Astra Militarum on the Way!

The mighty Astra Militarum are on the way and they look amazing!

GW continues to drop teasers of what to expect from the hammer of the Imperium and they look to be a mighty force, indeed. For all of you tread heads and guard players out there, I can tell you as a long time fan myself, you are in for a treat! And remember, these go up for pre-order on Saturday, 30th and you can grab yours at a discount in the FLG Web-cart at a discount, every day with FREE shipping on orders over $99 within the continental USA!

First up is my all time favorite regiment and the second army I every owned: Catachans!

These I think will jump out at folks right away as the most useful Regimental Doctrines, but trust me, the others are awesome, too! They are just a bit more subtle. However, the Catachans are extremely good and we will be seeing a lot of them on the tabletop.

Next up, Mordian Iron Guard!

That Grinding Advance rule for the Leman Russes is AMAZING. It makes them truly fearsome tanks and we will be seeing a lot more of the iconic vehicle on table tops! The Codex also features some cool, lesser known regiments, too!

What do you all think of Astra Militarum so far?

Tags:

About Reecius

The fearless leader of the intrepid group of gamers gone retailers at Frontline Gaming!

34 Responses to “Astra Militarum on the Way!”

  1. rvd1ofakind September 26, 2017 8:53 am #

    Can’t wait for this codex. Spoilers: I don’t own a single unit of the army :p

    • David Hayden September 27, 2017 8:17 am #

      I’m really looking forward to it and only own a small army of Tempestus.

  2. Ty September 26, 2017 9:59 am #

    Really curious how Tempestus is going to work as a regiment since they have separate units.

    • Requizen
      Requizen September 26, 2017 1:19 pm #

      Yeah, am I going to be able to take more than just Scions and Taurox Primes? Or will MT detachments be limited to just those?

      • David Hayden September 27, 2017 8:15 am #

        I’d love to run just Tempestus, but the reason I’ve held off and just have a small force is that to me it gets bland at a certain point, when you really only have three units, and two of them use the same figures.

        If I could add in Bullgryns, Psykers, and Valkyries (better ones), I’d be happy. Oddly enough, in the 7th edition Tempestus codex, they often showed the Bullgryns alongside the Scions, with matching color schemes.

  3. Jural September 26, 2017 11:01 am #

    I hope they finally buff conscripts!

    • Reecius
      Reecius September 26, 2017 2:46 pm #

      lol

    • Nick October 4, 2017 8:11 am #

      What are you talking about, conscripts are broken for what they can do, put a commissar behind a 50 man blob on an objective and they can repel any infantry and soak up enough hits to just not-care, they’re 150 pts. If anything they should be nerfed and guardsman players should have incentive to run normal infantry units.

      • Reecius
        Reecius October 4, 2017 8:24 am #

        You can’t take 50 man units, anymore. 30 cap.

      • LoTy Hicks October 4, 2017 9:16 am #

        Sarcasm is hard for some people.

  4. Beau September 26, 2017 11:39 am #

    I may have to counts as my many Cultists = Veterans and Plague Reaper = Shadow Sword and get some games in with this codex.

  5. fluger September 26, 2017 11:50 am #

    Love the Guard. I like the revealed rule that Leman Russ main guns fire twice if they move slowly. Amazing.

    • fluger September 26, 2017 11:50 am #

      I own 13 Leman Russes.

      • Riddip September 26, 2017 12:33 pm #

        Wow, 13. I am only at 3 for my genestealer cult, i hope the gc index gets an update/faq to use the improved leman russ as cult vehicle.

        • Jural September 26, 2017 1:29 pm #

          I think it doesn’t need to be updated- as it allows a detachment of Astra Militarum, which the new Codex would allow?

          I’m going off the top of my head here though- it will be interesting to see how they interact.

        • Threllen September 27, 2017 1:22 pm #

          It doesn’t need an update/FAQ. The GSC in Xenos 2 just say you can include one Astra Militarium detachment for every GSC detachment you have. So you could use all of the new rules for the AM from the new codex (including regimental doctrines, orders, etc).

      • Jural September 26, 2017 1:59 pm #

        “I own 13 Leman Russes”

        You… you win, lol! That is an impressive number, was it for a spam build a few editions ago, or is a modeling thing?

      • Reecius
        Reecius September 26, 2017 2:45 pm #

        Leman Russes are incredibly good.

  6. Beaton September 26, 2017 12:24 pm #

    Does Defensive Gunners stack with Mordian Parade Drill?

    So their tanks overwatch on a 4+?

    • Ty September 26, 2017 12:32 pm #

      No reason it wouldn’t.

      • Beaton September 26, 2017 12:44 pm #

        So then they would be open to modifiers like the Ghostkeel – which normally don’t affect Overwatch.

        • Ty September 26, 2017 12:55 pm #

          It specifies that it works during Overwatch.

    • Chad September 26, 2017 1:53 pm #

      Well, other then the fact that a +1 to hit does absolutely nothing during overwatch. Overwatch expressly states that you hit on a 6 regardless of other modifiers. Modifiers, including Parade Drill do nothing.

      Therefore getting +1 unless you also have Defensive Gunners running is useless. Unless another strategem lets infantry and other units hit on a 5 and 6, that will never be helpful for the infantry.

      • Blight September 26, 2017 2:26 pm #

        You left out the unless it explicitly states it does.
        They 100% can have a Lemun Russ hit on 4s if it is within 3″ of another vehicle and you spend the command points.

      • Jural September 26, 2017 3:38 pm #

        RAW, I could definitely see an argument that Parade Drill has no in game effect on vehicles. You add +1 to the roll, but of course only unmodified 6’s hit…

        but I think something else is intended, lol!

        Clearly Defensive Gunners and Parade Drill would stack though, as Parade drill specifically removes the “only on 6’s”…

        Then again, can you roll a 7 to hit? If so, then a die showing 6 would miss and 4s and 5s would hit…

        It’s always amazing just how convoluted things can get if you leave out common sense and just focus on what’s actually written, lol!

        • Chad September 26, 2017 3:47 pm #

          Yeah. I understand the most likely intent, but are you kidding me!? How the hell did they think that was a smart way to word that?

          • Jural September 26, 2017 3:54 pm
            #

            Agreed, and it’s one of those super annoying ones where a quick read you understand the intent, but in the middle of a crucial tournament round you and your opponent start reading into it like…

            “wait a minute…”

            then the judge comes over…

            then the TO…

          • rvd1ofakind September 26, 2017 6:42 pm
            #

            Oh come on. This is the dumbest rules disagreement I’ve ever seen. All codex rules trump rulebook rules.
            Seriously, haven’t you eber seen something this:
            Rulebook: you only draw 1 card during the draw phase
            Card: draw 2 cards during the draw phase
            “Wtf card doesn’t do anything, since I only draw 1 during the draw phase” derp

  7. iNcontroL September 26, 2017 8:32 pm #

    yup guys.. lol. If it specifies “this works during overwatch” then it AMAZINGLY does just that haha. If something just plainly says “+1 to hit” then no. The rule in WH40k has always been default to the more specific rule. If something names a phase and says it works there.. guess what? That is actually what it does!

    • Jural September 27, 2017 12:48 pm #

      I think we all know what it intended. and I wouldn’t play it any other way. But RAW, the abilities don’t do what we think they do.

      In a tournament, I can guarantee I will line up with someone who will argue as follows:

      [I fire overwatch, getting 3 5’s and 3 6’s]

      me: Ok, I hit 6 times

      Opponent: The 5’s don’t hit

      Me: Parade Drill Adds +1 to hit

      Opponent: Doesn’t matter, overwatch doesn’t allow modifiers

      Me: Look at the rule, it obviously applies to overwatch, it says it right there.

      Opponent: OK, I’ll allow it

      Me: well, that’s 6 hits

      Opponent: No, still 3.

      Me: Wait, what?

      Opponent: You are adding 1 to each hit, and only 6’s hit. The 5’s are now 6s, but the 6’s become 7’s.

      Look, nobody is saying this is legitimately confusing, nor am I advocating anyone do this unless they have good dental insurance. We are just pointing out the rule really lends itself to abuse, as it is poorly worded.

      • Ty Hicks September 27, 2017 2:18 pm #

        It’s worded fine if you just read the rule. It says it works during overwatch. No room for interpretation.

        • Jural September 27, 2017 3:25 pm #

          Well, I hope everyone sees it that way.

    • Jural September 27, 2017 12:53 pm #

      And obviously a similar argument with Defensive Gunners when paired with Parade Drill. It may be worse because it clearly says 5 and 6.

      Almost everywhere else in the rules they use 5+. 6+, etc. And previous editions have rules where 6’s always succeed, etc. That is gone in this edition (well, I haven’t been able to find it.)

      Again- if we ever play in a tournament and I personally pull this crap on you, you have my permission to punch my face 😉

  8. CWDub September 27, 2017 4:16 pm #

    The conversions are amazing.. definitely think GW is missing an opportunity by not releasing new plastic kits/upgrade sprues.

    My Genestealer Cult neophytes might have to become an infected Planetary Defense Force, this codex looks bad *ass*.

Leave a Reply