40K Independent Tournament FAQ

bay area open logo

Warhammer 40,000 Rules Addendum

Please note, this is a working draft of the FAQ as voted upon by a council of Independent Tournament Organizers and is subject to change. This overrides any previous rulings I have made. This is also the FAQ you will see at many events, including Adepticon, WargamesCon, Feast of Blades, etc. so the rulings here will be in common use.

Warhammer 40,000 Rule Book

General Principles

  • Being “removed from play” is the same thing as being “removed as a casualty”.

The Movement Phase

  • A Tank is allowed to move through enemy models not locked in close combat when it turns on the spot to “aim” as part of a Tank Shock.  Units moved through in this way count as being Tank Shocked and models in the path of the pivot may make Death or Glory attacks (provided the unit passes its Morale test). [pg. 76, W40KRB]

The Shooting Phase

  • Models that Turbo-boost in the Shooting phase can move any number of inches (up to the maximum for their unit type) in any combination of directions, potentially ending the phase in the exact same position. [pg. 45, W40KRB]
  • When a unit makes a shooting attack, so long as a model in the target unit was within range and LoS of at least one model in the firing unit when To Hit rolls were made the target model may have wounds allocated to it and be removed as a casualty.
  • Ex 1: A unit of 10 Grey Hunters with 8 Boltguns and 2 Meltaguns fires at a unit of Chaos Space Marines.  The Space Wolves player chooses to resolve the Boltgun wounds first.  After armor saves are made for the Boltgun wounds, the closest CSM is beyond the 12” range of either Meltaguner.  This CSM model may still have the Meltagun wounds allocated to it and be removed as a casualty if any one of the Boltgun wielding Grey Hunters had range and LoS to it when To Hit rolls were made.
    • Ex 2: A Space Marine Tactical Squad with 4 Boltguns and a Lascannon shoots at a unit of Ork Boys.  All 4 Boltgun wielding Marines have range and LoS to the same Ork Boy, but only that Boy.  The Lascannon Marine has range and LoS to the entire Ork Boy unit.  All Ork Boys can have unsaved wounds allocated to them and be removed as casualties. [pg. 3, W40KRB FAQ]

The Assault Phase

  • Units are considered to be locked in close combat as soon as any enemy model moves into base to base contact with the unit.  This prevents them from firing Overwatch against other units charging later in the Assault phase. [pg. 23, W40KRB]
  • Units may choose not to make a Consolidation move after winning an assault.  If they choose not to all models in the unit are left in their exact positions.  [pg. 27, W40KRB]
  • If a unit chooses to make a Consolidation move all models in the unit must end the movement 1” away from all enemy models. This means that if a unit chooses to make a Consolidation move it must end the move 1” away from all enemy vehicles, including those it may have just attacked in close combat. [pg. 27, W40KRB]

Psykers/Psychic Powers

  • Multiple instances of the same Malediction cast by different models do stack with each other. [pg. 68, W40KRB]
  • The Objuration Mechanicum psychic power has no effect on Zooming Flyers.

Universal Special Rules

  • If a model with the Swarms special rule is wounded by a template or blast weapon that also causes Instant Death, the number of wounds is doubled and then an entire model is removed for each wound (e.g. if a Helldrake with a Baleflamer causes 3 wounds to a unit of Necron Scarabs 6 Scarab models would be removed as casualties).  [pgs. 16 & 43, W40KRB]
  • A unit can perform a Vector Strike in the same turn that it leaves Combat Airspace.  [pgs. 43 & 81, W40KRB]

Flyers and Flying Monstrous Creatures

  • Any attacks or special abilities that automatically effect enemy units without rolling to hit (e.g. an Ork Weirdboy’s Zzap psychic power, Imotekh’s Lord of the Storm or Njal’s Lord of Tempests special rules) have no effect on Zooming Flyers and Swooping Flying Monstrous Creatures. This is true even if the attacking unit has the Skyfire special rule.  
  • Weapons mounted on a Flyer model can swivel downward up to 45 degrees, even if the barrel on the model itself cannot physically do that. [pg. 72, W40KRB]

Blast Weapons

  • Models completely out of LoS of the firing unit can be hit by a blast template and add wounds to the wound pool for the shooting attack.  However, models completely out of LoS cannot have unsaved wounds allocated to them, and so cannot be removed as a casualties.

Template Weapons

  • Models completely out of LoS of the firing unit can be hit by a template weapon and add wounds to the wound pool for the shooting attack.  However, models completely of out LoS cannot have unsaved wounds allocated to them, and so cannot be removed as a casualties.
  • Template weapons with the Torrent special rule must still abide by all relevant targeting and casualty removal rules of a template weapon (e.g. the firer must have LoS to the first model hit by the template). [pg. 43, W40KRB]

Allies

  • A unit with an allied Independent Character attached cannot embark or begin the game embarked upon a transport vehicle. [pg. 112, W40KRB]
  • Allies of Convenience are scoring units for the purchasing player, provided they meet all requirements to be a scoring unit. [pg. 112, W40KRB]

Fortifications

  • Fortifications are not considered enemy or friendly units, do not generate Victory Points when destroyed, do not trigger effects caused by destroying a unit, and do not count as a surviving model in the purchasing player’s army. [pg. 44, W40KRB]
  • Gun emplacements cannot be targeted by psychic powers, tank shocked, or assaulted.  If while in assault with another unit a gun emplacement is engaged in close combat, attacks may be directed at the gun emplacement as if it was a separate unit.
  • Both players may have a model in base contact with the same gun emplacement (provided they are 1” apart) and both models may fire it in consecutive Shooting phases. [pg. 105, W40KRB]
  • Any model with a BS greater than 0 may fire a gun emplacement, including all vehicles and models without a ranged weapon. [pg. 105, W40KRB]
  • Models on top of a Bastion that are obscured by the battlements receive a 4+ cover save. [pg. 97, W40KRB]
  • Models behind a Bastion and obscured by the building portion of the model receive a 3+ cover save. [pg. 18, W40KRB]
  • Models obscured by a ruined bastion receive a 4+ cover save. [pg. 18, W40KRB]
  • The purchased Comms Relay and gun emplacement for a Bastion must be placed on the model’s roof.
  • For the purposes of movement and unit coherency, treat the Skyshield Landing Pad as a ruin without a base and one upper level.
  • Only models physically on top of a shielded Skyshield Landing Pad gain a 4+ invulnerable save.
  • The shielding walls of a Skyshield Landing Pad are battlements and provide a 4+ cover save to models obscured by them.
  • Models obscured by the leg/pillar portion of a Skyshield Landing Pad receive a 3+ cover save.

Missions

  • Fast Attack and Heavy Support choices count as denial units in The Scouring and The Big Guns Never Tire missions respectively.
  • Fast Attack and Heavy Support choices with the Swarms special rule count as scoring units in The Scouring and The Big Guns Never Tire missions respectively.
  • In The Relic mission, if the relic is dropped because it moves more than 6” in a single phase, then it is dropped from the position where the carrying model began its move this phase.
  • Units embarked on a transport cannot achieve the Linebreaker Secondary Objective for being in the enemy deployment zone.

Drop Pods

  • Models disembarking from a drop pod can make a normal move ending wholly within 6” of the pod.
  • When a drop pod deploys it is treated as suffering an immobilized damage result and removes a hull point.  
  • If a drop pod deploys into dangerous terrain and fails its DT test, it is treated as an already immobilized vehicle suffering a second immobilized result.  It therefore removes two more hull points and is wrecked.
  • If a drop pod is wrecked because of a failed dangerous terrain test, the unit inside is considered to be disembarking from a wrecked vehicle.  They must end their disembarkation move wholly within 3” of the drop pod and take a Pinning test.
  • The doors of a drop pod model are ignored for all game purposes (e.g. they never block LoS, they may not be disembarked from, and enemy models do not need to remain 1” away).
  • A drop pod themed army may only start every unit in reserve if the following conditions are met:
  • Every unit (except Independent Characters) begins the game in their own dedicated drop pod transport.
  • Every Independent Character is joined to a unit inside their own dedicated drop pod transport.

[pg. 36, W40KRB]

Black Templars

Blood Angels

  • The Blood Lance psychic power has no effect against Zooming Flyers and Swooping Flying Monstrous Creatures.

Chaos Daemons

  • When Chaos Daemons are taken as an allied detachment two Daemonic Heralds may still be taken as a single HQ selection.
  • Epidemius’ Tally of Pestilence special rule allows non-daemon models to benefit from Noxious Tough.
  • A unit of Screamers of Tzeentch cannot make Slash Attacks against Zooming Flyers or Swooping Flying Monstrous Creatures.

Chaos Space Marines

  • A model without the Champion of Chaos special rule may attempt a Glorious Intervention to save a model with the Champion of Chaos rule. [pg. 65, W40KRB]
  • Two Independent Characters with different Marks of Chaos can both join the same unmarked unit.
  • A marked Independent Character from the Chaos Space Marines codex cannot join a unit from the Chaos Daemons codex without a mark but devoted to a different god (e.g. Lucius the Eternal cannot join a unit of Bloodletters).
  • Force weapons cannot cause Instant Death to Kharn the Betrayer even if their strength is double his toughness value (e.g. a Nemesis Daemonhammer). [pg. 59, C:CSM]
  • A Warpsmith cannot use a fire point to curse an enemy vehicle with the Master of Mechanism’s special rule while embarked on a vehicle.
  • Plague Zombies can man gun emplacements and fire emplaced weapons. [pg. 105, W40KRB]
  • LoS for a Helldrake with a Baleflamer is drawn from the head of the model.  The head has a 360 degree LoS and ignores the rest of the Helldrake model when drawing LoS.
  • Models with a Chaos bike may use their twin linked bolter as the replacement when the Chaos Wargear Lists says, “a model can replace one weapon with…”
  • A Dimensional Key does not override the effects of the Jamming Beacon wargear on a Land Speeder Storm.

Dark Angels

  • Dark Angels units using the Deathwing Assault special rule are ignored for the purposes of calculating the number of units that may be held in Reserves.
  • A unit containing Belial that uses the Gate of Infinity psychic power to Deep Strike does not scatter.  Also, the unit does not need to roll to see if a model is claimed by the warp.
  • Ezekiel does benefit from the Book of Salvation wargear effectively making him WS6. [pg. 54, C:DA]
  • A Deathwing Terminator model can take a Cyclone Missile Launcher and a Thunderhammer & Storm Shield. [pg. 99, C:DA]
  • The following weapons are considered to be Boltguns when using the Standard of Devastation; Boltguns, Twin-linked Boltguns, Master-crafted Boltguns, Hurricane Bolters, and Combi-weapons (when fired as a Boltgun).  Also note that the terms Boltgun and Bolter are always used interchangeably.
  • The Shroud of Angels special rule means that two Ravenwing Darkshrouds within 6” of one another give each other Stealth.   This Stealth stacks with the Shrouded the Dark Talons already have. [pg. 49, C:DA]

Dark Eldar

  • The Penetrating Blade special rule applies to all of Lelith Hesperex’s attacks, even ranged attacks. [pg. 49, C:DE]

Eldar

  • An Eldar Independent Character joined to a Dark Eldar unit cannot be the target of a psychic power that must be cast on an Eldar Unit.[pg. 39, W40KRB]
  • An Eldar unit with a Dark Eldar Independent Character joined to it can be the target of a psychic power that must be cast on an Eldar Unit.  While joined, the effects of the psychic power apply to the Dark Eldar character. [pg. 39, W40KRB]  
  • Phoenix Lords do not directly convey their unit benefits to non-aspect warrior units.  However, if a Phoenix Lord has a special rule that would apply to any unit they join, those rules do apply to non-aspect warrior units joined by the Pheonix Lord (e.g. Khandras does not give the Stealth special rule to a unit of Guardians.  But if Khandras joins a unit of Guardians the entire unit benefits from Stealth while he is attached.). [pg 54, C:Edr]
  • If Prince Yriel chooses to use his Eye of Wrath wargear while he is involved in a challenge, place the large blast template normally.  The enemy model also involved in the challenge is treated as being in a separate unit from any other units hit by the template.  Wounds are then determined normally for each effected unit, removing casualties in order of closest to Prince Yriel.  Using the Eye of Wrath in this way allows Prince Yriel to wound models not directly involved in the challenge.
  • Cover saves may not be taken against Prince Yriel’s Eye of Wrath attacks.
  • A Swooping Hawk unit that uses the Skyleap special rule to go back into reserves goes into Reserves, not Ongoing Reserves, and will therefore need to roll to return to the table on turns 2 and 3. [pg. 35, C:Edr] 
  • Vibro Cannon attacks have no effect against Zooming Flyers and Swooping Flying Monstrous Creatures.
  • A model with the Eternal Warrior special rule still dies automatically and is removed if it fails its leadership test after being wounded by a Diresword. [pg. 30, C:Edr]

Grey Knights

  • Allied units cannot benefit from the Grand Strategy special rule.
  • A Neural Shredder uses the majority leadership of the target unit when rolling to wound.

Imperial Guard

  • Valkyries and Vendettas cannot outflank. [pg. 4, C:IG FAQ]

Necrons

  • If a model with the Reanimation Protocol special rule is part of a unit caught in a Sweeping Advance, do not place a Reanimation Protocol or Ever Living counter next to the unit.
  • A successful Feel No Pain roll does not negate the armor reducing effects of the Entropic Strike special rule.
  • If a Cryptek or any Independent Character is joined to a unit of Deathmarks that model also benefits from the Hunters from Hyperspace special rule.
  • A Doom Scythe’s Death Ray is a hull mounted weapon.  The initial point for the Death Ray can be anywhere within 12” of the weapon, and the second point anywhere within 3D6” of the first.  However, only models in the Doom Scythe’s LoS and range (the greater of 24” from the Tesla Destructor or the variable range from the Death Ray) can have unsaved wounds allocated to them and be removed as causalities.  For casualty removal purposes the Death Ray’s range is 12” plus the 3D6” rolled when picking the second point.  Vehicles completely out of the Doom Scythe’s LoS are unaffected by the attack. Note that the Death Ray line may still pass over models completely out of LoS and cause hits for that unit.  But in order to cause any casualties the unit must have some models in LoS and range of the Doom Scythe.
  • The player whose turn it is determines whether the effects of mindschackle scarabs and whip coils are resolved before or after models involved in a challenge are moved into base to base contact. [pg. 9, W40KRB]
  • When Mindshackle Scarabs are controlling a Deathwing Knight either the Necron or Dark Angels player can choose to activate the unit’s Smite Mode, and all Deathwing Knights in the unit must follow suit. However, if one player is striking at a higher Initiative step than the other player (e.g. the mindshalked Deathwing Knight is also being affected by a whip coil), then whichever mode the first attacking Deathwing Knight(s) choose to attack in will apply to all Deathwing Knights from the same unit.
  • The Chronometron wargear can only be used on rolls of a single D6 (e.g. an armor save) not rolls that use multiple dice (e.g. a leadership test).

Orks

Sisters of Battle

  • If Saint Celestine is turned into a Squig by the Zogwart’s Curse special rule in the Orks codex her Miraculous Intervention rule is effectively ignored.  The Miraculous Intervention rule is triggered when she is removed as a casualty, this does not happen with Zogwort’s Curse.  However, she is not considered “destroyed” until the squig is destroyed.  But even after the squig is destroyed she cannot use Miraculous Intervention to return to the game.
  • If Saint Celestine is turned into a Chaos Spawn using the Boon of Mutation special rule in the Chaos Daemons codex she is considered to be removed as a casualty.  Place the Miraculous Intervention counter at the spot where she was turned into a spawn and roll normally for her return. The spawn version of Celestine remains in play whether or not she returns to the game.  This means there could be multiple spawn versions of Celestine on the table.
  • Attacks and special rules that reduce a characteristic or apply an ongoing effect to Saint Celestine (e.g. the Entropic Strike special rule) still apply if she returns to the game via Miraculous Intervention.

Space Marines

Space Wolves

  • If an Ally of Convenience casts a psychic power within 24” of a Runic Weapon the Space Wolves player must roll a D6, and on a 4+ (3+ for Njal) that power is nullified.  This is done instead of the Deny the Witch roll the opposing player would normally make.  [pg. 112, W40kRB]
  • Jump Infantry is a subclass of Infantry, and therefore Jump Infantry models are affected normally by the Jaws of the World Wolf psychic power.

Tau Empire

Tyranids

  • A Tervigon cannot spawn Termagants in the same turn that is uses the Gate of Infinity psychic power.
  • Units with the Stubborn special rule ignore the Deathleaper’s It’s After Me rule when taking Morale or Pinning tests.

Tags:

About Reecius

The fearless leader of the intrepid group of gamers gone retailers at Frontline Gaming!

80 Responses to “40K Independent Tournament FAQ”

  1. Sean Ireland February 14, 2013 12:56 pm #

    It’s nice to see that even though GW has utterly failed the community with it’s unwillingness to release a set of rules that work for tournament play the community is putting in the effort.

  2. Eben February 14, 2013 1:08 pm #

    I may not agree with them all, but appreciate that there will be consistency across events.

    • Vidar February 14, 2013 1:57 pm #

      Yea, I dont agree with all of these but any port in a storm…

  3. fluger February 14, 2013 1:23 pm #

    I’m so glad you have this:

    The Movement Phase
    •A Tank is allowed to move through enemy models not locked in close combat when it turns on the spot to “aim” as part of a Tank Shock. Units moved through in this way count as being Tank Shocked and models in the path of the pivot may make Death or Glory attacks (provided the unit passes its Morale test). [pg. 76, W40KRB]

    It’s a great simplification of the rules.

    • Reecius
      Reecius February 14, 2013 2:59 pm #

      Simplification was one of our primary guidelines as we look at this as TOs dealing with large number of people, most of whom don’t know the rules intricately.

  4. SCP Yeeman February 14, 2013 1:36 pm #

    For Big Gunz and Scouring missions are ALL Fast Attack and Heavy Support choices Denial units? Or, are all non-vehicle Heavies and Fast Attack Denial units?

  5. Ataraxean February 14, 2013 1:50 pm #

    I appreciate the effort that is going into this. There are a few rulings that I dislike, but none that I disagree with. Keep up the good work. Thanks man!!

  6. shoe February 14, 2013 1:59 pm #

    I think your downward fire arc ruling on the weapons for flyers should be changed. The aircraft could be thought of as being in a dive at the time it is shooting and could therefore be targeting any model within its forward field of view.

    • Reecius
      Reecius February 14, 2013 2:59 pm #

      We discussed this one at length, and decided on this as the simplest solution that would cause the least confusion. Not everyone is going to agree with these, but that is just the way it is going to be, unfortunately. But, as others have said, better something than nothing. This gives us a framework within which to work.

      • Hulksmash February 14, 2013 3:04 pm #

        I agree with the arc ruling. It allows people to bring a template for it and simplifies arguments. Lord knows telling people about only having a 45 degree arc was annoying already. This would clear it up.

        • Hulksmash February 14, 2013 3:04 pm #

          And it’s just an extension of the existing rules.

        • Reecius
          Reecius February 14, 2013 3:11 pm #

          Yeah, from having judged man tournaments, that was one of the biggest argument starters. This makes it much simpler.

          • Hippesthippo February 14, 2013 8:33 pm
            #

            This one is very clear. It is right in the rules on pg 72. 45 degrees in ALL directions.

            I have had to show this to many players, and have the trig written out with a diagram on a notecard for easy reference in order to demomstrate how far away a flyer must be to have LOS.

            As soon as I show it to players, they immediately agree. I have never had any arguments.

  7. Hulksmash February 14, 2013 2:16 pm #

    Kudos to you guys for giving this a go. Might want to touch on the Space Wolf double HQ for allies since you did for Chaos Daemons. It’s under the GW FAQ but not blantantly spelled out. Also Relic/Flyer/Night Scythe issue as you can techinically now take the relic into reserve by embarking on and crashing your own scythe by RAW.

    Not a fan of the tankshock ruling but I can see where it comes from. It does open up other issues though. Would you also ignore vehicles? They can’t be tankshocked and therefore should not be movable but the ruling implies they would.

    I just flatout disagree with these:

    Blast Weapons

    •Models completely out of LoS of the firing unit can be hit by a blast template and add wounds to the wound pool for the shooting attack. However, models completely out of LoS cannot have unsaved wounds allocated to them, and so cannot be removed as a casualties.

    Since the rules say you can hit and wound units out of range and line of sight I’m unsure why that’s being ignored for the purposes of this ruling.

    •Fast Attack and Heavy Support choices count as denial units in The Scouring and The Big Guns Never Tire missions respectively.

    The rules are pretty explicit about scoring and denial units. Troops are specifically mentioned as both for a reason. I feel this is a rule change, not a clarification.

    Just my thoughts. Again guys though, kudos on getting this thing together. It’ll be nice for the sake of consistancy at major events.

    • Reecius
      Reecius February 14, 2013 3:01 pm #

      And I do convey issues brought up to the council, so feel free to speak up, everyone.

      And we knew not everyone would agree with these, unfortunately nothing could be done about that.

      • Hulksmash February 14, 2013 3:06 pm #

        It’s more that I’m cool with clarifications. But outright rule changes make me uncomfortable. And both of the mentioned ones are rules changes. Though the blast one is more open than the denial one as it’s written funny.

        • Hippesthippo February 14, 2013 8:35 pm #

          I agree wholeheartedly. These are blatant changes. I can quote the rulebook when I get home if necessary.

          • Adam Fasoldt March 6, 2013 11:56 am
            #

            Actually, the way the BAQ FAQd it is the way I interpreted it. The book says that models can be hit and wounded, but follow normal wound allocation rules which would mean models out of LOS can’t have wounds allocated to them.

    • fluger February 14, 2013 6:57 pm #

      The Space Wolves HQ question is answered in the last Space Wolves FAQ:

      Q: Does the The Leaders of the Pack special rule still apply to Space
      Wolves taken as an Allied detachment? (p81)
      A: Yes.

      • Hulksmash February 14, 2013 9:44 pm #

        I agree. But some people don’t understand the Leaders of the Pack rule and so by extension don’t understand two allied HQ’s. I have problems with some people thinking that units that don’t take up force orgs can’t be taken (i.e. a techmarine in a DA army and a libby). So spelling it out isn’t a bad thing.

        • fluger February 15, 2013 10:51 am #

          I haven’t heard anyone complain about that, ’cause I’m plannin’ on IG+DA with a librarian with invravisor for a shooty blob and the techmarine in another.

  8. winterman February 14, 2013 3:42 pm #

    I’m glad you guys pretty much gave the finger to that horrible shooting range FAQ. Kudos for that.

    “The Objuration Mechanicum psychic power has no effect on Zooming Flyers.”
    While I understand the haywire damage can be argued against via the hard to hit rule, there’s other effects of objuration mechanicum (forcing rerolls to hit if i recall) that should absolutely affect fliers as they do not fall within the domain of hard to hit.

    All in all I think its a good start. I may not agree with some of the rulings but none of them seem off base to me either.

    • Reecius
      Reecius February 14, 2013 6:16 pm #

      I agree on Objuration and made a case for it, but got voted down on this one.

      Like you said though, I take the document as a whole because to me, a unified format is more important than fighting over each individual rule.

    • Hulksmash February 14, 2013 9:42 pm #

      They didn’t give the finger to the FAQ. They explained it for people who didn’t understand it. It’s just the same thing slightly reworded with more examples.

      • winterman February 15, 2013 11:17 am #

        That’s what I get for skimming the thing at work. Yeah so RAW as far as the FAQ, but ignoring RAW in the rulebook. Not a fan of a non-errata rewriting rules and overridding the rulebook but it is what it is.

  9. Doc February 14, 2013 3:50 pm #

    Thanks for the hard work getting these up before the BAO. New we can all play by the same rules.

    Thanks
    Doc

    • Reecius
      Reecius February 14, 2013 6:14 pm #

      You’re welcome, Doc!

  10. Captn Dees February 14, 2013 4:24 pm #

    “When a drop pod deploys it is treated as suffering an immobilized damage result and removes a hull point.
    If a drop pod deploys into dangerous terrain and fails its DT test, it is treated as an already immobilized vehicle suffering a second immobilized result. It therefore removes two more hull points and is wrecked.
    If a drop pod is wrecked because of a failed dangerous terrain test, the unit inside is considered to be disembarking from a wrecked vehicle. They must end their disembarkation move wholly within 3” of the drop pod and take a Pinning test.”

    I get the RAW behind this, but the RAI is pretty horrendous.

    • dr.insanotron February 14, 2013 5:30 pm #

      Drop pods have 3 HP not 2 so that could never happen

      • Captn Dees February 15, 2013 7:50 am #

        I believe it can be destroyed since on your second Immob you lose 2 hullpoints. So insta -1 hp for landing, something you HAVE to do. Then if you scatter in to difficult you take a dangerous terrain test. Then you suffer another immob result, -1hp, but since you are already immob -2. Destroyed.

        I think that is just silly. I could live with maybe the -1 on landing, or maybe the -2 if you roll a 1 in difficult. But losing the thing on landing is silly.

        10 ton Drop pod hurtles through the atmospher and lands on a wooden fence, wrecks it, and pins space marines. Sounds just like it is intended.

    • Reecius
      Reecius February 14, 2013 6:14 pm #

      Yeah, I don’t like this one either, but I accept the rulings of the council for solidarity. It is pretty brutal, but honestly, it doesn’t come up that often. You have to go into dangerous, then roll a 1. Not super likely to happen.

      • Captn Dees February 15, 2013 7:51 am #

        Which only means it will happen. You’ve seen my dice rolls.

        I’m sure that will give up first blood as well, just for kicks!

  11. ACBrown February 14, 2013 5:22 pm #

    Thanks for all the hard work!!!

    • Reecius
      Reecius February 14, 2013 6:13 pm #

      You are welcome, sir! It took bloody ages to do, but it’s coming along well.

  12. dr.insanotron February 14, 2013 5:34 pm #

    I dont under stand how they are saying that it would be 2 more HP on the pod it doesnt make any sense. 1 for being immobilized and then 1 for falling the dangerous terrain test where is the third HP coming from?

  13. dr.insanotron February 14, 2013 5:45 pm #

    Also you guys need to read the Daemon FAQ. No IC from any other codex can ever join a unit from codex Daemons period. So it doesn’t matter what mark they have they can never join

    • dr.insanotron February 14, 2013 6:05 pm #

      never mind just found where they are getting this from

      • dr.insanotron February 14, 2013 6:13 pm #

        I meant never mind to the drop pod question not the daemon one

  14. Shinkaze February 14, 2013 6:05 pm #

    Gun emplacements cannot be targeted by psychic powers, tank shocked, or assaulted. If while in assault with another unit a gun emplacement is engaged in close combat, attacks may be directed at the gun emplacement as if it was a separate unit.

    How do you end up engaged with it if you never can assault it and it isn’t part of a unit?

    • Shinkaze February 14, 2013 6:05 pm #

      Also why is it ok to cheat into HtH with it but not be able to charge it in the first place?

      • Reecius
        Reecius February 14, 2013 6:12 pm #

        People have been putting their own quad gun in the middle of the board and charging it to get extra movement. This argument is actually a lot more complex than just this one issue, to be honest, it was about whether or not a gun was a unit at all, if so what type, what that implied to other rules, etc. We decided to rule them as not being units at all, therefore you could not initiate a charge against them. This answers a LOT of other questions about the weapons that you may not be considering in the context of this one issue.

        • Hippesthippo February 14, 2013 8:40 pm #

          Basically, you can only assault enemy units. Very silly. In the back of the book in the section describing terrain, it describes using an “neutral” fortification “not owned” by either player.

          To me, this makes it obvious that fortifications are indeed “owned” by players and as such, you can assault only gun emplacements in your opponents army list.

  15. Azgrim February 14, 2013 6:52 pm #

    I believe that the Necron FAQ and your FAQ say the opposite when dealing with ever-living

    [BOA FAQ]
    If a model with the Reanimation Protocol special rule is part of a unit caught in a Sweeping Advance, do not place a Reanimation Protocol or Ever Living counter next to the unit.

    [Sweeping Advance pg 27]
    …….The destroyed unit is immediately removed as a casualty….

    the last line where is says nothing can save the unit from this stage refers to the removed as a casualty part, which is countered by Ever-living

    [Necron FAQ]
    Q : IF an entire unit including an attached character from a Royal Court , is wiped out , do you get to make any Reanimation Protocol rolls.

    A:You would only get to make on roll for the character as he has the Ever-living special rule.Note that in this case he must be placed within 3″ of the counter as his unit has been wiped out.

    [Your FAQ]
    Being “removed from play” is the same thing as being “removed as a casualty”.

    [Reanimation]
    When a model is removed as a casualty

    • Reecius
      Reecius February 14, 2013 7:37 pm #

      This isn’t the BAO FAQ, this is the FAQ being used for most of the major events in the country, and it’s not “my” creation, but that of a council of TO’s. I do not change anything here on my own, nor did I rule on anything here on my own.

      I will bring up issues to the council, though.

  16. Azgrim February 14, 2013 7:09 pm #

    I also disagree with
    “jump Infantry is a subclass of Infantry, and therefore Jump Infantry models are affected normally by the Jaws of the World Wolf psychic power”

    Jump infantry has its own Unit Type entry as does Jet pack in the same way Monstrous creatures and flying MC are their own entries and are thus not the same thing

    The jet bike argument can be explained by Bikes and jet bikes are in the same entry thus are a “sub category ‘

    • Black Blow Fly February 14, 2013 9:22 pm #

      I concur – they are not in the same class.

    • Hulksmash February 14, 2013 10:05 pm #

      Jump Infantry follow the rules for infantry with the jump rules added in per the rulebook. While not specifically a sub category (as in it doesn’t say subcategory) they are in fact a subcategory of the larger category, Infantry. To quote “Jump is not a category in and of itself”. Same as Jet actually. Flying MC’s don’t have that subtext in their opening paragraph.

      FAQ’s are needed sometimes so every understand the rules they are reading.

      • BBF February 15, 2013 4:36 pm #

        That’s not correct, the entry says they follow the rules for infantry and jump infantry.

  17. Aventine February 14, 2013 7:26 pm #

    You should double check your clarification on Chaos characters joining Daemon units… that is already specifically precluded in existing GW FAQs (Daemons cannot join CSM or vice-versa, at all)

    Page 27 – Daemonic Rivalry.
    The second paragraph should be changed to: “Independent
    characters in this list cannot join units of Daemons belonging
    to a different Chaos God, units of Furies of Chaos, or any allied
    units. Equally, allied independent characters may never join
    units chosen from Codex: Chaos Daemons”.

  18. Reecius
    Reecius February 14, 2013 7:46 pm #

    Hey guys, bear in mind a few things:

    1.) I am 1 member of the council of TOs, I do not unilaterally make decisions. We vote on most of these issues after a lot of debate.

    2.) No decisions were made arbitrarily and a lot of the rules questions are a LOT more complex than it appears when taken in the context of a single instance of the rule. The rules interact with one another and a lot of decisions have to be made for consistency across multiple iterations of a rule and in different context.

    3.) Every effort was made to be fair, and there was no agenda to change the game in any way.

    4.) Try to look at this from the perspective of a TO, not a player of a specific army. People get mad when a rule affects their specific list, often failing to see how it affects the game as a whole.

    5.) No FAQ will make everyone happy.

    And please bear with me, I am getting blasted with questions across multiple websites right now.

    • Darthdiggler February 14, 2013 8:04 pm #

      You were the impetus for this from early on. You advocated for it and you were the driving force behind it. You published it on your website and you will be held responsible because you are the face of the FAQ. Just like Jon was the face of the INAT.

      To think you would not be attacked for this is a little nieve right? I’m not attacking you for the FAQ at this time, just pointing out how this works in life.

  19. Darthdiggler February 14, 2013 7:59 pm #

    I do not understand the shooting phase FAQ. If one model has range to the targeted unit, then all weapons do? So if I have a tactical squad with one Lascannon and 9 boltguns, I can shoot at an Ork unit 47″ away and the Orks have to take boltguns casualties? Am I reading this wrong?

    • Hulksmash February 14, 2013 9:54 pm #

      Your reading it wrong. And here I thought they made the GW ruling clearer but some people still have issues.

      The idea behind the clarification and GW’s ruling is that a model has to be in range of the opponent to shoot. As long as a model was in range of a single enemy model from a unit when rolling to hit then his shot can hit anyone that was in range of any member of his unit. Hence the lascannon example. Another one would be:

      A PCS squad with 4 flamers and a bolter. The four flamers alone would only be able to kill people in range of the flamer template. However because of the bolter the wounds can now move beyond just that range.

      Not sure if that’s clearer or not but yes, you are reading it wrong.

      • Darthdiggler February 15, 2013 3:19 am #

        I get it now. Thanks.

        • Fleahost February 15, 2013 6:06 am #

          I guess I’m reading it wrong too. Just because a unit has a weapon with longer range than other models in the unit it makes no logical sense that it extends ranges to any other models. In the example of the flamers I would rule that only that one model could be removed by said flamers regardless of how many wounds were caused. In the case of the meltas, the shooting player would then normally cause the other player to roll the saves against melta wounds first or risk losing the wounds. If only 2 models were within 12″, and he decided to resovle bolter wounds first, it would be possible to remove models within melta range.
          The drop pod ruling is a fail too. The drop pod might suffer an immobilized result when landing but it doesn’t suffer a penetrating or glancing hit when it lands. The loss of the hull point is a result of the hit suffered, not the landing. I could maybe go for the hull point loss for the dangerous terrain landing, but more beer is required.
          Yeah, I’m whining, but i truly do appreciate the work you guys did. I look forward to the revisions!

          • Hulksmash February 15, 2013 11:33 am
            #

            Cept that’s not how GW ruled it. GW has written clearly how it wants this handled. The FAQ is for people who don’t understand the GW FAQ.

            (This is regarding the shooting part of your comment. The pod comment makes sense to me but it’s not a re-write of an existing rule)

  20. Hippesthippo February 14, 2013 8:46 pm #

    Who, exactly, is on this almighty “council”? I appreciate the effort, but at least a little transparency seems appropriate here.

    Your ruling on ICs from allied codex joinging Daemon units really hurts your credibility quite a bithere… It’s written out straight up that allied ics cant join daemon units.

    • Hippesthippo February 14, 2013 8:50 pm #

      To reiterate. I do appreciate the immense effort a project like this can take. I ain’t tryin to hate, just offering my opinions.

  21. dr.insanotron February 14, 2013 8:53 pm #

    The one suggestion I would make is that the council decide if they are going to make decisions based on RAW or RAI and judge everything based on that decision, it really does seem that some of these rulings are made using RAW and then others are using RAI I think this kind of inconsistency on rulings can make it seem like the council is picking favorites, I know this is not the case and think you guys are headed in the right direction and I am on board with my full support.

    Good job

  22. Pascal Roggen February 14, 2013 8:57 pm #

    good work as a FAQ, thanks for the time. one of my niggles was the, ain a drop pod themed army you can only start off the board if.

    Well what if it’s a flyer army with a few drop pods? the faq question

    Q: Do units that are transported in a vehicle that MUST start in
    reserve count towards the number of units that can be placed in
    Reserves? For example, must I count the units in a Drop Pod or
    Valkyrie towards the 50% of units I can place in Reserves? (p124)
    A: No.

    so if you have 4 valkyries and 4 drop pods with units in each and that’s your army, you can start completely off the board.

    I guess what I’m asking is, if this faq is meant to simplify stuff, why is it making it more complicated? the basic GW Faq covers it perfectly, and there’s no need for the term”drop pod themed” and all that guff about dedicated transports etc etc.

    “is your unit in a transport that must come in from reserves? if yes, it doesn’t count for your 50% limit”

    is that too hard?

    Don’t want to sound snarky, text can sometimes come across as such, I’m just wondering where that section came from, it seems unnecessary.

    Thanks again for all the work:)

  23. KellyJ February 15, 2013 12:01 am #

    Pg 105 of the BRB states Gun Emplacements can be assaulted AND attacks auto-hit.
    If the intent is to prevent shenanigans like setting up your ADL at the limit of your table half, then moving/assaulting the gun, killing it, then consolidating (for a potential 18″-22″ first turn move) then the ruling should be that you can’t assault any Gun Emplacements that were purchased as part of your FOC.

  24. Emperor's Canaries February 15, 2013 2:09 am #

    First of all, thanks for this FAQ. We will probably start using it in my local 40kNation Chapter. It clears up a lot and is more specific. I don’t agree with everything(ID 2 scarab bases from str 6 template) but I understand where almost all of it is coming from. So this obviously isnt an attack, just asking if you know why a few things are ruled a certain way.

    The only things that I was a bit confused on were the following rulings, which I will probably change for my group:

    1.The whole thing with Drop Pods HP seems completely absurd and unnecessary.

    2. Can dedicated Drop Pods to Fast Attack/Heavy units score/deny in Scouring/Big Guns?

    3.Not an actual problem, but noxious touch has a typo.

    4.Why does a Dire Sword cause instant death on models with EW? Sounds more like it is causing ID than removed from play.

    5.Why can’t Valkyries/Vendettas outflank?

  25. Schadenfreude February 15, 2013 4:37 am #

    Can part of an IG platoon embark in a flying transport?

  26. Schadenfreude February 15, 2013 4:41 am #

    Is a charge still successful if after snap fire/wall of death no models in the charging unit have line of sight to the unit they are charging?

    Does wall of death need line of sight to the charging unit? RAW wall of death mentions nothing of range, los, or other shooting restrictions.

  27. Schadenfreude February 15, 2013 4:43 am #

    Are immobile artillery pieces auto squashed by a successful tank shock? Same question for gun emplacements.

  28. Douglas February 15, 2013 8:30 am #

    Do allies of Convenience units (which count as enemy units) contest objectives held by scoring units in your primary detachment?

  29. Rich with GSI February 15, 2013 11:12 am #

    Why change the “Helldrake may measure from 360 degree of base to target” rule? It was just faq’d a little while ago wasn’t it? Are you guys “fixing” the ruleset or just nailing down ambiguities?

    • winterman February 15, 2013 11:29 am #

      They didn’t change it. The FAQ never addresses where you actually determine LOS from. You have to look from a point on the model. The base is never stated as the point you look from, just the place where you measure range.

      • Rich with GSI February 15, 2013 2:44 pm #

        So, Range would be measured from the base but LOS is figured from the head in 360 deg fashion?

        In the FAQ it says “sight” in the Q and “range” in the A. The Q is what has me thinking this clarification is not necessary. But, OK. Makes sense, I suppose. Thanks!

        • winterman February 15, 2013 3:19 pm #

          Yeah it’s kinda goofy, but then again GWs latest round of FAQs seems like its written by an intern rather then whoever has done the rest of the 6ed FAQs (which are oddly quite solid in comparison).

  30. dr.insanotron February 15, 2013 3:32 pm #

    Here is another question. Do you guys have something in place that says a ruling is over turned if GW puts out a FAQ that rules something different then your ruling?

    • dr.insanotron February 16, 2013 12:49 pm #

      Speak of the devil. GW just put up new FAQ’s

      • Reecius
        Reecius February 16, 2013 1:26 pm #

        I swear, the last three times I have mentioned working on an FAQ publicly, GW comes out with an update within a day or two. It doesn’t fail! haha

  31. KellyJ February 15, 2013 7:27 pm #

    Valks/Vends have the Scout USR. Scout confers Outflank.
    So why can’t they outflank?
    And if that is the case, does that rule apply to other vehicles with the Scout USR put in reserve (Baal Predators, Space Marine Land Speeders, Eldar Warwalkers, Rhinos taken as Dedicated Transports for Scout units)?

  32. Schadenfreude February 16, 2013 9:05 am #

    It’s a circular argument on outflanking Vendettas. Both sides have a valid RAW interpretation, strict RAW I guess the no outflank crowd have a slight edge, and the pro outflank argument of “Why didn’t they just errata away the scout rule?” is logical, but RAI. The debate can go on forever, or until a TO makes up his mind. The pre tournament FAQ is very helpful. I would rather have a ruling be unfavorably against me 2 weeks before the GT than waste precious game time waiting for a ruling.

    Speaking of Vendettas I worded a question poorly. If part of a platoon embarks in a flying transport that’s not a dedicated transport does the transport then have to obey the deployment rules of the platoon/does the transport and platoon have to deploy together?

  33. Stelek February 16, 2013 11:38 am #

    Funny, I’m not included, which is fairly normal.

    But you don’t include Mike or Ed?

    LOL

    • scpyeeman February 17, 2013 10:12 am #

      what tournament do you run?

  34. KellyJ February 16, 2013 11:36 pm #

    Well, the new FAQ is out and here is our Eratta:
    Remove SCOUT USR from Valks/Vendies.
    So that is a dead issue now. No more Outflanking IG Flyers…
    But Space MArines get Storm Ravens now.
    Time to take another long look at my Salamander list.

  35. James July 31, 2013 1:18 am #

    GW FAQ:- page 7. FAQ. Q:- if a vehicle suffers the effects of a crew shaken, crew stunned weapon destroyed or immobilised result from the vehicle damage table, does these automatically mean that it loses a hull point. A:- No, unless it specifically suffers a clancing or penetrating hit, or some other effect that specifies that a hull point is lost.
    http://www.games-workshop.com/MEDIA_CustomProductCatalog/m3170233a_40K_RULEBOOK_v1.4_APRIL13.pdf

Leave a Reply