Tuesday Night Fight Replay: Orks vs. Chaos

Ork Kan Wall vs. Mixed Chaos!

 

Tags:

About Reecius

The fearless leader of the intrepid group of gamers gone retailers at Frontline Gaming!

31 Responses to “Tuesday Night Fight Replay: Orks vs. Chaos”

  1. totallynotrvd1ofakind June 7, 2017 10:28 pm #

    Rules questions:
    1. Do non-infantry get cover if they’re just 50%+ obscured?
    2. Do you count movement 3” per floor while moving up or is moving up free? Same question with charging and deepstriking. Do you measure across the ground and then to the floor or from the models up on the ruins to the models on the ground “diagonally”.

    I RELLY like your suggestion for the first turn rule. In the current rules both my armies will go first on a 6 pretty much due to no access transports. If they opponent has even a single transport he can just put all his HQs in it with a unit of troops and have less units to deploy than me 100% of the time.
    Or maybe make them deploy the units in transports 1 by 1 too and make Knights count like 3 units per deployment (but that might get convoluted)

    • Venkarel June 8, 2017 6:48 am #

      From my understanding you are supposed to deploy the transport and anything in it as separate units. So if I had a raider, and I wanted to deploy an infantry unit of 5 models and 3 characters, that would be 5 different units to deploy (1 for the raider +1 for the unit + 3 for the characters). This lets you put out your transports then after seeing how your opponent deploys you can then put different units in each transport dependent on need.

      • totallynotrvd1ofakind June 8, 2017 9:18 am #

        No. It says in the book. WHEN you deploy a transport you say what’s inside. So you don’t deploy them inside seperately. So yeah. Armies without transports pretty much have a hidden “you will only go first on a 6”

        • Reecius
          Reecius June 8, 2017 9:34 am #

          Yes. You deploy a transport with all of its contents at the same time as 1 drop.

          • Venkarel June 9, 2017 11:59 am
            #

            Ahhh it is in the transport rules sidebar, b/c that text (deploy all at once) is not on the mission sheets (deployment section).

    • Threllen June 8, 2017 8:33 am #

      I really like that deployment is a bit more tactical now because it alternates. But I think the “whoever finishes first goes first” is total crap. Total kills armies who have high unit counts or can’t put stuff in reserves. This is definitely something I’m going to houserule…

      How on earth would you ever go first with ‘nids, orks, or daemons (3 armies that really WANT to go first) unless you’re playing an entirely monster-based army?

      • winterman June 8, 2017 9:30 am #

        Putting something in reserves appears to count as a drop (although its not very clear so room for argument without a FAQ) – both missions and units with reserve special rules use the term ‘setup’ when referring to the act of deploying.

        The way embarking reads units inside are part of the transports drop, not something done afterward. The rules read “declare what units are embarked inside the transport when you set it up.” Use of the word ‘it’ vs ‘them’ implies a reference to the transport. So that implies transports + units are done in one step.

        I’d wait to house rule it personally and try it out. AoS has a similar rule (and its even more imbalanced due to battaltions counting as a drop) and while it does cause feel badsies it does cause important list build considerations.

        • Threllen June 8, 2017 9:33 am #

          “Important list build considerations” should be code for “hope to god you have less units than your enemy or you’re going second.”

          My melee army shouldn’t be forced to have a 1/6 chance of going first any time I face a ranged army like Necrons, Space Marines, or Tau that often feature a low unit count because they have expensive and/or large units…

          • Threllen June 8, 2017 9:33 am
            #

            should not be***

          • Reecius
            Reecius June 8, 2017 9:56 am
            #

            Agreed. The go first mechanic is the only one I take issue with. And, 100% of the other play testers agreed on that point.

          • winterman June 8, 2017 11:44 am
            #

            I lean toward changing the first turn thing as well. I locally many have already started doing the aforementioned roll but +1 to finishing first. But I still think playing it and experiencing it first hand before making a judegment is better. Too much knee jerking from people who haven’t played it yet. And despite a great deal of playtesting having the community get a chance to experience why ITC/NOVA/Adept didn’t care for it is important.

          • Reecius
            Reecius June 8, 2017 11:46 am
            #

            Agreed. people need to try it for themselves first, then decide. We will wait to see what everyone wants.

        • Reecius
          Reecius June 8, 2017 9:57 am #

          You count the transport and the unit(s) inside as a single drop.

  2. ChrisG
    Ahkris June 8, 2017 12:45 am #

    I havent watched the whole thing yet, im at the debate about quicksilver swiftness and im sorry Reece but i think you are wrong. The rule says that models with quicksilver swiftness fight first (so round 2 3 4 of combat etc they get to swing first before the alternating starts).

    But then the rule goes on to say “IF THE ENEMY HAS UNITS THAT HAVE CHARGED” which you did “alternate choosing units to fight with starting with the player whose turn is taking place” which would be you.

    So if you charge 5 units into 5 units of slaanesh daemons you do not say quicksilver swiftness all five units of slaanesh daemons go first. Instead the charger goes first with 1 unit, then 1 unit of slaanesh daemons, then a charging unit, etc. And after that you start resolving the combats that were still in place from a previous turn.

    • Blight June 8, 2017 6:39 am #

      I have to agree with him. Looking at all the other similar abilities like toxic lashes they all say to count charging units as always striking first. Still a powerful ability but it doesn’t completely negate the charge bonus. Though the next round those charging units are screwed.

    • Venkarel June 8, 2017 6:49 am #

      I agree with this reading of the rule, it is consistent across faction for all these types of rules.

    • Reecius
      Reecius June 8, 2017 6:52 am #

      I did some asking of the questions and I ALSO agree =) The RAI is that you alternate with charging units.

  3. ChrisG
    Ahkris June 8, 2017 12:57 am #

    Also: awesome video guys! The short form batreps have great quality but its sometimes a bit difficult to gauge what did what exactly and how good individual units performed. Plus this has the bonus of having 2 hours of Reece + Frankie goodness!

    Any chance of seeing typhus plus a bunch of poxwalkers this week? Super hyped for the new Death Guard!

    • Reecius
      Reecius June 8, 2017 6:53 am #

      It is funny to see the Internets going crazy about Poxwalkers as we thought the same thing when we saw them. They’re not OP at all (although they’re damn good!).

      I’m sure Frankie can whip something up with his Death Guard collection.

      Glad you like the videos!

      • ChrisG
        Ahkris June 8, 2017 3:13 pm #

        Yeah the poxwalkers arent the greatest at 6 points per model. At 8 points per model you can have a three wound acolyte. And the poxwalkers just seem too slow for competetive games.

        That being said Typhus + 60 to 80 poxwalkers + plaguecaster + daemon princes seems like a fun list to bring to more casual games. Im just very excited to see Mortarion etc in the future. So yeah a Death Guard batrep would be fun to see the “new” faction in action!

  4. Brutishcard June 8, 2017 7:52 am #

    Enjoyed this stream very much! When you make a disgustingly resilient save, do you make it against wounds? So if a lascannons does 6 damage you make six. ‘Fnp’ saves? Thanks!

    • Reecius
      Reecius June 8, 2017 8:08 am #

      You take it for each wound suffered.

      • Threllen June 8, 2017 8:37 am #

        So is that a yes then? The nomenclature of “wounds” is really confusing and I wish GW had made some modifications.

        As it stands a lascannon has one shot to it rolls to hit and then to wound.

        Your one *wound* then turns into six *damage* which then causes 6 *wounds* onto a model. That makes the verbiage a bit confusing because you had one wound now you have six wounds… They shouldn’t have made the term “wound” describe two different things

        • Reecius
          Reecius June 8, 2017 9:34 am #

          Yes you roll for each point of damage taken. Las Cannon does 5 wound,s you take 5 “FnP” saves.

  5. Threllen June 8, 2017 8:41 am #

    Hey Reece, do you think having more LoS-blocking terrain is important in this edition? Given how relatively difficult it is to get cover bonuses compared to before? I noticed you guys packed your map pretty well.

    • Reecius
      Reecius June 8, 2017 9:34 am #

      You absolutely have to have LoS blocking terrain for fun games, IMO.

  6. TheThievingMick June 8, 2017 10:44 am #

    So, I just realized that Waagh banners apply to walkers, too. I think I just found a way to make Kans nasty in melee.

    • Reecius
      Reecius June 10, 2017 9:27 am #

      Indeed! I didn’t do it but it is awesome.

  7. Neil June 10, 2017 9:23 am #

    Hey guys I really enjoy all the content you guys have been putting up.

    My question is why Reece chose the deployment map? Mission says that the second player “determines” which map is used not chooses. Page 216 says that you “must randomly select one of these deployment maps” it then goes on to say that the mission will determine which player is to roll.

    • Reecius
      Reecius June 10, 2017 9:28 am #

      You are right Neil, I read the mission incorrectly. You roll for it.

  8. james June 14, 2017 9:23 am #

    Do you guys mind posting the ork list?

Leave a Reply