40K Video Battle Report: Dark Harliestar vs. the B Team!

Video Battle Report

Frankie and Reece duke it out in a Feast of Blades practice game. Frankie busts out his notorious Dark Harliestar and Reece blows the dust off some of his oldest models to give the old boys a run!



About Reecius

The fearless leader of the intrepid group of gamers gone retailers at Frontline Gaming!

27 Responses to “40K Video Battle Report: Dark Harliestar vs. the B Team!”

  1. edwi September 23, 2012 11:25 pm #

    can the harlistar have the dark eldar components be fortuned along with the squad now? I thought the FaQ said only eldar could get the bonuses of fortune.

    • Reecius September 24, 2012 11:44 am #

      BRB states that an IC joining a unit, becomes a part of that unit for all rules purposes. The Harlie are Eldar, the IC becomes Eldar, and benefits from Fortune. The rule didn’t change as we read it. You just can’t target DE units.

      • bugsculptor September 24, 2012 7:06 pm #

        Hey Reece, I’m a tiny bit disappointed in you and Frankie ruling that way. I think you should drop the harliestar, as it’s clear the intention of this round of FAQs was to be pro-active about closing down deathstar wound allocation. That there’s now a tinier loophole that still exists doesn’t affect that it wasn’t meant to be there. I think there’s still plenty of grey area around your interpretation – you could quite easily rule that the presence of a Dark Eldar character means the unit is of mixed type (ie/ not eldar) and therefore can’t have fortune cast on it while Vect is tagging along. An IC joining a unit means that some special rules are shared and not that any models actually change ‘type’.

        As tournament organisers, why not take the position that 6th isn’t supposed to be about wound allocation loop holes and show us some more army concepts that work without them.

        • Reecius September 25, 2012 1:01 pm #

          I truly understand your position as I do not at all like the rerollable 2+ saves. That was the one big rule that they missed this time around, but a lot of units can do it still which is why we rules it that way. Any unit that has a 2+ and can take prescience can get a 2+ reroll. It sucks, and it isn’t fun.

          However, for us to rule that Eldar/Dark Eldar couldn’t do it, would be going against the rule pretty blatantly and it would be punishing that one unit, even if I personally would like to do it. I don’t think it would be the right ruling. I think the FAQ only meant to say that Eldar powers wouldn’t work on Dark Eldar units, but a DE IC joining an Eldar unit still becomes Eldar per the BRB.

          Also, the other TO’s that I have spoken to are ruling it the same way, so it’s not just us.

          • bugsculptor September 26, 2012 10:29 pm

            Ok… I can respect your decision and I guess I’ll have to get used to that still existing until GW fix it. It’s not a huge deal, but it’s irritating to have the promise of the FAQs yanked away by poor wording.

            I don’t have much of a problem with 2+ re-rollables as AP2 exists as a counter and a re-rollable nothing is still a nothing. As far as I know there’s only a single 2++ rerollable in the game and it’s now down to Vect when he’s allied to an eldar unit. Close that loophole and wound allocation is pretty hard to abuse.

            I don’t know where you’re getting Vect’s unit type being eldar when he’s attached. I’ve never seen anything to suggest a model’s intrinsic unit type changes… in fact, 6th edition makes a point of saying movement type (jump/bike etc) can still be used by a model when it is attached as long as it retains coherency. Dark Eldar players would still state that special rules like power through pain and night vision apply to him whilst attached, so I honestly don’t see why the effects of a power that can only be cast on Eldar units should apply to him. A consensus TO ruling is what it is and I’d respect it, but I don’t think it’s fun or in the spirit of what GW were trying to do.

          • Reecius September 28, 2012 10:34 am

            PG 39, BRB

            “When an independent character is part of a unit, he counts as a part of the unit for all rules purposes…”

            That is the part that seals it for us. Feast of Blades rules it the same way.

            I don’t like it, Archons (or any units with a 2+/2++ with a reroll are pretty obnoxious, IMO.

          • Alex Yuen September 28, 2012 1:12 pm

            I don’t think is poor wording. I think is just a 4th book trying to fit into 6th ed and not everything fit. GW wants allies IC benefit from P.power in allies unit. Is just in this one case is too powerful. if gw try to fit every over power and under power combo then is too much to fix and cause confusion.

            I think gw is saying this works 90% and just leave the bad 10% for now. in a few months all those new codecs will fix most of those problem so why create a problem when it will be iron out in a few months.

          • Reecius September 28, 2012 4:17 pm

            I agree. I think once the new Eldar dex comes out (rumored to be in mid 2013) I will bet money it goes away.

  2. Douglas of Wolfbrothers September 24, 2012 4:43 am #

    Local store wont let me re roll vects invul with fortune. wtf. good stuff ya’all

    • Reecius September 24, 2012 11:41 am #

      There’s no rules justification for it. I could see someone saying that from a fairness perspective, but it is a house rule at that point, IMO. I am OK with that, so long as everyone knows what to expect up front, but it will confuse people not local that come to play.

  3. Amberclad87 September 24, 2012 4:58 am #

    Good to see Batreps again. I’d be interested to see how multiple leman russ’s do seeing as most people are switching to more anti-infantry than anti-tank in their list building.

    • Reecius September 24, 2012 11:40 am #

      My mind went the same direction! I have 7 Russes, so I want to try some more out, for sure. With Heavy, they are really, really good.

  4. Red Corsair September 24, 2012 7:55 am #

    This was great fun! Thanks as always boyz!!!!!!!

    • Reecius September 24, 2012 11:40 am #

      Glad you enjoyed it!

  5. Rich with GSI September 24, 2012 3:01 pm #

    How many points was this? What point level is most used in 6th, so far?

    • Hippesthippo September 24, 2012 5:32 pm #

      This is 2000. The tournies I’ve played have all been 1500 so far, but I got a few 2ks lined up before FoB (which is 2k).

      Seems like most tournies are starting to ramp back up to 1750+ which is nice. 1500 is really cramped.

      • Reecius September 24, 2012 6:03 pm #

        Yeah, I prefer 2000pts, but it is too much for our events. We find 1750pts is perfect.

  6. Hippesthippo September 24, 2012 5:30 pm #

    You guys playing in the open or invite? Would love to grab a beer with ya either way.

    I’ll be playing in the invite. Hopefully y’all are right about plague marines.. I’m taking quite a few on foot with flying lash and necron flyers. FoB format does seem to favor lots of tough scoring units.

    • Reecius September 24, 2012 6:03 pm #

      I won’t be there, but Frankie will. Hit him up, he’d love to grab a beer!

      • Hippesthippo September 24, 2012 6:20 pm #

        Well, looks like my plans have changed. FoB is using the new Chaos Codex. Their website said a new codex must release 1 month before the event in order to be legal, but they’ve conveniently deleted that.

        Twenty days to build, test, and paint a 2000 pt GT level army. Greeeeaaaaat. How quickly can you guys paint? Haha.. May have to hit you up again..

        If you were a TO, how would you handle a release like this?

        • Reecius September 24, 2012 6:59 pm #

          We’d allow it, too. Most of this stuff is going to be really familiar for people anyway unlike a book like DE, for example.

          And we can paint quite quickly if we need to!

          • Hippesthippo September 24, 2012 8:41 pm

            Fair enough. The issue has been resolved. Chandler was very understanding and gracious. I might have to put an order in with you guys soon.

          • Reecius September 25, 2012 12:26 pm

            We hop you do! We always appreciate the business!

  7. Douglas of Wolfbrothers September 25, 2012 4:57 am #

    What pts do you think for BAO? What types of DE lists did those jokers at Comikaze throw down with?

    • Reecius September 25, 2012 12:24 pm #


      Foot Deldar and Blackmoor’s Jetbike/Bastion Deldar.

  8. Douglas of Wolfbrothers September 25, 2012 5:28 am #

    It also looks like there was only two armies with allies at Comikaze!?! really?

    • Reecius September 25, 2012 12:23 pm #

      Yeah, most folks didn’t use them. We had IG/Orks and a few Eldar/Deldar and that’s all I can think of off of the top of my head.

Leave a Reply