Looks like we have another 40k rules issue being hotly debated over the internet regarding the Eldar Corsair Venom.
In the newest Imperial Armor, IA11, the Eldar Corsairs have access to a Venom with the Scout special rule. Players are now trying to determine if this means that the occupants of the Venoms can assault turn 1 since it is the transport’s Scout special rule and not the occupant’s. As far as I can tell this is the first time we’ve had a vehicle with the Scout special rule also happen to be an open-topped transport that does not specifically say that the occupants cannot assault turn 1 (Ork Blitz Brigade Formation). But as the unit inside is benefiting from the Scout move, do they count as such? A unit with Scouts confers it onto the dedicated transport, should it also work in reverse?
Here’s the facts:
Scout (brb. 171) – A unit that makes a Scout redeployment cannot charge in the first game turn.
Dedicated Transport (brb. 120) – Dedicated transports do not use up a slot in the Force Organization Chart but for all other rules purposes count as having the same Battlefield Role and Faction (if any) as the unit they were bought for.
A unit in a Venom will have a very decent reach on the battlefield (deploy 12″+ 12″ Scout move + 6″ move + 6″ disembark + 2d6 charge). There are now several units that allow first turn assault moves, so in the grand scheme of things is it too far out there for GW to intend for first turn assaulting by the Corsairs? I can see this as being pretty situational and all it takes is a roll of a 6 to seize the initiative and the paper thin Raiders are out in the open.
So what do you think? Does the unit inside count as Scouting in addition to the vehicle as they all made a Scout move or does only the vehicle count as Scout moving? Another oversight by GW when writing their rules or an intentional buff for the Corsairs (as if they needed any, lol)? Does an army of first turn charging units seem like too much or is it passe as this point?