Guest Video from Loopy: Tips, Tricks and Dirty Tactics: Assaulting Vehicles

tactics

Loopy brings us some tips for best practices on assaulting vehicles with infantry!

Tags:

About Reecius

The fearless leader of the intrepid group of gamers gone retailers at Frontline Gaming!

24 Responses to “Guest Video from Loopy: Tips, Tricks and Dirty Tactics: Assaulting Vehicles”

  1. Julnlecs November 3, 2013 12:31 am #

    If I remember correctly you can still perform an emergency disembarkation and its only the
    models that cannot disembark that die not the whole unit. Pg 80

    • bigpig November 3, 2013 12:37 am #

      Emergency disembarkation just means you don’t have to start from an access point. Instead you place the model in contact with any point on the vehicles hull and move from there. If the vehicle is wrapped by enemy models, you can’t do this (as you can’t place in contact with the hull and not be within an inch of the enemy) and are destroyed.

      I do this with my nids all the time. It also works to surround a Portalglyph to prevent demons from spawning and moving out. 🙂

  2. Noah November 3, 2013 3:12 am #

    So you can’t stand on top of the hull of a land raider or battlewagons without being without being 1″ from the enemy? What me work some magic.

    • Reecius
      Reecius November 3, 2013 10:27 am #

      It is possible on those big vehicles.

      • bigpig November 3, 2013 3:02 pm #

        Check my comment under Slaede’s comment for interpretation on why you can’t do this.

  3. Rantimus
    Rantimus November 3, 2013 8:00 am #

    I had this done to me at a tournie with my BA, my Storm raven was in hover mode and he wrapped around the base and destroyed it killing my furioso and a squad of 5 termies,
    It was a great move and I lost the game!

  4. Slaede November 3, 2013 10:23 am #

    I haven’t found anything in the rules that says they can’t get on the roof. It says they must be placed in base contact with the hull of the vehicle, which allows for the roof. At ATC the judge ruled this way when I surrounded a Wave Serpent.

    • Reecius
      Reecius November 3, 2013 10:28 am #

      As long as you can stay more than 1″ away from the enemy unit you can pull it off, but most vehicles aren’t big enough to do this.

    • bigpig November 3, 2013 3:00 pm #

      There are a couple reasons you can’t do it like this. First, it says you begin by placing the disembarking model in base contact with the vehicle and moving from there (pg 79). I think you’d be hard pressed to say that on top of the hull is “in base contact”. 🙂 More importantly, even if you wanted to try and make an argument for exactly what base contact means the second rule completely prevents it. The sequence on pg 80 under “wrecked” says the occupants disembark first, then take their pinning test, THEN the vehicle becomes a wreck. It does not become a wreck until after the unit has completely disembarked one model at a time with each model making a legal move. Since you can’t stack models on top of one another, it is not legal to leave them on top of what is not yet a wreck. If the models cannot disembark as each is called to do so, they are destroyed.

      Note that this only works for wrecks. If the the vehicle explodes, they do not disembark and are left in the wreckage where the vehicle was.

      • kalhoun November 4, 2013 12:12 am #

        I’m not sure… I’d probably let someone Emergency Disembark out of the roof if they wanted to badly enough and they all took Dangerous Terrain tests for climbing on the wreck.

      • Loopy November 5, 2013 12:36 pm #

        Thanks for posting this, Reece! I hope it’s not too mouth-breather-y for you guys! 🙂

        Anyways, yeah, you disembark before the vehicle becomes a wreck. At least that’s how I read the rules.

  5. Chuck November 3, 2013 3:17 pm #

    For the powerclaws, can’t you just not use the power claw to attack instead?

  6. anonymou5 November 3, 2013 7:23 pm #

    You actually don’t have to worry about stringing the power claws back. Say your regular boys do 10 glances and your klaws do 6 pens. You choose the order of operations, so you just apply the glances first. The rules don’t actually say “roll all the pens at once,” people just play it that way because it’s faster.

    • Reecius
      Reecius November 3, 2013 7:43 pm #

      Yes, that is correct. As soon as the vehicle takes its last hull point, it’s wrecked.

    • Loopy November 5, 2013 12:37 pm #

      Oh really? I thought for sure there was a FAQ or something on this. Great to hear!

      • Loopy November 5, 2013 12:55 pm #

        Check “Resolving Damage” under vehicles. Do you think that applies to assaults, too?

        • anonymou5 November 5, 2013 4:40 pm #

          Right, I see the part you’re talking about. Where it talks about rolling all the Pens even if they wreck the vehicle. Still, that section is only about Pens (look at the header). There is a seperate section for the Glances. In this case the Glances and Pens happen simultaneously, and the controlling player chooses the order of operations. So you can just glance the vehicle out, then the rules on Pens never come into play.

          • Reecius
            Reecius November 5, 2013 5:18 pm
            #

            This is correct. The controlling player chooses what order damage results occur in and the BRB states that as soon as the last HP is removed, the vehicle is destroyed.

          • Adam November 5, 2013 5:36 pm
            #

            Well, that’s awesome.

  7. MushTDC November 4, 2013 4:31 am #

    The nob can just chose to attack with his pistol instead of his power klaw.

    “If a model has more than one melee weapon it must choose which to attack with when it comes to strike blows…” – BRB page 51

    “A pistol also counts as an assault weapon in the assault phase” – BRB page 52

  8. MushTDC November 4, 2013 5:05 am #

    “A pistol also counts as a close combat weapon in the assault phase”*

    • Loopy November 5, 2013 12:38 pm #

      You rock, Mush! Loving it.

      • Loopy November 5, 2013 12:39 pm #

        Though that means I’ll have to start leaving the pistol on my Nobz instead of the Big Shoota. Don’t think the Mega-boss has much of a choice, though.

  9. Lord Krungharr November 13, 2013 11:22 am #

    Having models on the roof of a vehicle is most certainly in base contact with the hull, their bases would be touching the hull more than if they were on the ground.

    Furthermore, when determining distance beteween models, you use the distance from the bases so as not to penalize, or give coherency advantage to, someone with a neat posed model with a large weapon sticking out for dramatic effect (for instance). So if the tank is over 1″ tall and models are on the roof, they must be considered 1″ away from the enemies. If this were not true, then if a model was directly above an enemy in ruins with a 3″ level, that would be considered illegal.

    But a wreck is Dangerous Terrain if I remember correctly, so I think the emergency disembarkers would need to take some tests for that.

    Those Sororitas, if they had Flamers, could’ve Overwatched from the Rhino firepoints too, that would’ve fried some Orks before they got there.

Leave a Reply