Signals from the Frontline: Warhammer 40K and General Gaming News, Rumors, Tactics and Comedy!

signals from the Frontline

Show Notes



  • Follow us on Twitter, Facebook, and YouTube!  Join our Forums, too! If you would like to be a guest on the show, email Reece at
  • We sell tabletop games and supplies at 20% off! Hit us up for your next gaming order at or visit our webstore at


  • Garrett pointed out to us that we may have been part of the cause of the confusion on the loW topic we discussed last episode.
  • New Kromlech model, a female Inquisitor, looks great!


  • X-Wing releases a new Imperial ship, the Imperial Raider!

x-wing raider

  • Ironheart industries comes out with a cool new terrain kit: a Dumpster!


  • Titan Forge shows off a new model that is bad ass, the Dark Lord!

titan forge

  • New Pathfinder Projects

paizo starter set bestiary1 bestiary2

  • Rocket Games releases some bad ass new models.

rocket games 3 rocket games rocket games2 rocket games4


  • Lock and Load will be June 5th and 7th!
  • Puppet’s War shows off the Steam Ogres

steam ogres 2 steam ogres 3 steam ogres

  • Dropzone shows off the new Scourge named HQ, Eden’s Dinosaur.


  • Eternal Crusade was on Twitch! They will have a 5 minute recap a little later.

Rumors: The Rumor Section is gathered from the web and is not in any way information we receive from  any manufacturer nor is it necessarily accurate. This section of the podcast is intended for entertainment purposes only.

  • 1 Ezekiel
    2-4 Dark Angel Librarians

    Choose one model in the formation, this model has access to any psychic powers known by other models in this formation within 12″. Other models within 12″ cannot manifest psychic powers until the end of the phase. The chosen model passes psychic tests on 3+

    When using Mind Worm, models in this formation double the max range if there is at least one other model within 12″

Rant Session

Tactics Corner

  •  New Blood Angels Formations in the Exterminatus book…damn.

Rules Lawyer

  • The question:  What happens when Zhadsnark rams a vehicle on turn 1?  More details below.
  • Zhadsnark can Tank Shock:
  • “at the beginning of any Turbo Boost move he may declare that he will Tank Shock. When making a Tank Shock move Zhadsnark is treated as though he was a vehicle with the Tank type and the Tank Shock is carried out normally”
  • In the BRB page 94 it says
  • “Ramming is a special Type of Tank Shock, and is executed the same way. Any Vehicle can Tank Shock can also Ram”
  • What happens if Zhadsnark Rams a vehicle? What is the Strength of the hit he delivers? (Normally 1/2 AV, +1 for being a tank, +2 for being a Heavy or superheavy). He counts as a Tank, but has no AV.  Is it a Strength 1 Hit?
  • But then things get more interesting.  Because he failed to remove the vehicle, he is in base to base contact with it when the assault phase starts, and thus gets to attack it.  It is is a walker, he is locked in combat with it.
  • So does that mean Zhardsnark is able to pull off a 48 inch (12 for scout, 12 for move, 24 for turboboost) turn 1 non-charge entry into assault?

the sporefield formation Nids.. the ‘new’ spore mines.. Can they deep strike or do they have to walk on? RAW I think they have to walk on but makes no real sense. Wondering how you are playing it for the LVO (same for gargoyles in skyblight). Makes sporefield very useless if they have to walk on?

Completed Commissions

 11-23 pics 007 11-23 pics 006 11-23 pics 005 11-23 pics 004 11-23 pics 001 11-23 pics 007 11-23 pics 006 11-23 pics 005 11-23 pics 004 11-23 pics 001 11-23 pics 007 11-23 pics 006 11-23 pics 005 11-23 pics 004 11-23 pics 001

List Review


About Reecius

The fearless leader of the intrepid group of gamers gone retailers at Frontline Gaming!

25 Responses to “Signals from the Frontline: Warhammer 40K and General Gaming News, Rumors, Tactics and Comedy!”

  1. Avatar
    Ghost Valley December 20, 2014 7:51 am #

    I don’t like the tone of that one BA formation. I think 400 points is way too much of a boost, even for a suboptimal unit like vanguard.

    For example, most BA players have at least 20 assault marines that they were running as troops before. So now, for only 25 pts per squad more than a 10 man regular assault squad with vet sgt and power weapon, you get an extra attack per model and everyone ignores 3+? That makes VV pretty appealing.

    Throw in a raven, which is a good unit, and free combis on the sternguard and this feels pretty strong. If I was playing across from this, I would be pretty choked about my opponent getting 400 free points especially since most formations give you bonuses that are a little more subjective in terms of value or points cost… Twin linked, or staffing run, or a free special rule. I just don’t like the feel of free wargear. But that’s just me and I play BA.

    • Reecius
      Reecius December 21, 2014 12:34 pm #

      Yeah, this will be one that pisses people off, for sure. However, how good is it? Eh, I don’t think it is going to be game breaking at all, personally. Vanguard are still sub-optimal, but with all power weapons against the right target they can be quite good. The trick is getting them in on turn 2 (8/9 odds) and then surviving the shooting they invariably take, and assaulting turn 3 into the something they can hopefully take on. In a lot of match-ups they may be struggling to find a good target vs. things like Knights, WKs, Flyrants, etc.

      • Avatar
        Ghost Valley December 21, 2014 3:32 pm #

        I agree about their match up problems. And in the end they are still just a 3+ save. Being forced to come on from deep strike takes away some tactical choice and gives the opponent plenty of time to target them, redeploy, ignore. The sternguard have a nice buff, but would be better suited in a pod. And as another poster stated, the lack of red thirst is a big deal.

        Probably won’t see this too often, but the sticker shock of 400 free points still blows my mind!

        • Reecius
          Reecius December 21, 2014 3:49 pm #

          I agree, that is nuts to get 400pts extra, lol!

  2. Avatar
    Dr.insanotron December 20, 2014 10:19 am #

    I think you guys are under selling the Storm Raven formation. Not scattering and being able to assault the turn you come in from reserve if you are with in 12′ pod the formation is great but also the formation any has to roll one reserve roll for all 3 storm ravens to come in and they get to reroll it and I the icing on the cake it that they get to roll reserves turn 1. Sound pretty darn good to me

    • Avatar
      Novastar December 20, 2014 10:28 am #

      I was thinking a furioso and death company in pods assaulting turn one, if flyers come in turn one do their movement first and zoom up maximum distance then drop your no scatter pods 12 inches further and hop the troopers out 6 inches and wham charge them

      • Avatar
        Dr.insanotron December 20, 2014 10:55 am #

        The only question is does a unit embarked in a pod count as deep striking when the pod comes in

        • Avatar
          Deuce11 December 20, 2014 11:30 am #

          The pod had moved at combat speed (deep strike counts as combat speed) and is not an assault vehicle so it doesn’t matter which unit is considered to have entered play via deep strike because the embarked unit may not assault after the transport moved.

          • Avatar
            Novastar December 20, 2014 12:28 pm

            Well the dreads can take dreadnought drop pods which are assault vehicles 🙂

          • Avatar
            Tetrisphreak December 20, 2014 12:35 pm

            Drop pods are open topped

          • Avatar
            Novastar December 20, 2014 1:06 pm

            Oh just checked and Blood Angel drop pods are open topped so count as assault vehicles, so the infantry can assault out of them if chaining with this formation

          • Avatar
            Eldarain December 20, 2014 2:42 pm

            And you don’t need to have deep struck to charge. Just that you “arrive from Deep Strike Reserves” Which anything in a Drop Pod would be doing.

            That new X-wing ship is a new creation of FFG’s as nothing else from the lore would have fit the size and role they had in mind.

            It is for X-wing. Like the Correllian Corvette. It also includes some cards which buff the TIE Advanced which is nice to hear.

          • Reecius
            Reecius December 21, 2014 12:37 pm

            Thanks for the info on the X-Wing ship.

          • Avatar
            dr.insanotron December 20, 2014 3:03 pm

            Right the drop pod would be. The question is would the unit in side be or would it just be disembarking

          • Avatar
            Eldarain December 20, 2014 3:18 pm

            You place both the Pod and it’s contents in Deep Strike Reserves. The formation only requires that you arrive from Deep Strike Reserves. It doesn’t require you to Deep Strike.

          • Avatar
            dr.insanotron December 20, 2014 3:37 pm


  3. Avatar
    Pascal Roggen December 20, 2014 3:36 pm #

    the thing with the sanguine wing is that, they miss out on initiative 5 charging, which can mean you lose a lot of guys so, it’s a good choice instead of the only choice:)
    Imagine 10 guys without ini5 charging grey hunters with 2 cww’s you will lose around 2 to 3 guys that would otherwise not die…. cost of that?? maybe 60 odd points? base?

    • Reecius
      Reecius December 21, 2014 3:50 pm #

      Yeah, an MEQ stat line still struggles to get it done.

  4. Avatar
    AbusePuppy December 20, 2014 8:53 pm #

    I don’t believe Zhadsnark gets to attack the vehicle if he Rams it, at least for vehicles that can’t fight back. (Walkers and Chariots are another kettle of fish.) His own rules note that he becomes “locked in combat” with the unit, but remember that vehicles without a WS value can never be locked in combat.

    There’s also the argument that the rules specify that the models in B2B can attack it “again,” which especially given the clause earlier in the subsection that specifically describes models that launched an assault (not merely those in B2B) in the “successive turns” heading. Offhand I can only think about one other situation where an enemy model could end up in B2B without charging, though.

    • Reecius
      Reecius December 21, 2014 12:35 pm #

      Yeah, exactly, it is really convoluted.

  5. Avatar
    TinBane December 21, 2014 3:18 pm #

    I think the Librarius Conclave looks pretty awesome.
    It doesn’t matter which librarian casts a spell, right? You can only cast each spell once, but now the odds are much more likely that you’ll have failures. As long as you have dice, and more spells to cast, then you are good.

    The Conclave allows you to cast through the one librarian, and have better odds of getting the spell off. Whether the spell is “stolen” from one of the librarians within 12″, or cast by the main librarian, the only difference is the origin point, and that it casts on a 3+.

    So it’s win/win, as long as you want to spend points on librarians. It gives you more charges easily, more force weapons, and you are more likely to get spells off.

    You can also use it to spread the reach. if you have a witchfire spell, you can push a minor librarian forward, and channel it through them, with the 3+ to cast, and have your other librarians up to 12″ back.

    I think it’s an interesting mechanic. Not overwhelming, but pretty cool.

    • Avatar
      CNitram December 21, 2014 3:28 pm #

      You can also have the other ‘linked’ Librarians cast Force, for example, after they’re done “channeling” on the original 4+ success once the ‘buffed’ Librarian has finished attempting all of his desired spells. All-in-all, it kind of reminds me of the Warmahordes arc node mechanic transferred into 40k.

      • Reecius
        Reecius December 21, 2014 3:51 pm #

        Good comparison, it is like an arc node. However, I don’t think it’s worth the points investment, personally.

        • Avatar
          TinBane December 21, 2014 6:07 pm #

          I don’t think it’s a competitive pick. But Librarian’s aren’t terrible, and the rules do make them better.

          If you want to take lots of librarians, this is a good formation.

          I personally think that the cultists + helbrute formation isn’t a bad formation. It’s just that helbrutes still suck. I think the formation works pretty well, if you ever want to include a helbrute, in a less competitive game.

          I guess the min cost on the librarians is a little over the top!

          • Reecius
            Reecius December 22, 2014 8:51 am

            Yeah, in a for fun game some of the formations are a laugh, but in general terms most of them are sub-optimal. The Deppstriking Helbrute formation is not bad, but you’re still working with crummy Helbrutes, so hey.

Leave a Reply