Chapter Tactics #20: Aeldari Shenanigans Part 1


In this episode we go over the Triumvirate units, Aeldari formations, The relics, warlord traits, and some Strength from Death shenanigans for Dark Eldar and Harlequins.

The Warp is a cruel mistress, and she dealt us another blow. This time in the form of a cybernetic phantom thief, which ran off with half the podcast. Not to worry! My special guest and I still have plenty of coverage of the Fracture of Biel-Tan and will record part two for next week.


QOTD: What do you guys think of the new intro? 


About Petey Pab

Aspiring 40k analyst, tournament reporter and Ultramarines enthusiast, Petey Pab only seeks to gather more knowledge about the game of 40k and share it with as many people as he can in order to unite both hobbyists and gamers. We are, after all, two sides of the same coin.

25 Responses to “Chapter Tactics #20: Aeldari Shenanigans Part 1”

  1. Avatar
    Dakkath February 19, 2017 12:45 pm #

    I have to say I’m not a fan of the blaring trumpets intro.
    And to answer the question from the end of the cast, I prefer all-in-one shows instead of broken up into parts.

    • Petey Pab
      Petey Pab February 19, 2017 9:58 pm #

      Ok, I had a couple more intros to use. I kind of want to shake things up.

  2. Avatar
    Alex R February 19, 2017 12:47 pm #

    I would like to see a list that uses more harelquines, as I love the models and would like to see a competitive list

    • Petey Pab
      Petey Pab February 19, 2017 8:07 pm #

      This book does give harlequins better options.

  3. Avatar
    GeekmasterK February 19, 2017 2:55 pm #

    @Petey Pab, I’m liking the idea of the Ynnead’s Net maxed out formation. It sounds silly, but my main question is, how well do you see the maxed out version of that formation doing in the ITC? I already have the models for a fourth of that formation with the scat-packs, but I want to be sure before I start shopping for the rest of what I’ll need. It might be too early to tell, but I’d like to hear your thoughts. Also, do Reece and Frankie have an ITC vote on the horizon? I’d like to know how the ITC is going to treat the Ynnari for faction purposes.

    • Petey Pab
      Petey Pab February 19, 2017 8:08 pm #

      Ynnari models essentially count us two factions. Not sure how it is going to be clarified yet.

      The net list will take some lucky victories but shouldn’t win any big events.

      • Avatar
        GeekmasterK February 20, 2017 8:17 am #

        Still, it’s a really good formation, I think. Since the Ynnari detachment lets you take any combination of formations, I could see something like this working better, maybe: take multiple Ynnead’s Net formations at their minimum, possibly with an extra Warlock or two in some of the conclaves. That way, you can spread out a bit with MSU and take objectives after you’ve obliterated things with extra actions. Keep them close enough together, and when a unit inevitably dies, another can do a soul burst. This, of course, isn’t the entirety of the list, but I’m seriously considering incorporating it in some way. I have enough scat bikes to do more than one of these formations, so I would just need the Reavers, Skyweavers, and Warlocks. I also have a ton of Warp Spiders, so the Warp Spider Aspect Host is definitely on the table to be considered. It might take some playtesting to figure out. Any thoughts on taking multiple Ynnead’s Net formations as MSU instead of maxing out one? It sounds great to me on paper, but I’d like a second opinion, if possible.

        • Petey Pab
          Petey Pab February 20, 2017 9:08 am #

          Why not take one max Net formation and one MSU one?

          I personally think thise with an Eldar Warp Spider pale host (30 spiders) would work well. Than you can take an autarch. Or maybe just 15 spiders and some components to take advantage of the warlock unit.

          • Avatar
            GeekmasterK February 20, 2017 9:16 am

            Thanks for the tips, Pablo. Still pretty new to the ITC, so I’ve been getting help where I can with the art of list-building. These are all good options. Also, I completely forgot that the ITC only allows you to duplicate one formation one time. I had it in my head that I could maybe just spam Ynnead’s net, but after re-reading the ITC rules, I realized that would have been an illegal list! Glad I took a look and caught that! Also, one more question. Any recommendation for dealing with armor 13 and 14 vehicles? My current Craftworld Eldar list has Warp Hunters in it, but those aren’t allowed in the Ynnari detachment. I’m also running the sword and board Wraithknight, which, given the detachment, is my only current answer for heavy armor.

  4. Avatar
    5adclown February 19, 2017 4:08 pm #

    Hey Pablo,

    You missed a couple of things with the Visarch. Yvraine automatically passes lookniut sir tests to the Visarch, and the Visarch automatically passes glorious interventions for Yvraine. This effectively gives you 6 wounds. Sticking them in 15 Wyches gives an easy way to regenerate wounds.

    The Triumvirate was also under sold. When two models are on the table, they have a 12″ Fearless bubble, and when all three are on the table all Ynnari models on the battlefield have Fearless. That is super strong for a T3 army that wants to be in melee.

    • Petey Pab
      Petey Pab February 19, 2017 10:05 pm #

      We did mention all of those things at one point in the podcast. Maybe they were mentioned in the part that wasn’t recorded. We certainly didn’t forget to mention them it’s just Celestine and her two bodyguards do the same thing better. The Visarch in particular is just underwhelming.

      The triumverate formation is cool, but armywide fearless isn’t worth the 350 points you spend on Yvraine and the Visarch for it. Unless you build a list designed around both of those models. Than it would be worth it taking MSU scatbikes or other small units so that they can for sure stay on objectives.

      You’re right though, fearless is solid for a T3 army that wants to be in melee. As long as you accept the fact that you are a T3 army that wants to be in melee.

      • Avatar
        5adclown February 20, 2017 3:19 pm #

        There are signicant differences. The Saint’s Healing Tears rule only works at the end of your turn. Yvraine and the Visarch regenerate wound still immediately whenever an Aeldari model says with in 7″ of them (on a 3+ if they are taken in the Triumvirate). Now the Saintndoes come back on a Leadership test, but it is pretty easy to have a ton of passive Leadership debuffs on her. Just having the armor of misery and mask of secrets nearby drops her down to Leadership 6. Unless I missed it, the Saint is only giving Fearless to her unit.

        I’m not saying Yvraine and the Visarch are clearly superior, just that they are not clearly inferior.

  5. Avatar
    korul February 20, 2017 3:05 am #

    This episode flew by and I didn’t even notice 1h 30m passing – though I think that 3h would be too long and I probably wouldn’t be so eager to listen if it was consistently over 1h. Leave us longing for more 😀

    I think the strongest point of this one (and why it was so easy to listen to) was because of your guest, who seems genuinely passionate about the topic and full of ideas. From how you described him, I think he is relatable to your target audience – casually competitive, but more of a Johnny than Spike.

    PS. If the gender isn’t defined, using singular “they” is the safest bet.

    • Petey Pab
      Petey Pab February 20, 2017 9:11 am #

      Thanks for the praise! Yes, George has absolutely been a candidate from the get go. I was just waiting for a supplement or topic he would get excited about.

      I know, I just figured the Avatar wouldn’t be offended and also remembered a trans friend of mine referring to it as “she” at the LVO.

  6. Avatar
    Threllen February 20, 2017 11:52 am #

    Hey Petey, I’m not able to listen to the podcast right now but I was wondering if anyone could clarify the ability to charge with a Soulburst action. It says that if this is done during the fight sub-phase then battle continues “at the end of the current initiative step.”

    Let’s say I have a hypothetical situation where I have two squads of wyches next to each other. One in combat, the other not. The one in combat is killed by someone with low initiatve (let’s say I2 or I3). That allows me to use my soulburst to charge in with the second squad.That squad obviously never made any attacks because they weren’t in combat before. But the combat has passed their initiative step. How does that work? Do they get to attack immediately or do they not get to attack at all? Also if they have rules like Furious Charge would those essentially be nullified if they don’t get to attack since the first round they’d be able to fight would be the next turn?

    • Avatar
      AbusePuppy February 20, 2017 12:41 pm #

      Previous FAQs have ruled that models that get “passed by” will still get to fight, although the logistics of this would make it even more confusing than things already area.

      Yet another feature of the Ynnari that needs an FAQ.

      • Avatar
        Threllen February 20, 2017 2:36 pm #

        Yeah… this whole Soulburst thing is very confusing. Especially concerning the assault aspect. Same thing would apply if I completely wiped out an enemy unit with my Ynnari. By rule I would get to make another charge right at that second I wiped them out. Do both sides get to attack this assault phase in my new assault? Essentially meaning my Ynnari models would possibly get to kill two squads in a single fight sub-phase?

        Also what’s the ruling on shooting and Soulburst. I know it specifically says you can Soulburst even if you already performed that action this turn. So in situation A my Fire Dragons blow up a Rhino and then they can use Soul Burst to fire at a second target.

        But what about situation B. My Fire Dragons haven’t shot yet. Another unit blows up the Rhino next to them so they can Soulburst and shoot something. Can they shoot again after that? That second attack is just a normal shooting attack and they’ve already made a shooting attack that turn (from Soulburst). It’s rules-lawyer-y but the rule says you can perform a Soulburst even if you’ve already performed that action this turn. It doesn’t say you can perform a normal action even if you’ve already done it as a soulburst.

        • Avatar
          AbusePuppy February 20, 2017 8:30 pm #

          In situation B I think it’s pretty hard to argue that they aren’t allowed to still take their normal shooting action- a Soulburst action is clearly different from a normal action, and GW has usually held such equivalences to be reciprocal even when not explicitly stated (such as the case of activating smoke/shooting with passengers.)

    • Petey Pab
      Petey Pab February 20, 2017 2:05 pm #

      This is actually going to be covered in part 2 of this podcast. Along with the rest of the things we feel GW needs to answer about the book.

  7. Avatar
    Dalamar February 20, 2017 12:08 pm #

    A couple of things the Avatar has FnP, and give it out in 12″ + fearless, also the Visarch gets a warlord trait even if not a warloard.

    Also look at this Solitaire from heroes path + the Lost Shroud. here are his special rules.

    • Deep Strike
    • Eternal Warrior
    • Fear
    • Fearless
    • Fleet
    • Furious Charge
    • Hit & Run
    • Precision Strikes
    now add
    • Stealth
    • Shrouded
    • Infiltrate
    • Feel No Pain
    • It Will Not Die

    All that nice survivability for 35 pts.

    • Petey Pab
      Petey Pab February 20, 2017 2:07 pm #

      That solitaire is a beast.

    • Avatar
      5adclown February 23, 2017 11:52 am #

      Give the Solitaire Corag Hai’s Locket which regenerated a wound each time
      he kills a model.

  8. Avatar
    Grizzyzz February 21, 2017 10:59 am #

    So having listened and chatted in MANY debates on the rules. Here are the big 3, out of the stuff that we have decided, albeit most all of it needs to be FAQ’d for realz.

    Q: Can units in Ynnari share transports (ex. banshees in raiders)?
    A: 50/50 split.. yes because they share faction Ynnari, No because they still retain original factions and all factions must be accounted for. … FAQ!

    Q: Are restrictions of actions for soulburst still applied (ex. assault after run/turbo).
    A: yes

    Q: Any question that refers to the “charge move” soulburst action.
    A: You are playing it wrong. It is as it is said. a “charge move”, the fight subphase is resolved in the next fight subphase, Or follows the text rule supplied for charging in the fightsubphase. Needs FAQ stat.

    Main question with anything assault, is when a unit is considered no longer locked in combat. There is one line of text in the BRB that says, “a unit is no longer locked in combat if at the END OF THE PHASE, it is not in base to base contact”… but when does the phase end? does it end when you kill off a unit? when it hits i0 step or after you consolidate? People debate this.

  9. Avatar
    5adclown February 23, 2017 11:58 am #

    Charging into existing combat using Soulburst should mean you aren’t fighting again because the intiative step has already gone by. Similarly you should not get to fight if you charge in a phase other than the assault phase.

    The benefits? Denying psychic and weapons based shots at your unit since it will
    br locked in combat. Allowing a less offensive unit to hold the opponent’s unit in combat while you hit and run out of the current combat. Intiate an entirely new combat after wiping a unit which ifndone in the fight sub-phase would allow you to fight an entirely new combat from initiative step 10. This makes Ynnari the only army that can “consolidate” into combat.

    • Avatar
      Beardicus March 13, 2017 11:19 pm #

      Theoretically you totally could get attacks in after killing a unit then soulburst. You could wipe a unit with HoW easily with Reavers, then soulburst into another combat ans get your I6 attacks in. Same thing with models in a unit with unwieldy. Personally, I’d only use it to double assault to tie up shooting units as you states because most of the time it’s better to shoot or move away.

Leave a Reply