Tuesday Night Fight: Militarum Tempestus vs. Orks

militarum.tempestus.01

In what will be our last Tuesday Night Fight for a while, we have a fun game to send it out with: Militarum Tempestus vs. Orks! Join us on our Twitch Chanel for the fun at 5:30pm PST.

Reecius will be using his Miliatrum Tempestus, painted by the FLG paint studio!

Militarum Tempestus 1850pts
Stormtrooper CAD Description Size Cost
Command Squad P.Gun x 4 5 145
Taurox Prime Missiles 1 100
Scions Flamer 5 75
Taurox Prime Missiles 1 100
Scions P.Gun x 2 5 100
Taurox Prime Missiles 1 100
Scions M.Gun x 2 5 90
Taurox Prime Missiles 1 100
Scions M.Gun x 2 5 90
Taurox Prime Missiles 1 100
Scions M.Gun x 2 5 90
Taurox Prime Missiles 1 100
Scions M.Gun x 2 5 90
Taurox Prime Missiles 1 100
Knight Detachment
Knight Crusader Battle Cannon, Stormspear 1 470
Totals 43 1850

orks.01

Doug’s Orks:

Doug’s Orks MekBoss list (1850pts)

Orks: Codex (2014) (Ork Horde Detachment) (1394pts)

  • No Force Org Slot (75pts)

    • Mek (25pts)

      Choppa, Grot Oiler (5pts), Mek’s Tools, Rokkit Launcha (5pts), Stikkbombs

    • Mek (25pts)

      Choppa, Grot Oiler (5pts), Mek’s Tools, Rokkit Launcha (5pts), Stikkbombs

    • Mek (25pts)

      Choppa, Grot Oiler (5pts), Mek’s Tools, Rokkit Launcha (5pts), Stikkbombs

  • HQ (385pts)

    • Big Mek (125pts)

      Choppa, 3x Grot Oiler (15pts), Gubbinz: Mega Force Field (75pts) Not available in this detachment -Reecius, HQ, Mek’s Tools, Slugga, Stikkbombs

    • Warboss (110pts)

      HQ, Power Klaw (25pts), Slugga, Stikkbombs

      • Warbike (25pts)

        Twin-linked Dakkaguns

    • Zhadsnark ‘Da Rippa’ (FW) (150pts)

      Da Rippa, HQ, Sitkkbombz, Slugga, Warlord, Zhadsnark

      • Da Beast

        Twin-linked Big Shoota

  • Troops (409pts)

    • Boyz (151pts)

      • Boss Nob (46pts)

        Bosspole (5pts), Power Klaw (25pts), Slugga, Stikkbombs

      • 15x Boy (105pts)

        15x Choppa, 15x Shoota (15pts), 15x Stikkbombs

    • Gretchin (38pts)

      • 11x Gretchin (33pts)

        11x Grot Blasta

      • Runtherd (10pts)

        Grabba stik, Slugga, Stikkbombs

    • Zhadsnark’s Warbikers (220pts)

      • 9x Warbiker (162pts)

        9x Choppa, 9x Slugga

        • 9x Warbike

          9x Twin-linked Dakkaguns

      • Warbiker Nob (58pts)

        Bosspole (5pts), Power Klaw (25pts), Slugga

        • Warbike

          Twin-linked Dakkaguns

  • Fast Attack (25pts)

    • Warbuggies (25pts)

      • Warbuggy (25pts)

        Twin-linked Rockit Launcha

  • Lords of War (500pts)

    • Buzzgob’s Big Mek Stompa (FW) (500pts)

      3x Big Shoota, D6x Power Fields, Deff Kannon (100pts), Gaze of Mork, Lifta-droppa, Mega-klaw

      • Mek Boss Buzzgob (FW) (100pts)

        ‘Eavy Armour, Big Choppa, Bosspole, Grot Oiler Lunk, Grot Oiler Nitnuckle, HQ, Mek Arms, Slugga

Orks: Codex (2014) (Combined Arms Detachment) (456pts)

  • No Force Org Slot (50pts)

    • Mek (25pts)

      Choppa, Grot Oiler (5pts), Mek’s Tools, Rokkit Launcha (5pts), Stikkbombs

    • Mek (25pts)

      Choppa, Grot Oiler (5pts), Mek’s Tools, Rokkit Launcha (5pts), Stikkbombs

  • HQ (220pts)

    • Painboy (85pts)

      ‘Urty Syringe, Dok’s Tools, 2x Grot Orderly (10pts), HQ

      • Warbike (25pts)

        Twin-linked Dakkaguns

    • Warboss (135pts)

      Gift: Da Lucky Stikk (25pts), HQ, Power Klaw (25pts), Slugga, Stikkbombs

      • Warbike (25pts)

        Twin-linked Dakkaguns

  • Troops (186pts)

    • Boyz (151pts)

      • Boss Nob (46pts)

        Bosspole (5pts), Power Klaw (25pts), Slugga, Stikkbombs

      • 15x Boy (105pts)

        15x Choppa, 15x Shoota (15pts), 15x Stikkbombs

    • Gretchin (35pts)

      • 10x Gretchin (30pts)

        10x Grot Blasta

      • Runtherd (10pts)

Tags:

About Reecius

The fearless leader of the intrepid group of gamers gone retailers at Frontline Gaming!

49 Responses to “Tuesday Night Fight: Militarum Tempestus vs. Orks”

  1. tag8833 May 31, 2016 2:14 pm #

    An Ork Horde Detachment doesn’t have the option to take a Mega Force Field or any of the other Ghaz relics unfortunately. In fact, the only way left to get an MFF is via the Orcurion, the Council of the WAAAGH, and the Dreadmob formation. Thanks GW.

    I’m looking forward to this game quite a bit. Good luck guys. For some reason despite my Orky tendencies I’m kinda pulling for the Scions. I feel like someone needs to throw them a bone.

    • Reecius
      Reecius May 31, 2016 2:25 pm #

      Good catch, and you are correct on that.

      While it will be fun, I will likely get creamed with my Scions as I have tools to deal with the big mek stompa or the Bikers but not both.

      • Blight1 May 31, 2016 4:29 pm #

        What are you guys on about?
        Ghazgkul is the same as the newer supplements now. Any detachment can be his. The orkurion just happens to have to be his.
        Read the text about a ghazgkul army. Same as farsight. Reece’s list is legal.

        • Blight1 May 31, 2016 4:30 pm #

          Correction, Doug list is legal.

        • Reecius
          Reecius May 31, 2016 8:44 pm #

          They replaced the Ghaz book with a newer version, the older version is now dead, unfortunately =(

          • Blight1 June 1, 2016 5:37 am
            #

            That was the one I was talking about. The old version only let you use the rules for the formations and that one detachment. The new one allows any detachment to be a Ghaz detachment (ork faction of course). Also let you take both sets of relics.
            I assume you guys gave the new one to look it up.

          • Reecius
            Reecius June 1, 2016 10:01 am
            #

            Where does it say any detachment can use the rules from the Ghaz Supplement?

          • Blight1 June 2, 2016 2:44 am
            #

            Don’t know if you still look here but check the page about what it means to be a Ghazgkhul detachment. You know the one where it says they can take kustom gubbins and the other warlord table. At the top should be a small paragraph that says what a Ghazgkhul detachment is and how you can take one. Same spot as farsight, crimson slaughter, and black legion.
            It’s the new standard setup for supplements since farsight dropped.

        • Threllen June 1, 2016 5:38 am #

          The older ghaz supplement is dead – which means no more green Tide D:

          Also, the Ork Horde detachment is in the actual Ork codex (not the supplement) but you cannot use that detachment and then take the relics from the ghaz supplement (which was the mistake in the above list). You would have to take a Ghazghkull CAD or formation to get access to those relics.

          • Threllen June 1, 2016 5:46 am
            #

            I should say, the Ork Horde detachment is part of the eBook version of the Ork codex I have. Not sure if that is actually the most up-to-date one. So I would think the detachment itself is still legal, just its not from the Ghaz supplement so no relics from there.

            It’s confusing as hell trying to make any sort of Ork list and trying to make sure you aren’t taking something outdated… Their whole model of release a supplement and then update that supplement and give it stuff that either works with the original codex or overrides it is confusing as could be. I absolutely hate their new campaign book supplement style. Just release a new codex with the campaign book.

          • Reecius
            Reecius June 1, 2016 9:59 am
            #

            Yeah, correct. The detachment is legal (I may have said it wasn’t) what I meant is that the old detachment from the Ghaz book is no longer available. As you noted, you can’t get the 4++ KFF without a detachment from the Ghaz book.

          • tag8833 June 1, 2016 5:51 am
            #

            You can take a Ghazghkull CAD? Are you sure? I don’t see how you can. It is the same faction as Codex: Orks, and doesn’t have any datasheets beyond the formations.

            PS: You are right on Ork Horde. It is in Codex: Orks.

          • Threllen June 1, 2016 5:55 am
            #

            You can take a CAD of literally any army in the game (as long as it can fill the appropriate slots.

            So all of the new books (Curse of the Wulfen, Necrons, Eldar, Ghazghkull, etc) can take CADs or they can take the “Decurion” style detachment that is in their book.

          • Reecius
            Reecius June 1, 2016 9:20 am
            #

            Those are not armies though, they are supplements for existing books. You can’t take a Ghaz CAD as it is not a faction of its own.

          • tag8833 June 1, 2016 8:01 am
            #

            WAAAGH Ghazgul has no units in it. What do you put in the CAD? Units from Codex: Orks? How is that a Waaagh Ghazgul CAD?

          • Reecius
            Reecius June 1, 2016 9:19 am
            #

            Exactly, WAAGH Ghaz isn’t a faction, it is a supplement for Codex: Orks. It can’t take a CAD.

          • Threllen June 1, 2016 10:02 am
            #

            I don’t agree that just because something is a supplement, doesn’t mean it can’t use a CAD, but I do see the Ghazghkull book now it specifically says you have to use a detachment/formation from this book in order to get the warlord traits/relics/etc.

            But if you can’t use a CAD with a supplement then Crimson Slaughter, Black Legion, and every other supplement GW released was unuseable for years because they didn’t come with any sort of detachment in them. And, if supplements can’t use CADS, then there was literally no way to play them.

          • Reecius
            Reecius June 1, 2016 10:45 am
            #

            Not really, in those instances you’d be taking a CSM CAD and using the Black Legion/Crimson Slaughter rules. However, we’ve been treating Crimson Slaughter and Black Legion as factions, similar to chapters of Space Marines exactly for this reason.

            Making an army in this edition of the game is very confusing.

          • westrider June 1, 2016 4:53 pm
            #

            The Black Legion and Crimson Slaughter books have a bit in them that says explicitly that you can declare any CSM Detachment to be either Black Legion or Crimson Slaughter in addition to CSM.

            Not all of the supplements have that option, tho. The Champions of Fenris, for example, explicitly states that you can only use its Rules, Relics, and Warlord Traits with the Detachments and Formations in that book.

            I don’t have the Ghazgkull Supplement, so I can’t look up how it’s worded, but you can’t just draw conclusions from other Supplements, because GW is inconsistent.

  2. donthemagnificent May 31, 2016 2:20 pm #

    I am betting that the big mek stompa dies turn 2 at the latest. If he is using the mega force field, then he will have to use Da biggest and Da best rule, which means zhadsnark has to challenge, and no one else can if he is able to. a tempestor can eat his PK while the titan stomps them all to dust, if Reece wants to.

    • Reecius
      Reecius May 31, 2016 2:27 pm #

      He can’t use the Mega Force Field as the detachment it comes with isn’t available any longer, you have to take their Decurion detachment.

      That said, I don’t see me taking out the Stompa at all, very less by turn 2. I do not have the firepower and the bikers will be assaulting turn 2.

      • donthemagnificent May 31, 2016 4:02 pm #

        That is a lot of Str 8, melta, and and avenger gatling cannon. If you don’t roll like you normally do, then I think you will be fine.

        • donthemagnificent May 31, 2016 5:59 pm #

          Your dice were even colder than normal. Eeep!

          • Reecius
            Reecius May 31, 2016 8:45 pm
            #

            Yeah, brutal, lol! Turn 3 was absolutely awful, haha.

  3. Loopy May 31, 2016 3:27 pm #

    This is gonna be awesome. Looking forward to watching and painting.

  4. Chris Blackham May 31, 2016 3:31 pm #

    Hey, looks like it could be a fun game with lots of stomping…

    Which brings me onto a question. If you stomp and roll a 6 and multiple characters are under the stomp. How many Look out sirs can you roll? One for each character or just one total?

    Cheers

    • Reecius
      Reecius May 31, 2016 8:45 pm #

      1 LoS! per usual.

      • tag8833 June 1, 2016 5:55 am #

        What does that mean?

        If I Stomp, and I hit 3 Sorcerers and 2 Khorne Dogs. I roll a 6. The Khorne Dogs Die. Then Sorcerer A can LOS to a Kornedog not under the stomp, and Sorcerer C can LOS to a Kornedog not under the Stomp, and Sorcerer B can LOS to Sorcerer C, right?

        Each character has to do 1 LOS, and you can’t LOS a LOS, but if multiple characters are covered, can you only choose one of them to LOS?

        • AbusePuppy June 1, 2016 6:16 am #

          I’ve also had this question come up before. Another relevant one would be “How do you determine the order of kills in a Stomp?”- is it drawn from the center of the blast marker (like a Barrage weapon) or are they taken from the closest model to the Stomping unit, as normal melee casualties? (Presuming you roll the ‘6’ result.) Order can be very important for LoS, so this would be useful to know.

        • Reecius
          Reecius June 1, 2016 9:20 am #

          This has come up before, we can clarify it in the FAQ.

  5. Vito May 31, 2016 4:30 pm #

    Why is this going to be the last one for a while? I love these.

    • Reecius
      Reecius May 31, 2016 8:46 pm #

      The time and manpower it takes to run the stream is very demanding. We believe our time will be more efficiently used making awesome videos.

      Sorry if it is disappointing to you, we really wanted it to work, but it came to a point where we had to choose what was going to be best for the company.

      • Brutishcarx May 31, 2016 11:30 pm #

        Ah that’s a shame, I love these. Understand the business need tho.

      • Cephalobeard June 1, 2016 5:25 am #

        Better youtube videos is a better idea, and will likely produce more revenue for you guys.

        This way, especially, you can focus on game commentary for the videos and not always chat responses, etc.

        I think you made the right call.

        • jpwyrm June 1, 2016 5:42 am #

          I agree 100%
          Live Stream was cool, but I think it’s hard to manage the commentary, player exchanges (which can be very entertaining at times, plus I think they’re the best to comment on what’s going on) and chat.

          I would suggest leaving the players talk about their move and higlight their turn as you are doing right now and take 2 minutes after each round to comment on the game, what might have been if, what could happen if, etc. Then switch back to the next turn and players dialogue. Hope this make sense, can’t wait to Watch more vids from you guys!

        • Reecius
          Reecius June 1, 2016 10:00 am #

          Yeah, we can reach a LOT more people by focusing on YouTube.

      • 1PlusArmour June 1, 2016 6:50 am #

        Definitely understandable, bittersweet on 13 month sub-aversary though :P. Looking forward to more YouTube content!

        • Reecius
          Reecius June 1, 2016 9:19 am #

          Thank you very much for the support!

  6. Adam May 31, 2016 10:43 pm #

    Hey Reecius,

    What do you think of the two Tempestus formations? How do they compare to a simple Tempestus CAD like the one you brought tonight?

    • Reecius
      Reecius June 1, 2016 12:08 pm #

      They’re OK. I’ve seen the flyer version in action and it performed at a decent level. For the Taurox formation, I’d rather start them on the table, honestly.

      • Adam June 9, 2016 6:50 pm #

        But the Taurox formation does allow them all to start on the table Turn 1.

  7. tag8833 June 1, 2016 9:03 am #

    Doug,

    You need to bone up on your rules if you plan to take that list out.

    1) You don’t get invuls for the powerfields. The KFF doesn’t come into play until the power fields are gone.
    2) You didn’t have Grot riggers on the Stompa, Nor can it take them, and they don’t work the way you used them. Grot Riggers: “A vehicle with grot riggers has the It Will Not Die special rule”
    3) Lifta Droppa doesn’t allow Invuls,
    4) In order to use a repair roll you have to give up your shooting for that turn, so Meks with Rokkits that repair can’t shoot their rokkits in the same turn.
    5) Not sure what it was about Auto-failing Moral checks, something to do with fear, but the Stompa doesn’t do that.

    You Missed a number of rules that Reece helped you with. Move Through Cover on the Stompa, Rerolling FNP with DLS (You can’t), No furious charge on Multi-Assault, etc.

    No Offense is meant by this. We perfect our understanding of the rules by playing the game.

    • Reecius
      Reecius June 1, 2016 9:18 am #

      Thanks, Tag. I was pretty sure the Grot Riggers didn’t work the way he was using them or were even an option, but it’s all good. I didn’t want to bog the game down looking things up, but thanks for the corrections.

      The auto-failing morale was not due to Fear but due to being assaulted.

      • donthemagnificent June 1, 2016 11:23 am #

        You don’t auto-fail when getting charged. You literally get to “regroup” on unmodified leadership. If you fail the leadership test, and the opponent successfully charges you, then after they have made contact at the end of the charge sub-phase, you remove the models that failed their regroup test and consolidate. If you succeed at your regroup test, then you fight as normal. I also do not see anything in the base rule book that stops you from over-watching even if you fail your regroup test in that sub-phase.

  8. Requizen
    Requizen June 1, 2016 6:56 pm #

    What would you use with Scions if you weren’t running the Knight? I like MT like this but I dunno if I want to run the Crusader (or any other variant, tbh).

  9. Orwell June 2, 2016 1:56 am #

    Reece seemed a bit tired and uninterested 🙁

  10. Mike D June 8, 2016 9:09 am #

    When is this bat rep going up on the youtube? I missed the stream and would love to watch it.

    • Reecius
      Reecius June 8, 2016 9:35 am #

      We’re really backed up on video editing, had a bunch of other projects come up that have limited our ability to get those done.

Leave a Reply