Signals from the Frontline: Warhammer 40K and General Gaming News, Rumors, Tactics and Humor.

signals from the Frontline

Show Notes

10-8-13

News

  • Aaron Albert sent us info on the upcoming Guardian Cup, a 40person 40K GT being held in Portland, OR, November 9th and 10th.

guardian cup

chronosheet

  • Figone, a European miniatures manufacturer, releases a new Trollus miniature that is pretty cool.

trollus_1

  • Clockwork Goblin releases some very cool new miniatures for their Konflikt ’47 game, a 15mm alternative WWII game. Imagine Flames of War crossed with AT-43

6894684

f_2840702

 

MG_1985 Pegasus-Bridge-contents-shot-600x312

Atlantik-Wall_1-600x151Atlantik-Wall_2

1378105_423520087752038_2042820241_n

  •  Anvil Industries releases a concept for a new Republic Soldier model for the Afterlife Game.

  •  Check out this awesome art by community member Valley Dweller!

cypher

moondrakan_by_valleydweller-d4o8bg7

 

warp spider

Rumors: The Rumor Section is gathered from the web and is not in any way information we receive from  any manufacturer nor is it necessarily accurate. This section of the podcast is intended for entertainment purposes only.

  • 40K Radio is chatting about what they think might be the next armies to come out! Nids, Dwarves, IG, Wood Elves.
  • Nids are rumored to be getting a big overhaul and that sounds awesome! Can’t wait to see what comes along.
  • Terrence wrote in to tell us more about the fluff of the rumored additional Dark Angels wings:

    The Dark Angels’ Wings are specialization units; they get mentioned throughout the HH novels, but Unremembered Empire specifically notes there are 6 of them. The Dreadwing is likely the predecessor of the Deathwing, since their Company Master is an Equerry to the Lion himself (and packs a Space Marine sized Zweihander/Executioner sword to prove it).

    There used to be an Ironwing in the game (or 2E/3E fluff, I forget which), which was the 1st Legion’s (and Unforgiven’s) Armoured Warfare division, w/boatloads of Predators/Razorbacks/Land Raiders.

    As for the others, no friggin’ clue, but hopefully they’ll get some attention in forthcoming novels (or even Supplements).

Rant Session

  • Running tournaments and the misconception people have about it.
  • Sorry for vilanizing Taudar last episode.

Tactics Corner

Rules Lawyer

  •  Casey K. wrote in in objection to the FAQ Council’s ruling on Grav weapons, believing that they in fact do cause 2 HP of damage per 6 rolled.

List Review

1750 Points White Scars w/ Space Wolves Alllies

HQ:

Kor,Sarro Khan, Moondraken –

Chapter Master, Artificer Armour, Bike, Shield Eternal, Power Fist, Lighting Claw, Auspex   –

Rune Priest, Bike, Wolf Tail Talisman, Chooser of the Slain, Jaws, Tempest’s Wrath  – 

Rune Priest, Bike, Wolf Tail Talisman, Jaws, Murderous Hurricane  – 

Troops:

Bike Squad, 8 Bikers, 2 Grav-guns, Attack Bike with Heavy Bolter  –

Bike Squad, 5 Bikers, 2 Grav-guns –

Bike Squad, 5 Bikers, 2 Grav-guns –

Bike Squad, 5 Bikers, 2 Grav-guns –

10 x Grey Hunters, Flamer, Plasma Gun, Wolf Standard, Drop Pod – 

Heavy Support:

Thunderfire Cannon –

Thunderfire Cannon –

The 4 bike HQs join the full strength bike squad and scout move into a space secured by the Chooser of the Slain where they proceed to abuse all of the space wolf psychic powers while they last: Graviton Gun for I 1 then Jaws against MCs and Tempest’s Wrath against skimmers.  The Heavy Bolter extends the killing range of the squad’s shooting attacks and the Chapter Master’s role is  self explanatory.  Oh, and the unit is scoring.

5 man Bike Squads and Grey Hunters give great flexible and mobile scoring.  Thunderfire Cannon’s with barrage for 100 points are just too good not to take.  I wish I could fit 3.

 

Tags:

About Reecius

The fearless leader of the intrepid group of gamers gone retailers at Frontline Gaming!

27 Responses to “Signals from the Frontline: Warhammer 40K and General Gaming News, Rumors, Tactics and Humor.”

  1. Avatar
    steven morrow October 8, 2013 3:44 am #

    Tau and Eldar are needed. Otherwise It would just be Daemons/heldrakes everywhere lol.

    • Reecius
      Reecius October 8, 2013 11:41 am #

      I guess that is one way to see the glass half full, hahaha

      • Avatar
        steven morrow October 8, 2013 7:11 pm #

        ah i forgot necron flyer spam

        • Reecius
          Reecius October 9, 2013 11:38 am #

          They are still a really solid army.

  2. Avatar
    Hotsauceman1 October 8, 2013 8:01 am #

    You need to get Frankie Hooked on Monkey Phonics 😛
    And Reece, Atleast French aint german, Where you sound angry no matter how nice you say it

    • Reecius
      Reecius October 8, 2013 11:41 am #

      We do need to get him hooked on phonics! haha

  3. Avatar
    Jrandom October 8, 2013 10:21 am #

    How would the bike list get Prescience?

    • Reecius
      Reecius October 8, 2013 11:42 am #

      Space Wolf allies.

      • Avatar
        Jrandom October 8, 2013 12:31 pm #

        That isn’t possible once they bought SW powers.

        • Avatar
          Gordy October 8, 2013 3:44 pm #

          Yes, it is. Space Wolves may exchange their powers for divination.

        • Reecius
          Reecius October 8, 2013 3:48 pm #

          As Gordy said, you choose the book powers you want to use on your list, but at the table you can opt to not use them and roll on Divination (or whichever school of powers). Space Wolf powers aren’t purchased, either. I think you are thinking about Grey Knights?

          • Avatar
            Jrandom October 8, 2013 5:04 pm
            #

            Well thank you for straightening me out.

            I thought for sure that they had purchased those powers, but the book does state “has any two of the following powers”. I should of looked again before posting.

            FORGIVE!!! 😉

          • Reecius
            Reecius October 9, 2013 11:34 am
            #

            haha, no worries man, we all make mistakes =)

  4. Adam
    Adam October 8, 2013 10:42 am #

    I think you misheard the Robin Cruddace thing. He said that they would cause 2 HP of damage on second and subsequent results, or on targets already immobilized, not on every single result.

    Also, don’t apologize for Taudar. Ever.

    • Reecius
      Reecius October 8, 2013 10:51 am #

      That is what I meant, I think I made it sound like every 6, I meant every subsequent 6.

      And hey, some folks play it because they genuinely like it. I can’t toss the baby out with the bath water just because some folks play it for reasons I may disagree with.

      • Avatar
        Fulcrum October 9, 2013 4:30 pm #

        So you are saying that a 2nd 6 will only case 1 hull point of damage & ignore the additional immobilized result? I’m just trying to be sure here. If that is the case I think you are ridiculously wrong IMO. It is not easy to roll 2 6’s. I have been playing WS grav spam since the dex dropped & it’s weak against mech armies. I run 16-18 grav on bikes in 1500-1750. Wave Serpents are crazy broken & your ruling (if 2nd 6 is only 1hp) would be definitively in favor of WS while nerfing a grav armies effectiveness against vehicles. Just do the math, it’s not OP & the meta desperately needs something to counter WS & deathstars. If you want attendance to go back up there needs to be steps consciously taken to increase the average joe’s chances against taudar. Any way you look at it the majority of players going to a tournament are going to be there for fun & not playing the latest band wagon.

        • Avatar
          Fulcrum October 9, 2013 4:32 pm #

          Not to mention I think your ruling goes against raw & rai. I play against WS spam at least once a week & when your opponent had 4-6 WS on the table grav is not very effective.

        • Avatar
          Fulcrum October 9, 2013 4:39 pm #

          Dam just realized I’m using WS in reference to white scars & wave serpents. So to be clear I have been playing white scars grav spam against wave serpent spam.

        • Reecius
          Reecius October 10, 2013 10:43 am #

          I understand your frustration. However, you are looking at this from the perspective of your experience against a specific player(s) that play an armyt hat is difficult for you to beat. You are looking at it specifically in the context of White Scars vs. Wave Serpents. You have to look at it in the context of Grav Weapons vs ALL vehicles in the game. Against the vast majority of the game, that is crazy.

          Now, my personal feelings aside on the matter, look at the RAW of the rule. It does not cause a glancing of penetrating hit. On a 6, it strips a hull point and immobilizes it’s target. It is very, very straightforward in a strict RAW reading. You do both. As it has not caused a penetrating hit, you don’t trigger that second effect. However, that brings up a million other issues such as, do you get cover? Do you get a serpent shield save, etc? If you argue that it DOES cause a penetrating hit, and does cause the extra hull point then you also have to say the Serpent Shield negates the immobilized effect on a 2+, stopping the immobilized result. You can’t argue RAW one way and not the other, you know?

          So, for the sake of simplicity and ease of play, we decide to take it at a middle ground: it is a special effect that does not cause a pen or glance, it strips a hull point and immobilizes, if the target is already immobilized, it cannot be further immobilized.

          Not everyone will agree, but we felt it was the best middle ground.

          • Avatar
            Fulcrum October 10, 2013 10:25 pm
            #

            RAW it states the target “suffers an Immobilized result”, notice Immobilized it capitalized. Now go to page 72 & read under Immobilized & you will see that nowhere does it say a vehicle must suffer a glancing or penetrating hit to lose the 2nd hull point. Additionally you yourselves have already ruled in your FAQ that a drop pod landing in difficult terrain will lose 2 hp if it fails it’s difficult terrain check. Here is another very similar instance where an already immobilized vehicle is suffering an immobilized result without taking a glancing or penetrating hit & yet you have ruled it they opposite way. So I would say you guys are ruling against yourselves & should correct 1 or the other accordingly.

            As far as the issues of cover saves, that is a problem that applies to all types of damage since RAW you wouldn’t get cover saves from anything. So I would say the ruling that cover saves can be taken.

            The serpent shield is obviously ignored RAW because it doesn’t cause a glance or pen, just a result as does a vehicle failing a dangerous terrain test & as you have ruled in your drop pod ruling. Would you give a WS a serpent shield save against a dangerous terrain test failure? I think RAI this was GWs plan, hopefully realizing the ridiculousness of the WS. The question is does it take a glancing or penetrating hit to apply the entirety of the RAW Immobilized result on pg 74 which is the only place “Immobilized” is defined in the entire rule set? I think clearly the answer is no.

            As far as it’s personal effect on me you can believe what you wish. I’m confident an FAQ will be out before the next tournament of yours that I will be playing in(lvo). I’m more concerned with the way that you will sway others in the community. Most of the people I see arguing the side you have taken are eldar players who don’t want to see their WSs threatened.

            Just take the example of a bike squad with 2 grav guns. 6 shots, hit with 4-5, hopefully roll one 6 or zero, which is not that unlikely on 4 hits, and hope they don’t make a cover save. The a 2nd identical bike squad(spam) does the same thing with the same result. So now 300pts worth of squads have shot at a single vehicle, this could be a LR or a 35pt rhino, and there are 3 possible results; 1) no damage 2) 1 hp loss + immobilized 3) 3 hp loss + immobilized & possibly a wrecked vehicle. I don’t think this is OP or unbalanced & not very good against mech spam. Remember against a transport you have ZERO chance of an explosion, shaking, or stunning the squad inside, which is a significant disadvantage. If you don’t believe me I know you have the resources to run my army against a mech army to test it & see for yourself.

            Then compare that to the same 2 squads with melta or plasma, granted the results will change depending on range. But against every vehicle that is not a WS, melta is much better & likewise for plasma against medium/light armor. With traditional weapons against mech transports you will get much better results than with grav as you have a much better chance of inflicting a 1 shot kill &/or negatively effecting the squad inside the transport.

            Again I will state my belief that the only vehicle that grav is better than traditional alternatives is against Wave Serpents because of its ability to bypass the Serpent Shield. Non eldar mech players who fear grav are just reacting without data. I’m pretty confident I my statements due to gameplay experience. If you don’t agree, proxy a grav spam(as I have) bike army & run it against venom spam, or rhino & LR MEQ, or mech IG.

            I definitely don’t need it to win games, and it doesn’t really matter that much to me & I have other armies. I just think your position is illogical & contradictory to your drop pod ruling. If you are going to stick to it please change your drop pod ruling. When the FAQ does come out, which hopefully be soon, I’m sure one of us will be doing a mea culpa(sp?).

            I hope you don’t take any offense to my statement, I’m just debating my side & presenting it in a way that is logical to me. I tend to be very analytical due to my industry.

          • Avatar
            Fulcrum October 10, 2013 10:35 pm
            #

            Sorry I mistook the pg number for immobilized, it’s on 74 not 72. I’m not high I swear!

      • Avatar
        Fulcrum October 9, 2013 4:45 pm #

        It specifically states raw that it causes an “immobilized result”, so where are you drawing your definition if immobilized from? The only place it exists is on the damage table, in which case you are totally ignoring the 2nd 1/2 of the rule.

      • Avatar
        Fulcrum October 9, 2013 5:14 pm #

        What you are effectively saying to the community at large (those of us paying attention) is that RAW grav is too OP & worse, from a balance perspective than:
        1. Wave serpents
        2. 2++ rerollable screamerstars & jetseer
        3. Interceptor for 5pts per model
        4. Buff commanders
        5. Farsight/shadowsun bombs or oshovastars
        6. Flying circuses
        7. Heldrake shenanigans (which are not that bad now in retrospect)

  5. Avatar
    Fulcrum October 9, 2013 6:33 pm #

    Nowhere in the brb on pg 72 under the immobilized result does it say anything about either a glancing or penetrating hit. Additionally when a vehicle is immobilized due to failing a dangerous terrain check, it doesn’t cause a glancing or penetrating hit. So as you are ruling it if you roll a 6 w grav against a vehicle that is already immobilized it would only cause 1 hp to be removed.

    I generally like your rulings on things but I just don’t understand why you have decided to arbitrarily nerf 1 of the 2 great things available to sm (TFC is the other), with seemingly no reason for it.

    • Reecius
      Reecius October 10, 2013 10:55 am #

      It’s not arbitrary at all, and if you could be there when we debate this stuff it would make a lot more sense. I honestly get the feeling you are so upset because it goes against your personal army and tactics, which is always annoying. We always do our best to fairly arbitrate rules for the best of the game in general, not to nerf or buff any specific army.

  6. Avatar
    Fulcrum October 10, 2013 10:37 pm #

    Ps the version of this list I have been running includes scouts + storm to take advantage of the Cerberus launchers blind effect against tau in particular. Other than that this guy stole my idea! Lol jk.

  7. Avatar
    Terence October 11, 2013 8:57 am #

    Woohoo! I got mentioned on a podcast, lol.

    Came across this thread on B&C which discusses (rather well nicely, especially for an online forum) some of the possibilities for the DA Wings (posts #14 and #19)

    http://www.bolterandchainsword.com/topic/281307-dark-angels-rumour-of-wings/#entry3483840

    Keep up the good work guys!

Leave a Reply