Video Battle Report: Necrons vs. Death Guard 1750 BAO Test Match

Video Battle Report

In this 1750 BAO test match, Dan busts out his Crons against Frankie’s Death guard.

Tags:

About Reecius

The fearless leader of the intrepid group of gamers gone retailers at Frontline Gaming!

29 Responses to “Video Battle Report: Necrons vs. Death Guard 1750 BAO Test Match”

  1. SCP Yeeman December 6, 2012 12:24 pm #

    I heard Frankie said the Immortals went back in reserve, you don’t play that they take the hits before they do? Could you explain to me why they wouldn’t?

    Nice report!

    • Reecius
      Reecius December 6, 2012 12:55 pm #

      That is a hotly debated topic. By RAW, they do take the hits, but the weird thing is, what if they then fail a morale check? How do they fall back, or do they just die? It is a very weird situation. I think a lot of players just make it easy and say they don’t, but I do not believe that is the right way to play it.

      • Castle December 6, 2012 1:18 pm #

        Ya this needs a FAQ either way. I play that they don’t take the hits, it just causes less issues and seems to fit the fluff in that the occupants aren’t actually on board the flyer. But seeing as the nightscythe is OP as is I’ll play that they take the hits if my opponent wants, its one way to help lower just how cost efficient the scythe is.

        As for the morale check, I don’t think they would take a check since they are never deployed.

        • Reecius
          Reecius December 6, 2012 1:35 pm #

          Right, but if in a movement or shooting phase a unit takes 25% casualties, it must take a check. It fulfills the requirements for taking the morale test. The morale rules make no exception for being “off the board” so to speak, it is just a situation that comes up so rarely that it is not addressed in the rules.

          • Hippesthippo December 6, 2012 1:44 pm
            #

            I’m pretty sure they faqed it already. They go back in reserve.

          • Reecius
            Reecius December 6, 2012 1:53 pm
            #

            Unless I missed it, it’s not in the V1.1 FAQ

          • Castle December 6, 2012 1:45 pm
            #

            Fair enough, I guess the way I would read into the situation is though that since the unit is never deployed during the phase it has no starting strength for that phase and thus it can’t take 25% casualties off of a undefined starting strength.

          • SCP Yeeman December 6, 2012 2:07 pm
            #

            I believe they take the hits. The argument saying they aren’t onboard is pure fluff and should be thrown out. The codex even states that they are onboard.

            It is true about the morale thing and pinning thing, but what do you do if the whole unit is wiped out? if the unit is wiped out, no need for a morale.

            I would honestly say no morale check or Pin would be given as they go back in reserve and it is not needed. They can come back on the board with x number of guys in the unit from whoever survived.

            This was a huge question I have and very hotly debated as you have said. I like Castle’s explanation a little though i don’t feel it can really completely suffice as an answer.

            I have not seen it in an FAQ nor is it in one now.

            how are you guys going to rule this? This is one of the questions that my group has been wondering as well. Either way you rule it is fine, just as long as there is no flip flopping and what not. I can respect each side, just wouldl iek an answer either way.

          • Reecius
            Reecius December 6, 2012 3:39 pm
            #

            I believe that we will rule that they do take the hits, but most likely will not take any morale checks as a result of the damage. That is not official, but I believe we will rule it that way. We are working on an FAQ.

          • jy2
            jy2 December 6, 2012 4:31 pm
            #

            Don’t forget…how do you resolve Reanimation Protocols? You can’t really put down those markers since they’re not on the board, can you?

            It really makes it much simpler if you just play it as they go back into reserves without damage when their ride gets shot down. Just the opinion of a humble necron hybrid airforce player. 😉

          • Reecius
            Reecius December 6, 2012 8:04 pm
            #

            haha, and with no bias whatsoever! We’re not decided on it yet, but we will have our FAQ up as soon as we’re able.

          • Hippesthippo December 6, 2012 6:40 pm
            #

            Seeing as how every major tournament thus far has ruled they go in reserve as is, that seems kind of silly. People are already playing it a certain way with no problems. The likelihood of GW faqing it otherwise and going against their fluff is zero.

            Further, the fact that there is no reasonable way to apply the damage results would indicate that GW did not intend for them to take damage.

            Just my 2 cents.

          • Reecius
            Reecius December 6, 2012 8:03 pm
            #

            Like I said, we haven’t made our minds up yet. I was just answering off the cuff. We are writing a FAQ for the event, and will have answers to this, and many other questions up before the event.

          • SCP Yeeman December 6, 2012 6:49 pm
            #

            No markers means no RP.

            If 40k was ruled by Occam’s Razor, than maybe easier would be better. Don’t forget this is GW.

            There are perfect ways to apply damage results, Str 10 hits to all passengers. The problem lies in what to do with morale and LD checks.

            the question shouldn’t be whether they take damage, because it is clear they do by RAW, but what happens as far as morale and LD checks go.

          • Hippesthippo December 6, 2012 8:04 pm
            #

            Notice how I said results?

      • skoffs December 15, 2012 11:30 pm #

        Wait, if they take damage when the N.Scythe crashes, why do no survivors climb out of the crash wreckage?

        (most obvious answer: they were never in the N.Scythe in the first place, and therefore should not be taking crash damage).

        • Reecius
          Reecius December 17, 2012 12:38 pm #

          Right, but, the rules specifically say they are in the vehicle. It is a really weird situation, the rules and the fluff say the exact opposite thing.

  2. Castle December 6, 2012 1:13 pm #

    Good report, chaos looks decent, think you have too many points into the demon prince though. Not sure what the purpose of the monolith deep striking into his own deployment zone was, if your going to deep strike it, then deep strike it forward. Otherwise he just lost too many turns of shooting it, he really should have targeted the zombies with the mono to ignore FNP.

    Was really surprised by just how dominant the obliterators were, they seem like a great unit, took out the AV14 box with shooting and defeated the CC specialists in CC and were even decent against the flyers. They might be chaos’s best unit, you should probably fill out that second squad.

    • Reecius
      Reecius December 6, 2012 1:37 pm #

      Frankie has always used 6+ Oblits and they come through in a big way, every single time. They are extremely good, even better now that they can take MoN to avoid ID. Their susceptibility to morale is their biggest weakness, now.

  3. Defeatmyarmy December 6, 2012 4:23 pm #

    Yes, units in night scytyes take hits before going back in reserve. If they fail morale and are pinned they cannot reemerge as the flyer explosion wipes the unit. That is how I played them after discussing it with Doug Johnson after the box caster tournament. Since they are pinned they cannot go into reserve and are stuck in the flyer when it explodes, no rule book on hand but I think that means the units wiped….

    • Defeatmyarmy December 6, 2012 5:50 pm #

      After retreading the necron codec it specifically states “if the night scythe is destroyed, the embarked unit is not allowed to disembark, but instead enters reserve(when they arrive, they cannot deep strike.)”

      Nowhere does it read: ignore any damage, immediately enter reserve before damage taken, or ignore any morale and pinning checks needed…just like all other transports.

  4. Kurt December 6, 2012 6:18 pm #

    Right out of updated rulebook….If the night scythe is destroyed, the embarked unit is not allowed to disembark, but instead enters reserves( when they arrive, they cannot Deep Strike).

    Means they NEVER arrive, not on the table period…

    • Defeatmyarmy December 7, 2012 1:53 pm #

      @ Kurt: I finally read up on everything, thanks man. Looks like pinning is nullified as it states pinning checks are after disembarking, but it sounds like they still take damage if a vehicle explodes. Because it places them back in reserve before the end of the shooting phase, it might also prevent reanime protocols…this bs is still a grey area on if they take damage or not. Being a necron player, I don’t think it sounds fair, but well just have to play the FAQ from team zero comp for the bao; they try to be fair on rulings but whatever the ruling for the tournament, so be it.

      • SCP Yeeman December 7, 2012 2:53 pm #

        There shouldnt be a grey area on if they take damage that is clear and RAW. They are embarked, and their flyer transport gets blown, so they take hits.

        The only question is about Morale and Pinning.

  5. Defeatmyarmy December 7, 2012 4:22 pm #

    Pin check is after disembarking, so there is no pin check since they NEVER disembark. However, as they take s10 hits with no armor saves allowed, RAW would point to yes, they take a morale check if they survive. Because they are not disembarking no markers can be placed and the end of the shooting phase they cannot rp since the unit is not on the field. Sorry for the confusion, just been researching on my lunch breaks at work.

  6. Defeatmyarmy December 7, 2012 6:31 pm #

    Lol because i did not know this during my game with Frankie, my army survived. We forgot about the flyer explosion, he just rolled to wound like a normal transport….he definitely tabled me if we had researched this before the game! Rofl new rules new lessons

  7. Kurt December 9, 2012 4:09 pm #

    They are not embarked

    • Defeatmyarmy December 10, 2012 10:49 am #

      They are embarked, they are moved into reserved after the vehicle takes damage. Why else would it say the night scythe is a dedicated transport and so you can only “deploy” the dedicated unit inside it at the start I the game?

      • SCP Yeeman December 10, 2012 11:21 am #

        And the codex says they are embarked.

        That’s the best evidence. Kurt read the codex… Read what it says. It tells you they are embarked.

Leave a Reply