Warhammer 40K Video Bat Rep #220 Tyranids vs Raven Guard

Reecius and InControl throw down in a rematch: Raven Guard vs. Tyranids! For more great bat reps, check out the Tactics Corner!


About Reecius

The fearless leader of the intrepid group of gamers gone retailers at Frontline Gaming!

37 Responses to “Warhammer 40K Video Bat Rep #220 Tyranids vs Raven Guard”

  1. Avatar
    Cyle Thompson March 27, 2014 11:57 am #

    Assaulted out of a rhino?

  2. Avatar
    Cyle Thompson March 27, 2014 12:06 pm #

    A couple times! And once out of a wrecked rhino.

    • Reecius
      Reecius March 27, 2014 12:52 pm #

      Are you asking if the Space Marines charged out of a Rhino?

      • Avatar
        Chip March 27, 2014 2:09 pm #

        Yeah after re-watching, it seemed like your Grey Hunters charged the Zoanthrope (multi charge, I think) out of their Rhino.

        • Reecius
          Reecius March 27, 2014 3:11 pm #

          Ah, I can’t remember if I did. If so, it was a mistake.

          • Avatar
            Eldarain March 27, 2014 4:30 pm

            It might have worked out better to just double tap the Zoan anyway. Your dice couldn’t have been any worse.

          • Reecius
            Reecius March 28, 2014 9:38 am

            Yeah, no kidding, lol!

          • Avatar
            Wit March 27, 2014 7:05 pm

            Hate to say it, but yeah, ya did. The grey hunters are clearly in the Rhino (The Zoenthrope fires and misses in his attempt to pop the rhino with Warp blast), and then next turn you multi-assault with the grey hunters.

          • Reecius
            Reecius March 28, 2014 9:37 am

            Yeah, we both goofed. Oh well, it happens all the time with a game this complex. Easy to make mistakes.

        • Avatar
          steven morrow March 27, 2014 3:23 pm #

          yup grey hunters cant assault turn they diembark.

          • Reecius
            Reecius March 27, 2014 3:33 pm

            No one can, unless the vehicle was open topped or assault. I may have simply made an error if that is what happened. Oh well, it happens.

          • Avatar
            steven morrow March 27, 2014 4:23 pm

            ehh it happens

  3. Avatar
    Chip March 27, 2014 12:14 pm #

    Can squads that are combat squadded, which get out, then get back in to the same transport?

    • Reecius
      Reecius March 27, 2014 12:21 pm #

      Yes, as long as they are form the same unit. It is ultra useful.

      • Avatar
        Chip March 28, 2014 7:36 am #

        That is so good. So so good. If only I could get back in my drop pod!

        • Reecius
          Reecius March 28, 2014 9:07 am #

          I know, right? I combat squad in almost every game in 6th ed, outside of KPs. It is such a useful ability, and being able to load back up in a transport is golden!

  4. Avatar
    iNcontroL March 27, 2014 12:50 pm #


  5. Avatar
    Prindlehaven March 27, 2014 12:58 pm #

    the power armour wasn’t turned on. hahaha.

    great batrep guys.

  6. Avatar
    Smellofwetdog March 27, 2014 2:40 pm #

    pinocchio-esque boner lol I lost it on that one.

    You guys are gonna love my new Harley Davidson/Air horn Enthusiast club, we’ll make a trip up to FLG just for batreps.

    Love the batreps, quality stuff guys keep it up.

  7. Avatar
    Crispy March 27, 2014 2:56 pm #

    Great batrep guys. Well done Reece on the win. Will forward this to a friend who collects Ravenguard. Like you he’s caught up on trying to make assault marines work haha.

    • Reecius
      Reecius March 27, 2014 3:12 pm #

      Yeah, it’s not easy to do! They are really good in certain match-ups, but generally, they are pretty shitty.

  8. Avatar
    Greggles March 27, 2014 4:25 pm #

    Another great bat rep. What are you going to take instead of the assault squad? Always amazed at the resiliency of the fexes. I once faced one with FNP and regen. I just gave up trying to hurt it.

    • Reecius
      Reecius March 28, 2014 9:40 am #

      Yeah, T-Fexes survive largely because they are so much harder to kill than the other TMCs, that your opponent simply doesn’t bother.

      Instead of the Assault squad, probably some Scouts. You need a push back unit to force your opponent’s scout moves back so he can’t shut down your pre-game Scout move.

  9. Avatar
    Jonas March 28, 2014 1:54 am #

    Great batrep, and a lot of lessons to be learned:

    1) Nids are apparently not just a Turn 5 army 😀
    2) Never give up
    3) Never assume you’ve won before the game is over
    4) Play to the mission
    5) Multiple fast scoring units are a good thing
    6) Tyrannofexes don’t die

  10. Avatar
    nacrotek March 28, 2014 6:02 am #

    Can the crones vector strike and still shoot 2 missiles? I thought each missile counted as shooting a weapon, as well as the vector strike. In turn 2 he vector struck the crones and then they each then shot 2 missiles.

    • Reecius
      Reecius March 28, 2014 9:36 am #

      No, the vector strike counts as a shot, so Geoff goofed here.

  11. Avatar
    N.I.B. March 28, 2014 6:33 am #

    At 9:52 inControl ‘cheated’, can’t fire double Tentaclids after vector strike. So, looks like both had a rules slip, perfectly normal.

  12. Avatar
    IndigoJack March 28, 2014 8:33 am #

    Great batrep. Love seeing mech marines winning games.

  13. Avatar
    Joshhodg March 28, 2014 7:08 pm #

    Hey Reece is there somewhere I can go to understand how your missions work? I just totally don’t understand the scoring when I watch these bat reps and I would like to try something besides the basic 6 missions we have been playing since I started 40k at our store.

    • Avatar
      Prindlehaven March 28, 2014 11:40 pm #

      check out the link at the top of the page. click on community> BAO tournament format.

  14. Avatar
    Bassface7 March 29, 2014 12:29 pm #

    Doesn’t the Exo get 7 shots, not 6?

  15. Avatar
    Gerbanator October 22, 2014 7:21 am #

    How did he scout move his rhinos? Rhinos do not have chapter tactics and do not get the benefit of them.

    • Reecius
      Reecius October 22, 2014 8:31 am #

      The unit inside has scouts, which confers onto the dedicated transport. So does infiltrate.

Leave a Reply