Warhammer 40k Video Battle Report: Daemons vs Grey Knights

Reecius and the Raw Dogger go head to head in a learning game of 8th ed 40k! Daemons vs. Grey Knights.


We have made many improvements to our streaming system since this game! Including fixing the aspect ratio issue (why the video is all square) And we are continuing to stream every weeknight at 5pm PST so come by, link below.


About Reecius

The fearless leader of the intrepid group of gamers gone retailers at Frontline Gaming!

6 Responses to “Warhammer 40k Video Battle Report: Daemons vs Grey Knights”

  1. DevianID June 27, 2017 10:26 pm #

    Fun game! One comment, on the draigo/paladin charge, draigo should have declared both units of wraithguard, since he couldnt be ovwreatched due to range… The paladins charge just the one unit locked in combat so no overwatch onto the wounded paladin. Activate the combats to roll around into the white squad on the pile in so soulburst from the white squad cant shoot the paladins. Combats are crazy hard to maximize in 8th edition.

    • DevianID June 27, 2017 10:50 pm #

      Also, looks like eldrad didnt heroic intervention into base with the dread when the dread and draigo charged, so the dread could have shuffled into the unengaged squad to prevent another soulburst shot, but draigo saved everything anyway so it was ok. Denying soulburst is key. (Also looks like too many flamers overwatched the dread from over 8 inches)

    • Reecius June 29, 2017 6:00 am #

      Yeah, Jason is still learning so there was probably lots of little things he could have done better for sure.

      As you note, you really have to think two steps ahead to make combats work well in 8th ed.

  2. Ahkris June 27, 2017 11:51 pm #

    The “ITC style” roll off for who goes first in this edition does not make the most amount of sense to me.

    In 7th you roll to see who goes first (so if you go second you can deploy accordingly), and then after deployment you roll to seize. So roll for who goes first, deploy, roll to seize. Makes sense to me.

    In 8th with the ITC rule you first deploy, THEN roll to see who goes first, then roll to seize? Seems like you might as well just remove the roll to seize then. Am i missing something? Cheers.

    • Pingor June 28, 2017 3:30 am #

      Remove the roll to seize seems like the best idea ever… Also both players should know who goes first before deploying.

    • Reecius June 29, 2017 5:59 am #

      You leave the Seize roll in because there are rules and models in the game which modify the seize roll. taking it away takes away their special ability.

Leave a Reply