have been pretty sweet 🙁

      • Jural December 5, 2017 11:17 am #

        I prolly would have chose it just so as to not lose any benefit to that third pair!

  6. KundaliniHero December 5, 2017 11:13 am #

    This may have been covered already but I feel like any stratagem that requires you to give up command points and still pay the unit points cost is just plain garbage. Can someone explain to me the benefit of spending 3CP for the sporefield stratagem when you can just spend the points cost for them straight up and deepstrike them? I get the obvious of being able to deploy them before the game starts but I think in the case of Spore mines that may be a tad over rated.

    • Jural December 5, 2017 11:18 am #

      With regards to endless swarm, folks say it is due to Narrative play, etc. Pretty lame in my opinion.

      The 3 CP for Sporefield seems too high to me as well. A good rule, but too costly for many battles in my mind.

      That said, once those spore mines are down any time an opponent shoots at them you win 😉

      • Brakhal December 5, 2017 12:08 pm #

        I think this kind of stratagems should have 2 costs, or have a rule to always cost 1 or 0 CPs in matched.

  7. chris December 5, 2017 9:41 pm #

    All the comments about Nids, I am glad they got a decent codex.

    Meanwhile, the grey knights are no where near top tables and their faq is meaningless.

    All GW would have to do is give them normal smite, army wide and it would be competitive.

    Oh well, here’s to next edition.

    • Shas’O December 6, 2017 3:30 pm #

      Grey Knights see top tables in soup lists. Strike squads are great. Yes, they aren’t amazing by themselves, but that’s unfortunately not how 8th works…

Leave a Reply