Warhammer 40K Video Battle Report: Black Legion Supplement vs. Necrons

science

We try out the new Black Legion Chaos Supplement and Frankie uses all of his cheesy might to create a pretty nasty list!

Tags:

About Reecius

The fearless leader of the intrepid group of gamers gone retailers at Frontline Gaming!

37 Responses to “Warhammer 40K Video Battle Report: Black Legion Supplement vs. Necrons”

  1. Invok93 August 22, 2013 2:33 pm #

    Don’t Tau Blacksun filters ignore blind?

    • Reecius
      Reecius August 22, 2013 2:52 pm #

      Gah!!!! Hahaha, god damn, Tau!! It does, but you can get the Fire Warriors.

    • Puretide1 August 22, 2013 3:13 pm #

      Yes the blacksun filters ignores blind so the pyshic power might do some damage but won’t make tau bs1, all tau suits have them standard only units apart from the aliens who can’t get blacksun filters for tau is fire warriors, cadre fireblade and the 2 named ethereals but aun’va dosen’t shoot and is ws1 anyway and aunshi is I5 pathfinders can get blacksun free very cheap and ethereal only a bit more, drones can push blind test 4 cadre or fire warriors to I4 if you don’t join anyone with blacksun filter, vespid are I6 kroot can get a hound to make them I5.

      But it was a great battle report as always keep them coming but do you thing you will be doin a battle report with the farsight enclave anytime soon can’t find 1 anywhere.

      • Reecius
        Reecius August 22, 2013 3:30 pm #

        Ah crud, you guys are right. Doh!

        And no worries. We would do a Farisght Enclave report but we don’t actually have a Tau army here. We will have to hit up one of the Tau players on the team to assist us with that.

        • Puretide1 August 22, 2013 3:50 pm #

          no worries man

          I am glad my tau are basically immune to blind with all the stuff coming out and doin it I like to shoot my guns 🙂

      • steven morrow August 22, 2013 5:37 pm #

        Yes they have plenty of defense against it but how many tau players are making full use of them. Every tau list i haven seen has not given a second thought to blind defense.

    • bugsculptor August 24, 2013 11:33 am #

      Yeah, but it’s not all good news for Tau. That nova power is going to be brutal at knocking out multiple small squads of pathfinders in cover.

      If you want a couple of units of pathfinders on the table to give you an overwatch cascade on a charging unit, that power could kill both of them before they do it.

      • Reecius
        Reecius August 24, 2013 12:03 pm #

        Yeah, and Pathfinders are only 5+ so they REALLY get it bad from this.

        • bugsculptor August 25, 2013 9:00 am #

          Yeah, on average it kills four or five pathfinders, with no saves. If you roll one point above average you’ll just wipe a unit, their only defence is hoping for lots of ones from the chaos player.

  2. steven morrow August 22, 2013 4:35 pm #

    Pathfinders drones Kroot ethereals cadre fireblades firewarriors all don’t like being blinded. You can cripple a lot of tau support staff and gunline with blind. Freeing you to concentrate on the battlesuits for a turn without exposing yourself to massed antipersonel fire. If they use pathfinders for markerlight support it will neuter fire for at least one turn. Marker drone led by commanders wont care but if they are with drones and not broadsides that could be a bonus anyway.

    • Puretide1 August 22, 2013 7:59 pm #

      well I always get a blacksun filter if I run pathfinders, most tau players I know take kroot hounds for a better outflank and drones are I4 so are as likely to be blinded as marines

      • dr.insanotron August 22, 2013 8:35 pm #

        Sure but the Kroot have bigger things to worry about. like say 2d6 str.4 ap5 hits that ignore cover

  3. Gordy August 22, 2013 4:38 pm #

    Deepstriking units is one big reason to keep around a blast weapon or two. Like with Riptides, the HBC might strictly be better, but one with the Ion Accelerator makes it a really bad idea to try any deepstrike shennanigans.

    • Alan August 22, 2013 5:12 pm #

      Definitely. Not to mention, at least for me, the HBC is such a heavy trade off in terms of it basically being a “slowly but surely” suicide machine in terms of the amount of gets hot rolls you are forced to make, an average of 2 per turn if your’e taking the nova’s 12 shots (not to mention nova charge rolls itself). Those S7/8 pie plates are any MEQ/TEQ nightmare, especially for those Paladins.

  4. Black Blow Fly August 22, 2013 5:35 pm #

    Awesome batrep ! This is my favorite 6th edition batrep by far.

  5. steven morrow August 22, 2013 6:02 pm #

    Im just wondering if tau have won a big tournament yet.

    • bogalubov August 22, 2013 6:52 pm #

      The tau eldar combo won the Golden Throne. That combo is currently the deadliest.

      • dr.insanotron August 22, 2013 8:38 pm #

        Tau also won Killadephia, the TSHFT invitational, and the ETC singles event. So yeah some pretty good events

        • steven morrow August 23, 2013 3:24 am #

          ok thanks guys. I havent seen much information on most tournaments beyond golden throne.

      • Reecius
        Reecius August 23, 2013 9:24 am #

        I agree that they are the top of the pile at the moment.

  6. Jeremy Veysseire
    MikhailLenin August 23, 2013 10:04 am #

    Btw you only get 1 Deny the Witch for Nova Powers. You pick your best available roll once.

    • Jeremy Veysseire
      MikhailLenin August 23, 2013 10:04 am #

      I should add that if you fail the Deny, the power will trigger against all units within range.

    • Reecius
      Reecius August 23, 2013 11:00 am #

      Pg. 68 BRB, top right, “If a psychic power targets two or more units, each affected unit can attempt to Deny the Witch…”

      • steven morrow August 24, 2013 8:25 pm #

        Each units denies the witch if they make it that unit is not affected. Deny doesn’t cance the power completely. Look in brb for the deny the witch rule.

        • Reecius
          Reecius August 25, 2013 7:07 pm #

          True, that is what I was saying, too.

      • Jeremy Veysseire
        MikhailLenin August 24, 2013 9:06 pm #

        Why would they write this then?

        Q: If the Blood Lance or Jaws ofthe World Wolf psychic power
        (or any beam power for that matter) passes through more than one
        enemy unit, does my opponent get to make a Denythe Witch roll for
        each unit affected? (p69)
        A: No. The first unit affected by the psychic power can
        attempt to Deny the Witch, but if that test is failed, every
        enemy unit is affected as normal.

        • Reecius
          Reecius August 25, 2013 7:07 pm #

          That is only for that specific power.

  7. Nova Star August 23, 2013 10:35 am #

    3.5 iron warriors called and want their obliterators back lol

    • Reecius
      Reecius August 23, 2013 10:58 am #

      Haha, so true, where’s the Basilisk?!

  8. Nova Star August 23, 2013 12:46 pm #

    In my pants lol, in all seriousness lets do a “retro” day ad use your favorite codex in 6th ed

    • Nova Star August 23, 2013 12:52 pm #

      To clarify I mean favorite codex, as in chaos 3.5 or eye of terror for you 13th company fans

      • Reecius
        Reecius August 23, 2013 9:35 pm #

        I would have to say for me it would be…hmm…second ed Eldar with a Solitaire with power glove, combat drugs, melta bombs and a jump pack! He was beastly!

  9. bugsculptor August 24, 2013 11:35 am #

    Hey Reece – you may want to try out adding a junky aegis line and comms array to this army, this game would’ve been much less rough if your bikes and monolith had both come on a couple of turns earlier…

    • Reecius
      Reecius August 24, 2013 12:03 pm #

      Too true. And it gives me some AA, too. The only issue I was having was who to man it? Necrons don’t really have a good sit back and shoot type of unit.

      • bugsculptor August 25, 2013 9:11 am #

        I don’t think you can do comms and quad gun. You can have one warrior or immortal unit sit back and man the comms array for turns 2-3, then abandon it and port to the monolith once it arrives.

        I think for 70pts, having your monolith on the board for an extra turn or two would be worth trying. If you stack that with deep striking the deathmarks and reserving the bikes, it could be good – I know from tyranids how powerful reserves bonuses can be getting you an extra turn out of deep striking units and helping twice as many threats come on in the same turn. It also gives you an option to place one “relatively safe objective” with an aegis cover save and go to ground by it, forcing the enemy to get to it and clear it out… and as soon as they commit anything to moving that way you can teleport the unit to the monolith anyway!

        • Reecius
          Reecius August 25, 2013 7:09 pm #

          You can’t take both of those unless you have two fortifications.

          I typically don’t deep strike the monolith as it almost always misshaps for me! haha, it’s too damn big.

Leave a Reply