Signals from the Frontline: List Review, New Releases, Dark Angels Preview

Signals from the Frontline

Signals from the Frontline

Signals from the Frontline: List Review, New Releases, Dark Angels Preview

Press play to listen to the podcast!

Tags:

About Reecius

The fearless leader of the intrepid group of gamers gone retailers at Frontline Gaming!

13 Responses to “Signals from the Frontline: List Review, New Releases, Dark Angels Preview”

  1. Paul Cornelius December 22, 2012 7:42 am
    #

    Wow! Good work ethic, Frankie!

    • Reecius
      Reecius December 22, 2012 10:25 am
      #

      He does indeed have an impressive work ethic.

  2. Kralizak December 22, 2012 2:36 pm
    #

    Well I like the Tyranid list review 🙂

    for the reference, Gargoyle rule is called “Blinding Venom”

    • Reecius
      Reecius December 23, 2012 1:31 pm
      #

      Thanks for the clarification, and glad you enjoued it the review!

  3. Troy December 23, 2012 6:45 pm
    #

    Question for the FAQ as I cant find the article to post it up.

    If I Doom a unit, can I rerool successful To Wound dice? Question is for something like the Nightspinner. If I reroll successful Wounds I get a higher chance of getting a Rend.

    If you say no, can you quote me where it says you can’t? Page 5 says you can pick and choose which dice to reroll. Under Doom it says to reroll To Wound dice, nothing about failed To Wound rolls.

    Thanks!

    • Reecius
      Reecius December 24, 2012 10:59 am
      #

      The common interpretation is that it is only failed to wound rolls, as the book defined rerolls that way. However, I will look further into it, though.

  4. Troy December 24, 2012 2:46 pm
    #

    Pg 5 BRB:

    “In some situations, the rules allow you to pick and re-roll a dice. This is exactly what it sounds like- pick up the dice you wish to re-roll, and roll it again. The second roll counts, even if it means a worse result than the first…”

    I think that is clear, I just know some people think it is “unsportsmanlike.”

    I think the common interpretation is true until a situation like this occurs. If I wound on 2s with a Nightspinner, I should reroll all non-rends in hope fo getting more Rends while still only not wounding on 1s. I think it is a sound strategy and is legit to do.

  5. Omegaprime December 25, 2012 4:41 pm
    #

    If the Nightspinner hits a targets that has had Psychic “Doom” cast upon it by a Farseer and the Nightspinner wounds on a 2+ you don’t get to re-roll all non 6’s. You’d only be allowed to re-roll 1’s as they are the only rolled dice that failed to would the target, period. I question your “common interpretation” statement of the Doom special rule power located in the Eldar Codex. Its pretty cut and dry. Its not a “legit” interpretation of the Psychic Power.

    The rule you’re trying to use to prove your point relates directly to Guided or Twin Linked weapons out of the core rule book.

  6. Troy December 25, 2012 5:14 pm
    #

    Show me where it says that you can only reroll failed To Wound rolls…. Unfortunately, you cannot because there is no such rule or wording anywhere in Doom, The Nightspinner entry, the Re-Roll entry on page 5 of the BRB, or anywhere for that matter.

    Nowhere does it say you must reroll only failed To Wound rolls.

    Pretty “Cut and Dry” where exactly? Read what it says under Doom. Doom states that you can re-roll To Wound. Period. Not Reroll failed To Wound dice, just Reroll To Wound. Without specifying “failed” wounds, you can reroll whatever you want.

    There is actually a Dakka article on this in You make Da Call. http://www.dakkadakka.com/dakkaforum/posts/list/496255.page

  7. Omegaprime December 25, 2012 9:16 pm
    #

    To be fair I read the thread you linked, however are you basing your entire argument off of postings on a dakkadakka thread that doesn’t seem to have a single definitive answer from a GW official? If in fact it turns out you’re either correct (at the moment there’s no mention of anything related to this question on the Eldar FAQ) or Reese decides to rule in favor of such a re-roll for his tournament then Doom could greatly change the outcome of games by re-rolling wounds caused by additional Eldar weapons such as Wraithcannons, D-Cannons (as 6’s cause instant death) as well as rending wounds caused by Night Spinners. As an Eldar player I’d be completely in favor of being able to re-roll wounds in the hope of getting more 6’s when shooting GK Paladins (and Dreadknights for that matter) with my Wraithcannons. However, rules as written for an older Codex? I don’t agree with what’s been stated as a “common interpretation” nor would I abuse the possibility of doing so in a tournament setting unless a ruling had been made on the part of either the tournament organizers prior to the event taking place or an updated GW FAQ. However, having played in at least 15 tournament games since 6th edition was released I’ve never even heard of an argument being made for such a re-roll nor the question ever being addressed.

  8. Troy December 26, 2012 8:55 am
    #

    I think you haven’t heard of it for multiple reasons.

    For one no one plays with the Nightspinner, Wraithguard, or weapon platforms. Those rare people that do probably dont know how the thing is worded.

    Second, no one thinks about re-rolling To Wound rolls because there usually is not a benefit like there is ith the above mentioned units. These are rare cases when such things would be useful to roll successful To Wound rolls.

    Third, not many things have Reroll To Wound. Eldar is a rare codex and unique. I happen to think they did this on purpose. Every unit in the Eldar codex is unique and has a specific role. Doom helps them achieve this role with maximum efficiency. It is devastating.

    You can disagree with me, thats fine. However, there is nothing you can show me to back it up as you said. if you happen to play with some of the mentioned units above, instead of fight it, embrace it. Because it just made those units so much better.

  9. Adam
    Adam December 27, 2012 3:46 pm
    #

    I wouldn’t drop the Crushing Claws, since it’s a modifier it’s going to go after halving your base attacks for Smash, so you’ll end up with 2+D3 S10 Ap2 attacks in combat. I definitely think that’s worth 10 Termagants, or only 5 Devilgaunts.

    • Reecius
      Reecius December 27, 2012 4:20 pm
      #

      You aren’t alone in that, I know a lot of good players who attest to them. I personally just prefer to have more bodies.