Warhammer 40,000 8th Ed Designer’s Commentary

Hey, check this out! Games Workshop is on the ball with some designer’s commentary to help clarify some issues in the new rule-set.

You can read it, here.

And as we are getting asked this questions a lot, this clarification to the core rules. GW is aware of the questions you have and is gathering them so stay tuned to GW for possibly more information!

What do you all think of this so far? Pretty awesome to see such swift action.

Tags:

About Reecius

The fearless leader of the intrepid group of gamers gone retailers at Frontline Gaming!

40 Responses to “Warhammer 40,000 8th Ed Designer’s Commentary”

  1. Adam
    Adam (RUMBL) June 18, 2017 7:49 am
    #

    So glad they addressed the issue, wasn’t looking forward to having THAT discussion…

    • Reecius
      Reecius June 18, 2017 7:55 am
      #

      Which issue?

      • Chancy June 18, 2017 8:55 am
        #

        I have a question on Lash-whips for Tyranids. It’s been said on live steam and I think in the faction focus that Lash-whips allow you to interrupt who’s going first.

        I have not been able to find that rule any where. They seam to work a lot differently then told.

        They now allow you to attack after you die. Can you help on this?

        Your comment is awaiting moderation.

      • Adam
        Adam (RUMBL) June 18, 2017 9:43 am
        #

        You could haven theoretically called your Tyranids Hive Fleet which would then let you take them along side an Ultramarines army and get buffed my Roboute.

        • CWDub June 18, 2017 1:52 pm
          #

          TBH that’s a pretty easy discussion.

          “My carnifexes are part of Hive Fleet Ultramarines. Robby G gives them rerolls to hit.”

          “Go f** yourself.”

        • Reecius
          Reecius June 18, 2017 2:57 pm
          #

          The idea that someone would actually try to do that not in jest is laughable, though, lol

          • WestRider June 18, 2017 6:33 pm
            #

            You have actually interacted with humans, right? 😉

  2. Chancy June 18, 2017 8:54 am
    #

    I have a question on Lash-whips for Tyranids. It’s been said on live steam and I think in the faction focus that Lash-whips allow you to interrupt who’s going first.

    I have not been able to find that rule any where. They seam to work a lot differently then told.

    They now allow you to attack after you die. Can you help on this?

    • Reecius
      Reecius June 18, 2017 2:56 pm
      #

      They let you attack before dying. You have it.

    • winterman June 19, 2017 8:17 am
      #

      Toxic lashes that venomthropes and toxicrenes have are the ones that strike first even if they didn’t charge. And the source came from pete on the first live QnA and they never mentioned what unit had them.

  3. Murth83 June 18, 2017 9:29 am
    #

    The re-roll thing seem to add more complication that necessary. If they had solved the issue by differentiating between the roll and the result it would be a lot less complicated and a lot more intuitive. (See https://youtu.be/bJjRSHR4S9Q?t=23m17s )

    I suppose the problem with that is that GW would then have to use consistent wording. Which something they haven’t been able to figure out how to do yet.

  4. Quinn June 18, 2017 9:33 am
    #

    Thank the gaming gods that they put that idiotic notion of using keywords to break the game to rest. Of all the garbage I read, that was the worst.

    • AngryPanda June 18, 2017 11:22 am
      #

      That anyone actually thought that would work still gives me a migraine just thinking about it.

    • Novastar June 18, 2017 12:27 pm
      #

      I thought the using your command points to make your opponent reroll their die roll was totally stupid and just shook my head when I saw people post that

      • happy_inquisitor June 18, 2017 11:57 pm
        #

        You can make your opponent reroll in AoS so for someone who also plays that game it might not have been such a crazy question.

        Or maybe they will change that in the next AoS FAQ!

  5. Konkey Dong June 18, 2017 9:47 am
    #

    Hey Reece,

    Do you know whether the 8pt inquisition acolytes are actually supposed to have 3 wounds as they do in the index? Cheers

    • Blightstar June 18, 2017 2:26 pm
      #

      Intended. They still cost more than guardsmen and 3w makes them kinda epic mini heroes like they are.

      • Reecius
        Reecius June 18, 2017 3:02 pm
        #

        What makes you say it was intended?

        • AbusePuppy June 18, 2017 11:27 pm
          #

          As he points out, they cost more than a Guardsmen by a significant chunk and have no other abilities of note. So they are either badly overpriced for their statline (if they are 1W each) or surprisingly cheap for a 3W model.

    • Reecius
      Reecius June 18, 2017 3:01 pm
      #

      Not sure, but we will find out, soon.

  6. gigasnail June 18, 2017 2:18 pm
    #

    so, how about them unassaultable units in ruins?

    • Adam
      Adam (RUMBL) June 18, 2017 4:59 pm
      #

      On the live stream, and RAW, you measure 1″ from the model, not only the base, which prevents that from happening for the most part.

      • gigasnail June 18, 2017 5:05 pm
        #

        something to go on, at least. thank you.

      • gigasnail June 18, 2017 7:37 pm
        #

        wasn’t this also how it was supposed to be in AoS, and the players basically said ‘lol, no’ and measured from the base anyway? there are entirely too many models with all kinds of stuff hanging off the base (like every tyranid FMC, the toxicrene) for that to be a good idea.

      • happy_inquisitor June 18, 2017 11:55 pm
        #

        The rules do say to measure base to base – so what they are doing on the stream is very sensible but not strictly by the rules.

        Unless the model has no base in which case it does say measure from the hull.

        (Tools of War sidebar)

  7. GeekmasterK June 18, 2017 4:17 pm
    #

    Those last two questions made me laugh and lose yet more faith in humanity at the same time. Seriously, the fact that people actually tried to get away with keyword manipulation on that level is just silly. So glad GW confirmed the intent here, to save us from rules debates with people who would try to do Hive Fleet Blood Angels.

    Keyword manipulator: “This is Hive Fleet Blood Angels! I have two Sanguinary Priests to heal or revive my Hormagaunts. Oh, and the Blood Chalice gives them +1 strength when they charge! Let’s not forget Corbulo! His Red Grail gives them an extra attack on hit rolls of 6!”

    Me: “Okaaaay, well, this was a fun game. I’m just going to concede right now. Because you’re insane.”

    Keyword manipulator: “Really? But we haven’t even rolled for the mission yet!”

    Me: (Says nothing, picks up models, finds a different opponent.)

  8. Sanchezsam2 June 18, 2017 4:28 pm
    #

    There are some awful rules manipulators by some legit questions in the dakka FAQ thread.
    Hopefully yakface or someone brings it to gw attention. https://www.dakkadakka.com/dakkaforum/posts/list/727559.page

  9. David Hayden June 18, 2017 4:31 pm
    #

    If I embark a Cadre Fireblade on the open-topped Droneport along with Firewarriors, I know his aura buff doesn’t extend past the Droneport, but does it include the embarked Firewarriors?

    The same issue for Harlequins on a Starweaver along with an embarked Troupe Master.

    Anyone know?

    • Reecius
      Reecius June 18, 2017 4:37 pm
      #

      No buff inside a transport.

      • David Hayden June 18, 2017 9:59 pm
        #

        Thanks! I figured that’s how it worked. Too bad, really. Limits the usefulness of the Droneport a lot.

  10. AbusePuppy June 18, 2017 11:50 pm
    #

    If a model with the Explodes rule (or some similar variant) die and passes the roll to trigger it, do you roll once for random damage, or once for each unit in range?

    Some abilities which say they negate wounds specify they also can negate mortal wounds; others do not. Is this difference merely textual, or are the former type unable to negate mortal wounds?

  11. The Traitor June 19, 2017 3:24 am
    #

    I have a question regarding the equipment that a chaos lord can take. If I can exchange his chainsword for a second bolt pistol, could I then exchange that bolt pistol for a combi-weapon, as you can’t usually replace the chainsword with a combi-weapon but you can replace a bolt pistol? I don’t know if I’ve been clear, basically the question is if you can replace equipment that you don’t originally have. I think that RAW it is legal, as I haven’t found something that says otherwise, but I’m not sure if it was the intention. It would be so cool though, a chaos lord on a bike with two combi flamers could deal such an insane amount of dakka (8 bolter shots and 2d6 flamer ones within 9”), and two combi-plasmas would be a cool Doomrider!

  12. Quellun June 19, 2017 12:44 pm
    #

    I have a question about detachments, as both daemons and chaos space marines share the ‘chaos’ keyword can I mix and match units in the detachment e.g. Have a keeper or secrets as my hq and Chaos Marine squads as my troops?

    • Reecius
      Reecius June 19, 2017 12:48 pm
      #

      Yes. In that instance you’d have a Chaos detachment, not a Chaos Daemon or Chaos Space Marine detachment.

      • Quellun June 19, 2017 12:59 pm
        #

        Thanks for the clarification 😀

        • Reecius
          Reecius June 19, 2017 1:50 pm
          #

          You got it!

          • Jdicarlo June 22, 2017 1:52 am
            #

            So for the purpose too detachments can I have an aeldari ” faction” detachment? Or are the only Factions for the purpose of filling out a detachment: asurani, drukhari, ynari, and harlequin. I.e. Can I take a aeldari detach of farseer w. Battle focus, harlequin with crescendo, or in order to pull this off would I have to go ynari. Thanks

          • abusepuppy June 22, 2017 4:13 am
            #

            Aeldari is a detachment just like Imperium or Chaos is. If you want to mix Craftworlds, Dark Kin, and Harlequins, you absolutely could. (You could even throw some Ynnari in there via the named characters, if you wanted.)

  13. Christopher Mace June 19, 2017 9:37 pm
    #

    I have a question about deep strikers. In the basic rules it says when they come in you place them at the end of the movement phase and they cannot move any more that turn, but then the rest of the text in that sidebar seems to imply they mean that phase. So, if they can’t move or advance any more that turn how does that interact with psychic powers like warptime?

    • Reecius
      Reecius June 20, 2017 5:46 am
      #

      You can’t move normally but can with special abilities like warp time or the swarm lord’s hive Commander ability.