40K: Black Blow Fly Clarifies Wound Allocation and Look Out, Sir.

A guest editorial by BBF from Terminus Est.

Quite a few people (un included) misread the Look Out, Sir rule. BBF here does a good job of clarifying how it works. 

The term unsaved wound only comes into play when you have a unit that all models have the same armor save. This is when you can allocate a wound after a failed save.

(Example 1) 10 tactical Marines suffer 10 wounds and they fail 3 armor saves. The sergeant is the 2nd closest model. The closest model dies first then the sergeant can allocate a wound on the roll of 4+ on 1d6. If successful you can transfer the wound to another model, if not, the Sarge dies.
(Example 2) 5 Thunderwolf Calvary have an attached Wolf Lord who does NOT have runic armor. They suffer 6 wounds and fail 2 armor saves. The Wolf Lord is the closest model and since he has multiple wounds he would suffer the loss of 2 wounds. However you can use Look Out Sir! (each on the roll of 2+ on 1d6) to a Thunderwolf after the failed the saves. Had the Lord had a 2+ save, a wound allocated to him would be differed to another model on a 2+ BEFORE rolling his saves. 
You allocate wounds before saves in a unit that has more than one type of armor save.

(Example 3) 10 BA tactical Marines are attached to a Sanguinary Priest in terminator armor. The Priest is the second closest model. The unit suffers 10 wounds. Closest model is allocated each wound 1 at a time until he makes them all or dies. In this example he saves the first two then fails the third along with FNP. Now the Priest is closest and there are 7 saves left to make. Either he can make them one at a time until he makes them all or dies, or you can use LoS rolls first. In this example we allocate 2 LoS rolls making saves on two Marines at 3+ and then 5 saves on the Priest. If at any point the Priest fails one of the five saves then the remaining wounds will now have to be saved on the next closest model, etc.
Thanks, BBF!

Tags:

About Reecius

The fearless leader of the intrepid group of gamers gone retailers at Frontline Gaming!

7 Responses to “40K: Black Blow Fly Clarifies Wound Allocation and Look Out, Sir.”

  1. joe drache July 6, 2012 8:06 am
    #

    so, what can you not do with wound shenanigans? you cant fail saves in multi-armor groups and then LoS the failure?

    im still confused, whats the right and wrong way in complex units?

    i saw in the book, you can LoS an “allocated” wound or unsaved wound, meaning you can do it before or after you fail it.

    if a small blast hits a unit surrounding its 2+ captain, does everyone take a hit, or does he take them all?

    • hyv3mynd July 6, 2012 8:21 am
      #

      You can only LOS a failed save if the character has the same save as his unit. If he has a different save than the unit, you must LOS before the save is rolled.

      Blasts are allocated as any other shooting, closest to the firing unit first unless it’s a barrage, then it’s closest to center.

      • Reecius
        Reecius July 6, 2012 11:23 am
        #

        Barrage sniping is RIDONCULOUS! Such a dumb rule.

      • joe drache July 6, 2012 1:47 pm
        #

        it says: when a wound or unsaved wound is allocated to your char.,he can attempt LoS. where do you see the differentiation of not being able to fail it first? just trying to understand this. both of their examples are useless, and they should clearly state what you can’t do… thanks

        • Reecius
          Reecius July 6, 2012 1:55 pm
          #

          It is confusing and a lot of folks are getting it mixed up, but I think BBF has it here. You have to roll all like saves at once, this is where the discrepancy lies.

          • jose August 22, 2012 7:19 pm
            #

            I dont see where/jpw this is being supported by the rulebook. Is there anyway someone could post pages. I just see that it says “wound (or unsaved wound)” and then going back to the wound section it states you allocate first and then roll but never mentions you CANT take look out sirs after each failed wound. Just looking for clarification.

          • Reecius
            Reecius August 22, 2012 8:44 pm
            #

            It depends on if the Character model has the same or different save than the squad he is with.