Chapter Tactics #104: The Great Tournament Coverage Episode

Chapter Tactics is a 40k podcast which focuses on promoting better tactical play and situational awareness across all variations of the game. Today Peteypab, Reece, the Falcon, and Skari go over the results from ten 40k GTs tournaments that happened this past weekend. They also cover hot topics like meta analysis, tips for attending tournaments, Ynarri not posting a single undefeated score, and more!

Need help with a list idea? Got a rules question? Want to talk tactics? Then sign up for our Patreon where you can join our official Facebook group page, get in contact with all the show’s co-hosts, watch exclusive content, and win free prizes!

Show Notes:

 

 

Tags:

About Petey Pab

Aspiring 40k analyst, tournament reporter and Ultramarines enthusiast, Petey Pab only seeks to gather more knowledge about the game of 40k and share it with as many people as he can in order to unite both hobbyists and gamers. We are, after all, two sides of the same coin.

21 Responses to “Chapter Tactics #104: The Great Tournament Coverage Episode”

  1. Nightman March 5, 2019 3:14 am #

    Great show!

  2. JimV March 5, 2019 8:43 am #

    I dedicated my win to the Falcon. All hail.

  3. Ryan Beaver March 5, 2019 10:45 am #

    Feels bad when they cover top 3 at every event except CagBASH, the event I took third in. LOL.

    • Petey Pab
      Petey pab March 5, 2019 12:44 pm #

      Oh no! Don’t think I didn’t notice you though! That name immediately caught my eye.

      • Ryan Beaver March 5, 2019 1:39 pm #

        My one chance to be internet famous, ruined by a Canadian tangent.

  4. David March 5, 2019 1:27 pm #

    Reece’s intro could be the Imperial March from Star Wars. Should match the bonkers conspiracy theories minded view people have about him.

    • Reecius
      Reecius March 5, 2019 2:26 pm #

      lol, that would be pretty good!

  5. Ben E Jurek March 5, 2019 6:10 pm #

    Great show, Glad you guys liked the list.

  6. Alex Repeck March 6, 2019 6:05 am #

    Love the show. It’d be great if you guys could do a quick segment about what all the terminology means. Yall keep using terms like “move lock” , “Net-list” , and even “ETC” that I only vaguely understand. Maybe each episode do a quick over view of these terms for us new to the scene?

    • Reecius
      Reecius March 6, 2019 8:49 am #

      Good point.

    • abusepuppy March 6, 2019 9:22 am #

      It’s not a full primer, but to at least fill a few gaps:

      Netlist: to copy an army from someone else, especially an army that is popular in the meta as a whole. Can be either a verb (“he’s netlisting”) or a noun (“dude brought a netlist to the tournament”).

      ETC: The European Team Championships. A large team tournament in, you guessed it, Europe, that plays under very different rules than most stateside tournaments do. America, Canada, and several other nations host their own versions of it as well (ATC, CTC, etc.)

      Move block: placing one or several units in close proximity to an enemy unit such that it is effectively unable to move, or to move in a particular direction (since it cannot pass through them.) Obviously only works against non-flying units. Most commonly done to things with big bases, like Knights.

  7. Pyrothem March 7, 2019 1:15 pm #

    Great show guys. I will try a Necron Flyer list soon and see what the fuss is about. Took a few before CA and they always popped turn 1 and 2 and seemed like a waste of points but I am willing to give it a go. As far as Reece saying the DoomsDay Arks are immune to Casty the Knight that is mostly false: They are T6 and 4+ and with the plasma gun Quantum Shielding will not save you and mostly it is just small arms that seem to pop them pretty easy. 😛

  8. Jackson March 9, 2019 2:55 pm #

    Hey Reece; is there a FAQ on Summoning where it can happen turn 1?
    Can you summon out of your deployment phase?
    i have searched everywhere and cant see any wording any way.

    • abusepuppy March 10, 2019 4:30 pm #

      At LVO, it was ruled that you were allowed to summon on turn 1. I think that is the correct interpretation, although some other tournaments have ruled the opposite.

      I’m not sure what you mean by “summon out of your deployment phase.”

      • Dakkath March 10, 2019 7:08 pm #

        I think he’s asking about summoning outside your deployment zone on turn 1.

        • rvd1ofakind March 10, 2019 9:46 pm #

          Reinforcements – anything set-up mid game
          Tactical reserves – units that are put into reinforcements during deployment. This is where all the deepstrike restrictions are

          Summoning is reinforcements(can be shot with auspex and can’t warptime) but it doesn’t meet the requirements to be tactical reserves.

          • Ty March 11, 2019 5:49 pm
            #

            The Big FAQ 2018 says “units that arrive as reinforcements must now wait until the second battle round to do so”.

            So if summoning is reinforcements then they must wait until the second turn.

          • Reecius
            Reecius March 12, 2019 8:26 am
            #

            Summoning isn’t considered reserves.

          • AllHail March 12, 2019 1:19 am
            #

            The Big FAQ 2018 says this: “Furthermore, in matched play games, units that are not placed on the battlefield during deployment in order to arrive on the battle mid-game as
            reinforcements cannot arrive on the battlefield during the first battle round.”

            Summoned units are never set up during deployment so they cannot be “not placed on the battlefield during deployment in order to arrive on the battle mid-game as
            reinforcements”. So they are free to be set up on the battlefield in battle round 1. If you are going to quote freely available PDFs at least be accurate.

      • Reecius
        Reecius March 12, 2019 8:28 am #

        He’s getting mixed up with the rule where you could summon in your deployment zone on turn 1.

        But yeah, straight from the Devs, summoning isn’t considered to be putting units in reserves.

    • Reecius
      Reecius March 12, 2019 8:39 am #

      I don’t think it needs an FAQ, personally. You’re not putting anything in reserves, it’s an in-game ability.

      However, that said it is in the latest FAQ on the topic although IIRC it doesn’t specifically call out Summoning but is covered in the verbiage.

Leave a Reply to JimV