Signals from the Frontline Episode #371

Signals371

Show Notes

9-11-15

Intro

  • Follow us on Twitter, Facebook, Twitch, and YouTube!  Join our Forums, too! If you would like to be a guest on the show, email Reece at Contact@FrontlineGaming.org
  • We sell tabletop games and supplies at 20% off! Hit us up for your next gaming order at Orders@FrontlineGaming.org or visit our webstore at FrontlineGaming.org.

News

  • LVO is going to be out of hand! We have some big guests coming this year, and we’re very excited about it. There’s still room in many events!
    • Stoked to announce that we will be having tons of boardgames available to play at the LVO!
    • We have 2, 1 day slots left in the 40k Narrative.
    • Warmachine is selling steadily but still has room. Big announcements coming soon on this front!
    • We’ve got room in Netrunner, FNM, Warzone, the Knight Joust, Infinity, DzC, 30k the ITC TT, X-Wing and the social events, too! Don’t forget to grab your LVO t-shirt, too.

lvo2016-234x300

  • The Narrative Guys, who are running the 40k narrative event at the LVO, have been posting pics of the new terrain they’re making and it looks awesome!

lvo narrative 1 lvo narrative 2

  • New DzC Famous Commanders are up for pre-order and they look great! Resistance: Jessie Adams, UCM: General Wade, and PHR: Jocasta Cain. Very cool. Check out their FB page for updates on the story for the games players will be joining in on at the LVO!

Bertha_1024x1024 General_Wade_1024x1024 Jocasta_1024x1024

  • Antenociti’s workshop reveal 3 new ground cars for use as Infinity terrain. Very cool!

aw1 aw2 aw3

  • Forgeworld unveils new Blood Angels accessory packs and they look sweet! Give them a look.

bloodangels

  • The new BFG gameplay trailer looks pretty awesome! This may be quite a cool game.

  • The new FW Tau Titan is HUGE! Bigger than a Knight Acheron, wow, it’s a beast.

tau super suit

  • The AdMech Ordinatus looks beastly and has some savage rules, too! 14/13/13, 14 hull points!!! Str D, AP1, 10″ blast gun, or, Str X (varies by target) instant death, ignores cover. Ouch. Has some side weapons, too.

ordinatus

  • New AoS releases, the Knight Vexilor and the Knight Heraldor. Stormcast Eternal characters. They look pretty cool. Shoot you rorders in to Orders@FrontlineGaming.org to get yours at 25% off during the pre-order period!

AgeofSigmar Khorne 1080

Upcoming ITC Events

ITC

Big ITC updates! Lots of events results have come in.

Rumors: The Rumor Section is gathered from the web and is not in any way information we receive from  any manufacturer nor is it necessarily accurate. This section of the podcast is intended for entertainment purposes only.

  • So, it looks like September will be all AoS for the foreseeable future. No Tau, yet.
  • Rumors of a Tzeentch Formation in the new CSM book that includes Airhman and up to 4 other Sorcerers. Grants +1s to witchfires and -1 to DtW rolls for the opponent, up to 3 powers a tunr per sorcerer.
  • Plastic 30k kits to come out in early 2016 from GW and are said to be:

Deimos Rhino/Predator combo-kit

Contemptor Dread kit

Cataphractii Terminator squad (5 models)

Tactical Marines (10 models)

Praetor (1 model, clampack)

Centurion (1 model)

Destroyer/Assault Marines squad (5 models)

Support Marines (5 models)

Rant Session

Tactics Corner

Rules Lawyer

  • Librarius Conclave and the number of powers a psyker can use.
    • We get asked this one a lot, but it is in the rule book. Pg.22, “The number of psychic powers a Psyker can use each turn depends on his Mastery Level.”
  • Reecius will be updating the ITC FAQ today, sorry for the delay, was out of town and been playing catch-up.

Completed Commissions

avatar1 avatar2

List Review

Green Tide

Warboss: Powerklaw

100 slugga boys

5 nobs with klaws

Ork CAD

Weirdboy level 2

Painboy

10 gretchen

10 gretchen

 

Demon CAD

Herald of Tzeentch level 3: exaulted reward, disc

Herald of Tzeentch level 3: exaulted reward, disc

Herald of Tzeentch level 3

11 pink horrors

11 pink horrors

8 screamers

 

The biggest problem I’ve found with green tide is against either super fast shooty armies, or worse, a really really assaulty deathstar. The screamers counter both nicely. The screamers run and tarpit the assaulty death star while the green tide covers the rest of the board.

So the two disc mounted heralds ride with the screamers and try to turn them into the re-rollable 2+.

The pink horrors and extra herald hide back adding psyker points and getting beam of tzeench and warpflaming the green tide for a better feel-no-pain score. Odds are they should be at least 3 or 4+ feel no pain by the time they get stuck in.

The weirdboy goes in the tide to add dice and if he gets +2 strength or gate of infinity, all the better.

Tags:

About Reecius

The fearless leader of the intrepid group of gamers gone retailers at Frontline Gaming!

18 Responses to “Signals from the Frontline Episode #371”

  1. abusepuppy September 11, 2015 12:22 pm #

    The problem with the “depends on their mastery level” ruling is that it doesn’t, in any way, say HOW it depends on their mastery level. You could just as easily interpret that as reading that, since the number of powers a psyker knows is based on their mastery level (and can only cast those powers) THAT is the limitation on what they can cast. Or ditto with the number of dice generated. Or heck, maybe a psyker can’t cast more powers than the logarithmic exponent of their powers known.

    It’s no different than if FMCs had text that said “A FMC in Swoop mode cannot be hit by some weapons.” Which weapons? How do you determine that? Without any other information, that sentence is meaningless, just as “depending on their mastery level” is.

    • Reecius
      Reecius September 11, 2015 3:53 pm #

      Sure, semantically I agree with you, but in this instance what else could it possibly be, lol? I feel that it is pretty dang straightforward in this case.

      • abusepuppy September 11, 2015 10:42 pm #

        Could be a really badly-written rule that people choose not to follow, like Random Allocation or Unbound Armies. Just because it existed in 6E doesn’t mean it has to in 7E, especially since it’s such a throwaway mention-in-passing.

      • Francois Leclerc September 17, 2015 5:40 am #

        I agree with abusepuppy. For the psyker level, you mention that it’s in the rule book that a psyker can’t cast more power than its master level and that this is in the rule book. I haven’t found that information. It’s written that the number of powers that a psyker can cast is dependent (not equal) to its mastery level. Then the rules say that the powers that a psyker knows is equal (equal) to its mastery level.

        It further states if there are warp charges left, a psyker can cast a power. There are no mention of levels. Otherwise, it would be impossible for a Lvl 1 psyker with a force weapon to activate its Force weapon and cast a known psychic power. Because both of these have to use warp charges to activate, they are both psychic powers.

        Since a psyker can’t power the same power twice, the number of powers that it can cast IS DEPENDENT on its mastery level.

        You say that you got the rule from page 22. That is exactly where I got the info and I don’t agree with your reading of the rule based on the rule that says that as long as you have warp charges, you can cast a psychic power. That is the rule that I am going by.

  2. Bryce September 11, 2015 12:47 pm #

    Once again wanted to thank Frontline Gaming for the quick interview this morning! Here is the landing page for folks…

    http://www.battle-comm.com/

    There are two different contact forms at the bottom of the page. Make sure to follow us on both Facebook and Twitter for all the latest info! You can also e-mail me directly at bnelson@battle-comm.com.

    Thanks again Reece and Frankie!

    Bryce

  3. M4dwi11y September 11, 2015 2:08 pm #

    I think it’s pretty obviously implied as a one-to-one here: ML 3 = can cast 3 powers.

    • abusepuppy September 11, 2015 3:14 pm #

      The fact that a lot of people disagree with the ruling kinda shows that it isn’t “obvious.”

      • Reecius
        Reecius September 11, 2015 3:52 pm #

        People disagree with all kinds of rules though. Folks read things, often, as they would have them be.

      • bigpig September 11, 2015 4:32 pm #

        Just because “a lot” of people disagree doesn’t mean something isn’t obvious either. While I get the argument, I think its a loser and reading into things, assigning intent, and (at times) bending it to the readers benefit (not saying in your case here AP, but for some people… yes).

        Your “logarithmic exponent” example is clearly hyperbole… probably intended as such. But it serves to point out that the FMC rule you cited can’t stand on its own as it lack sufficient info to draw a reasonable conclusion. The Psyker rule can stand on its own. Unfortunately, sometimes we have to do that with GW rules writing :(. Wish they were cleaner

        • bigpig September 11, 2015 4:34 pm #

          sorry, not “cited,” presented as example is better 🙂

        • abusepuppy September 11, 2015 10:46 pm #

          > But it serves to point out that the FMC rule you cited can’t stand on its own as it lack sufficient info to draw a reasonable conclusion. The Psyker rule can stand on its own

          See, that’s the thing- NEITHER rule can stand on its own. You can _assume_ how many powers a unit can cast is equal to its mastery level, and you can _assume_ that (in the theoretical scenario) blasts and templates couldn’t hit a FMC, but in neither case does the rule itself actually provide you with enough information to draw that conclusion. And those aren’t unreasonable conclusions to draw, either, but trying to pass them off as “the obvious (and only) answer” or “what the rules say” is a blatant misstatement of the truth.

          I can live with ITC changing the rules- in fact, I’m glad they’re willing to do so and have the community support to make it functional. But I think rules changes need to be based on a genuine need, not just an assumption of what someone would like the rules to be.

  4. Deuce11 September 12, 2015 6:44 am #

    Link?

  5. Glocknall September 14, 2015 12:12 pm #

    AbusePuppy is spot on in this argument. That sentence is simply creating a relationship between mastery level and powers cast. What that sentence does not do is state that relationship is a 1=1. A Psyker that generates his mastery level in powers is still dspending on his mastery level for how many powers he can cast. He is also equally dependent on psychic focus and chaos focus. There is also a relationship created by mastery level as it adds that many psychic dice to the power pool. I dint think that GW would allow multiple witch fire casting, created a communal power pool for Armies and add psychic and chaos focus just to institute a hard cap on powers cast then completely fail to put it in plain language.

    • Reecius
      Reecius September 14, 2015 12:24 pm #

      Sure, I agree that the correlation is not spelled out but what else could it possible be, lol? Divide by 2? Multiply be 100? The reasonable response is that it is 1 to 1, and the vast majority of people presented with this statement would make that logical assumption as I am willing to bet money, the writer made when they wrote it. Any other relationship is unreasonable and illogical given the information. Anything other than 1 to 1 would require a qualifying statement.

      • Mike September 14, 2015 2:08 pm #

        I actually think that someone who had no prior knowledge of past edition psychic rules would NOT make that logical leap. If you willingly block out what you know of the past editions and read it fresh, it’s very hard to find any restriction on powers other than total psychic dice.

        I believe the “ML = limit” crowd is larger because they have “grown up” that way in the game from previous versions. Players that have only played 7th are quite rare.

        • Reecius
          Reecius September 14, 2015 3:06 pm #

          I understand your argument, I just struggle to see how “depends on mastery level” could reasonably mean anything other than a 1 to 1 correlation. Why else include it? If the answer is: you can cast as many psychic powers as you have dice to attempt to cast powers with, then it would not be necessary to say it depended on your mastery level but that it depended on the number of dice you have in your dice pool.

      • Mike September 14, 2015 2:11 pm #

        As for what the restriction would be, it sounds more like a lead-in statement to the psychic section to me, and not a rule in itself.

        Something like “hey how many powers can my guy cast?”
        “Well, what’s your ML? Add that to your d6 roll and cast until you run out of dice.” sounds more like what the 7e book is saying.

  6. Glocknall September 14, 2015 2:19 pm #

    If you read just the bolded parts of “Mastery Levels” paragraphs on page 22 it makes more sense. The “depends” sentence people are reading on its own is nearly a lead in for establishing what mastery levels are and how to generate powers (including the psychic focus sidebar).

Leave a Reply