GW Space Wolves FAQ Draft First Impressions

Tags:

About Mariana

Self proclaimed "Swiss Army Nerd"

37 Responses to “GW Space Wolves FAQ Draft First Impressions”

  1. Cephalobeard June 16, 2016 12:22 pm
    #

    I’ve been enjoying these video responses. Really appreciate the extra work, guys!

    • Reecius
      Reecius June 16, 2016 1:37 pm
      #

      Glad you like them!

  2. AngryPanda June 16, 2016 12:45 pm
    #

    Here’s the rule how it should be. But it only counts if your opponent feels like it. Oh GW, bless your hearts.

    • Reecius
      Reecius June 16, 2016 1:39 pm
      #

      I know, right? haha. Would have been easier to simply Errata the Dread profile.

      • Ytook June 16, 2016 3:16 pm
        #

        It’s almost like they think people are decent 😉

        • Reecius
          Reecius June 16, 2016 3:59 pm
          #

          Hahaha, true.

  3. Mythic June 16, 2016 12:58 pm
    #

    So I am having a little trouble understanding the counter charge with ICs ruling. It seemed like every other time we add an IC to a unit it drops the unit’s special rules. Such as skyhammer assault squads not being able to charge out if DS with ICs however in this instance the unit DOES get to charge just the IC doesn’t move? This feels like a double standard.

    Just to clarify I DO NOT WANT Draigo assaulting me turn one from deep strike. Just trying to understand the logic.

    • Reecius
      Reecius June 16, 2016 1:38 pm
      #

      Yeah, that was a weird one.

  4. Requizen
    Requizen June 16, 2016 1:07 pm
    #

    You guys kind of breezed past the final question about joining Deathpack, and I want to point out that it’s kind of contentious. It allows the TWC and the Wolf Lord from that formation to Run and Charge, which is pretty huge. It says attached ICs don’t get this rule, but it doesn’t keep the unit from doing so. Which begs the question – you can attach some other ICs (perhaps some Rune Priests from a Wyrdstorm Brotherhood on Bikes), and as long as they don’t run or shoot in the Shooting Phase, can the TWCs run for the extra distance and then charge? Because if so, that’s a pretty strong unit that can slingshot ICs via their extra D6″ run into Charge, making even T1 charges not too unreliable.

    • Reecius
      Reecius June 16, 2016 1:38 pm
      #

      Good point, that is certainly something we may want to dig in to, further.

    • Aaron Tauer June 16, 2016 5:54 pm
      #

      I hope that you mean ICs that are not part of the formation, because the Wolf Lord that is part of the formation benefits from the formation’s special rules and can join the thunderwolf cavalry and run and charge with them.

      If you did mean ICs that are not part of the formation, then, as I understand the FAQ, they don’t prevent the unit from charging, but they aren’t allowed to charge themselves (much the same as ICs that join a unit of Wulfen using Bounding Lope).

      • westrider June 17, 2016 12:39 pm
        #

        But that’s the entire issue. There’s nothing in the Rules that allows just part of a Unit to Charge. That’s an action taken on a Unit-by-Unit basis, not Model-by-Model.

  5. donthemagnificent June 16, 2016 1:46 pm
    #

    So, is that “Roused to War” rule going to be on the June vote? And when can we expect that vote to hit?

    • westrider June 16, 2016 2:22 pm
      #

      Here’s hoping!

    • Reecius
      Reecius June 16, 2016 3:59 pm
      #

      It will, yes, and the vote will be next week.

      • Dakkath June 16, 2016 9:08 pm
        #

        I’m all for it. And this isn’t just because my first army was a BA 7 dreads + DC for funsies list.

      • winterman June 17, 2016 10:11 am
        #

        You should consider adding hellbrutes into the vote also just for completeness sake.

      • Blight1 June 20, 2016 6:29 am
        #

        It’s been made an official errata now

  6. Nathan Fluger June 16, 2016 2:14 pm
    #

    GW is so hilarious at times.

  7. Nightman June 16, 2016 3:43 pm
    #

    Good job on these quick releases no pun

  8. T6Ted June 16, 2016 5:13 pm
    #

    HAHA that Frankie look about CSM getting the 2 attacks extra.

  9. outlander June 16, 2016 6:12 pm
    #

    has GW given an faq ruling on auras in regards to open topped vehicles yet? I get why they would rule that an aura wouldn’t leave the confines of an enclosed transport, but with open topped vehicles your guys are essentially outside the vehicle like if you were to sit in the bed of a pickup irl.

    • Dakkath June 16, 2016 9:07 pm
      #

      Directly, no. However the trend seems to be “You’re in a transport, you’re effectively not on the battlefield (with these couple of exceptions for shooting)”

  10. Tag8833 June 16, 2016 6:24 pm
    #

    I think the run and charge response was trying to say that attached ICS can’t run, but can still charge so long as the run doesn’t break coherence.

  11. Novastar June 16, 2016 6:49 pm
    #

    So roused to war works for any dreadnought data slate regardless of which kind, so Murderfang is base 6 attacks now right :))

    • westrider June 16, 2016 10:15 pm
      #

      Bjorn, too, or at least that’s how I read it.

      • Novastar June 17, 2016 6:51 am
        #

        100% with you on that

  12. iNcontroL June 16, 2016 8:05 pm
    #

    this was awesome! Fantastic content!

  13. Blightstar June 16, 2016 9:02 pm
    #

    “All Dreadnaughts”
    So… Contemptors with 6 attacks anyone?

    No wait. They arent in BA/SW/GK codexes. Nevermind!

  14. Mirthless June 17, 2016 12:19 am
    #

    Yeah, i would have Roused to War up for a vote.
    Rules as intended, in my honest opinion.

  15. HeavyPlate June 17, 2016 4:07 am
    #

    I’m also enjoying these responses for the meatier FAQS. Keep up coming. Hope we get regular signals as well.
    My two teef on the the stance they are taking on auras:
    The idea that a model in a vehicle, aka not on the board, can’t interact in the game is preposterous, because it happens all the time.
    Everything a marine fires out of a hatch of a rhino,

  16. HeavyPlate June 17, 2016 4:14 am
    #

    I’m also enjoying these responses for the meatier FAQS. Keep up coming. Hope we get regular signals as well.
    My two teef on the the stance they are taking on auras:
    The idea that a model in a vehicle, aka not on the board, can’t interact in the game is preposterous, because it happens all the time.
    Everything a marine fires out of a hatch of a rhino,
    It’s a model not on a table potentially killing another that is.
    And it only gets worse with open topped vehicles. Here’s 20 shoota booyz dakkaing some face, not on the table.
    Or how about the reverse? Models can be shaken while riding in a vehicle, but isn’t actually on the table. Or he’ll, a farmer on an open topped vehicle can kill something not on the table.
    So maybe that’s too far but just my feelings on it.
    Sorry for the double post, I derped.

    • HeavyPlate June 17, 2016 4:17 am
      #

      Note to self:
      Stop posting here on a phone. It never goes well for me.
      Farmer = flamer.
      Among other more embarrassing typos….

      • Novastar June 17, 2016 6:53 am
        #

        Everyone knows you use a heavy farmer to dispatch orks, hopefully one with a higher power level then 5 😉 lol

  17. PrimoFederalist June 17, 2016 9:27 am
    #

    Just found room in my Blackmane ITC list for Murderfang in a Lucius pod. Six base attacks…