GW Space Marines FAQ First Impressions

Reece and Frankie go over the new Space Marine Draft FAQ and share their first impressions on it.

Tags:

About Mariana

Self proclaimed “Swiss Army Nerd”

31 Responses to “GW Space Marines FAQ First Impressions”

  1. Ytook June 9, 2016 3:38 pm
    #

    By the way the apothecary wargear question in the pic is wrongly answered, in the Facebook comments the 40k account said that the answer is supposed to be No.

    • tag8833 June 9, 2016 3:40 pm
      #

      I love how much problem they have generating those pictures.

      They could just do it via text post and it would be so much easier.

      I don’t think they’ve done a set of those pictures yet without having to completely reverse at least one of the answers.

    • EvilCheesypoof June 9, 2016 4:32 pm
      #

      And then they said “sorry please don’t cut off your nartheciums!” lol.

    • White925 June 9, 2016 4:35 pm
      #

      Haha we saw this morning.

  2. EvilCheesypoof June 9, 2016 4:34 pm
    #

    I’m super curious, I was always under the impression that barrage weapons always fire with barrage rules, but you guys mentioned that you allow some sort of “direct fire” in the ITC? I haven’t noticed any mention of that in the rulebook or your FAQs.

    Can anybody clarify this?

    • EvilCheesypoof June 9, 2016 4:41 pm
      #

      To expand further, I know that if you have line of sight you can subtract your ballistic skill from the scatter. Is this all you guys were talking about? Something I heard you mention previously made me think otherwise though like there was a rule I was missing.

      • Gman June 10, 2016 2:53 am
        #

        I would also like a clarification on this. And the interaction with ruins especially, can you fire directly into a ruin placing the blast marker on say the bottom floor of a multilevel ruin (ignoring the barrage rule)?

        What happens to the following “flips”? – What floor do they hit?

        If you get a hit on a “flip” can you choose what floor to put it on?

        • Threllen June 10, 2016 5:29 am
          #

          All templates hit all levels underneath them (clarified in FAQ) so this doesn’t matter as much.

          Also, you can do “direct fire” with a barrage weapon if you can see the target. That means you get to subtract BS from the scatter and you can fire within your minimum range. “Indirect fire” is when you can’t see the target so you don’t get to subtract your BS from the scatter and you can’t fire within your minimum range.

          • Threllen June 10, 2016 5:30 am
            #

            Don’t want to quote the entire rules section, but it’s right there in the very first bullet point under Barrage.

          • Gman June 11, 2016 9:12 am
            #

            In the ITC faq they changed it so it only hits the top level of a ruin. And then they leave the new interactions this causes unanswered.

          • EvilCheesypoof June 11, 2016 9:00 pm
            #

            The FAQ does explain that gman, it says it hit the top level of wherever the center hole is. So if the first shot hits the roof, it hits only the roof, if the next shots flip off the building, those hit the ground.

            So models with roofs over their head aren’t 100% safe from barrage if the center hole hits the ground and they’re under the blast marker.

  3. AngryPanda June 9, 2016 9:03 pm
    #

    I feel like I’m mixing up editions again but with the question about Ordnance weapons and Power of the machine spirit I got to ask, can they normaly fire at all if you moved (combat speed in this case)? I have a no in my head from somewhere but it might be as old as third edition.

    • westrider June 9, 2016 10:28 pm
      #

      Most Vehicles can normally fire a single Ordnance Weapon at Combat Speed. The question is about Cruising Speed, which limits non-Fast Vehicles to Snap Shots.

      • AngryPanda June 10, 2016 2:01 am
        #

        Oh I knew that part. I Just wanted to be sure they can fire at combat speed. Thanks 🙂

  4. AngryPanda June 9, 2016 10:08 pm
    #

    By the way they already rowed back on the special weapons for Apothecaries. In the comments they already went “oh no sorry, we got that wrong please don’t start sawing of the arms of your Apothecaries”.

  5. Frozocrone June 10, 2016 2:42 am
    #

    The best comment I’ve seen is:

    ‘These FAQ#s make me very concerned about 40k community’s ability to read and comprehend rules’

    Which accurately describes my thoughts overall.

    Drop Pods…no. I’ve also seen some people complain about the non-sharing of Chapter Tactics (including with non-Vanilla units).

  6. Kartr_Kana June 10, 2016 5:17 am
    #

    On the issue of one Relic per model, I think there still needs to be more clarification. The question is specifically about replacing weapons with Relics and the answer states that a model may not be ARMED with more than one Relic. However there are some relics like The Armour Indomitus, The Bones of Ozrak, etc., which neither replace a weapon nor a character is armed with. How are they treated? Can you arm a Captain with the Burning Blade and still equip him with The Armour Indomitus?

    • Blight1 June 10, 2016 9:50 am
      #

      The BRB FAQ already covered this. You cannot have more than one relic on a single model. Now if we could just get the Tau FAQ and find out if they really are special snowflakes when it comes to relics.

    • AbusePuppy June 12, 2016 2:06 am
      #

      Q: Can a model be armed with more than one relic?

      A: No, a model can only have one relic.

      Q: But when you say no, was that in response to the phrase “armed with”? Could a model with no arms carry multiple relics?

      A: No, a model can only have one relic.

      Q: Obviously a model with no arms can’t carry any relics at all. But would such a model be allowed to purchase more than one relic from the Space Marines list, presuming they met all other requirements?

      A: No, a model can only have one relic.

      Q: But it would be acceptable to to take one relic from the Space Marine list and one relic from a chapter-specific list, since the individual lists of chapter relics are different from the Space Marine one, right?

      A: No, a model can only have one relic.

      Q: I’m just going to go ahead and buy two relics on my Chapter Master and you guys let me know if I’m doing anything wrong.

      A: For fuck’s sake.

  7. Kartr_Kana June 10, 2016 5:53 am
    #

    Why take Sentinels of Terra? Devestator Centurions as Elite choices baby! 6 squads of grav Centurions in a single detachment!

    I believe that the Clan Raukkan Tech Marines are the same as the old 6th ed Tech Marines. They’re HQ choices that don’t take up an HQ slot and probably only have BS4.

    • Dayone916 June 10, 2016 8:40 am
      #

      They are tech marines exactly as listed in the current space marine codex

    • Threllen June 10, 2016 9:13 am
      #

      Clan Raukaan does not have any unit entries in it. It uses the most current Codex: Space Marines as its basis for statlines/rules. So the Techmarines are exactly as they are listed in the codex.

      • Kartr_Kana June 10, 2016 5:35 pm
        #

        Then what’s the special rule for Clan Raukkan?

    • Maeglin June 10, 2016 10:54 pm
      #

      As per p82 of Angels of Death any Imperial Fist CAD or allied detachment can do that.

      • Kartr_Kana June 11, 2016 2:12 am
        #

        Ah I forgot about that. Welp then there really is no reason to take SoT, guess I’ll just shelve it now.

  8. Ragnulf June 10, 2016 6:23 am
    #

    The Vulkan combi-melta question makes sense. He makes meltas in his detachment master crafted. The question is do the sternguard now get to make their bolters on the combi-melta master-crafted. Yes, means that Salamander sternguard can essentially get a re-roll on their special ammunition.

  9. Mythic June 10, 2016 6:34 am
    #

    While this is going to a pretty minor point I do think you can put leviathan dreads in a storm raven. The actual ruling says “all” an EG is a helpful footnote not a comprehensive list.

  10. novastar June 10, 2016 8:52 am
    #

    its funny they said no extra tech marines for Clan Raukaan but didn’t mention the new angels of death book that lets you do the same thing without being “Clan Raukaan” so slotless techmarines are still a go for Iron Hands

  11. Quinn June 10, 2016 10:13 am
    #

    The drop pod thing is pretty insane, the more arguments I read on various sites the more I just hope they go back to ignoring the doors. Although there is a sadistic painter voice in my head that secretly hopes that people who glue the doors shut get screwed somehow…

  12. Lysere June 10, 2016 9:53 pm
    #

    I like how before one could make a case for Cenobyte servitors to be worth using once again. (I have done so repeatedly) and now GW seems bent on making them absolutely worthless once more. Is it really that hard to just make them how they were in the 4th ed codex, because with this FAQ they will literally be worse than even their 6th ed form, and they were terrible with the 6th ed codex.

  13. Virgil82 June 11, 2016 8:11 am
    #

    I’ve played two games with five Pod armies so far and it is quite a double edged sword. It really clogs up movement for both sides and can make it difficult to deploy when concentrating your forces. On the other hand creating screens of Pods is much easier and it really helps mitigate bad scatters, that eleven inch scatter that would have made your melta useless is suddenly not nearly so bad. On the the other other hand threading the needle for ballsy Drop Melta is now much more difficult.