(Replay of the game in post!) Eldar Challenge Match: Eldar Warhost vs. White Scars, 2,000pts

Jaghatai Khan

Jaghatai Khan

 Watch the replay of the game, here!

Cooper is bringing his WHite Scars out against Reecius’ Warhost! Who shall prevail?!

Warhost 2000pts
Unit Description Size Cost
Windrider Host
Farseer Gem, Bike 1 130
Warlock Conclave Bike 1 50
Jetbikes S.Cannon x 3 3 81
Jetbikes S.Cannon x 3 3 81
Jetbikes S.Cannon x 3 3 81
Vyper S.Cannon x 2 1 50
Crimson Death
Crumson Hunter Exarch 1 160
Crimson Hunter 1 140
Crimson Hunter 1 140
Wraith Host
Spiritseer 1 70
Wraith Guard Scythes 5 210
Wraith Guard Scythes 5 210
Wraith Guard 5 160
Wraith Lord Glaive, Flamers x 2 1 125
Wraithknight Scatter Laser 1 310
Totals 33 1998

White Scars

Khan Bike: 150

Master of the Forge: 130

Damocles Command Rhino, Dozer: 80

Command Squad: Apoth, Bikes, Grav x 4: 210

Fire Raptor: 225

Storm Talon: Sky Hammer: 125

Sicaran: L.Cannons: Battle of Sarosh 210

Sicaran: L.Cannons: Shcism of Mars: 205

Bikers x 5: Grav x 2, C.Grav: 145

Bikers x 5: Grav x 2, C.Grav: 145

Bikers x 5: Melta x 2: 125

Bikers x 5: Melta x 2: 125

Bikers x 5: Melta x 2: 125


About Reecius

The fearless leader of the intrepid group of gamers gone retailers at Frontline Gaming!

34 Responses to “(Replay of the game in post!) Eldar Challenge Match: Eldar Warhost vs. White Scars, 2,000pts”

  1. Mortetvie May 7, 2015 5:25 pm #

    I am really interested to see how the crimson death formation works out. That was one of the formations that really stood out to me right off the bat.

    • Reecius
      Reecius May 8, 2015 6:13 am #

      It’s pretty solid, IMO. I actually prefer just the Exarch though, for AA duties.

      • mortetvie May 8, 2015 11:16 am #

        Looks like the Crimson Death formation had a decent damage out-put but they still seem pretty fragile.

        IMO, I think you still (1) get the cover save from the Crimson Death formation against things that ignore jink saves as well as (2) get to re-roll that cover save when you jink against things that normally ignore jink saves.

        Specifically, if you jink, you get a 4+ cover save from that special rule. Crimson Death is not rolling nor re-rolling a cover save from the jink rule so weapons that ignore or prevent a model from taking Jink saves don’t affect the Crimson Death formation.

        Therefore, the only way Crimson Death cannot get their re-roll is if something specifically says that a target cannot Jink at all, not simply that a model cannot make a Jink save or that the weapon ignores Jink saves.

        • Kartr May 8, 2015 12:26 pm #

          Obviously you get your cover save against things that ignore Jink. However you wouldn’t get the re-roll because of Jink because the guns ignore it.

          • mortetvie May 8, 2015 12:34 pm

            The guns ignore Jink SAVES IIRC and the formation does not take any Jink saves for the guns to ignore. The formation just gets a bonus to existing saves by Jinking, which is a completely different mechanic.

            RAW, you still get to re-roll.

          • Kartr Kana May 8, 2015 1:21 pm

            The only one I know is the Twin Linked Accelerator Autocannon on the Sicaran which says: “Rapid Tracking: Targets may not take Jink saves against this weapon.”

            You cannot Jink vs the Accelerator Cannon, thus you can’t get the re-roll.

          • mortetvie May 8, 2015 1:48 pm

            Kartr, by your logic, you then cannot go to ground against a weapon that ignores cover. However, you can still go to ground against something that ignores cover… You just don’t get to benefit from any cover save when you do. Therefore, you obviously get no benefit for going to ground against anything that Ignores cover since all going to ground does is improve your cover save which is subsequently being ignored.

            Furthermore, not being able to take a Jink save is NOT the same thing as not being able to Jink at all. You are still allowed to Jink, you just don’t benefit from the 4+ cover save that the Jink rule provides.

            Therefore, if you Jink against the Twin-linked Accelerator Autocannon, you wouldn’t benefit from the 4+ cover save from the Jink rule and then you still have to suffer from the Snap Shots penalty if you survived. Obviously, not a smart choice but still a choice you have!

            So to reiterate, does the weapon say you cannot Jink? No, it does not say you cannot Jink, therefore you can still Jink. The rule only says you cannot take a Jink save, something that the Crimson Hunter formation is not doing.

          • Kartr Kana May 8, 2015 4:10 pm

            Except the Re-roll is essentially you taking a second save, a Jink save, after your cover save failed.

            If you’re right then there’s no point in ever shooting a Sicaran at the Crimson Hunter formation. It also means you need way more firepower to bring them down than is feasible in a list without crazy flying dakka like a Fire Raptor.

          • abusepuppy May 8, 2015 4:24 pm

            The reroll of cover saves when Jinking is not specific to the save from Jink itself- if you had a cover save from terrain or a special rule, you could use that instead.

            Choosing to Jink is a CONDITION of the ability, but the ability functions on saves other than Jink saves- including the “free” 4+ cover save from the formation.

            Dark Reapers are another unit that ignores Jink saves. I’m pretty sure there’s at least one more in the game somewhere, but I don’t remember what it is offhand.

          • Kartr Kana May 8, 2015 5:06 pm

            So my $120 ForgeWorld tank is now worthless against Eldar flyers.

          • Mortetvie May 9, 2015 1:29 pm

            Technically it is. $120 model versus $195 in models and your tank is still able to take out those flyers (far from useless) and it is still good at taking out other things like jetbikes and stuff… So don’t need to be so negative, it’s still a very solid tank!

          • Kartr Kana May 9, 2015 6:48 pm

            It’s pretty much my main AA and with the re-rolls its un-likely to bring down a flyer the one turn it gets to shoot it. Twin-linked = 5-6 hits, Tank Hunters vs AV10 = 5-6 glance/pen, 4+ cover saves 3, re-roll saves 2, so 1 glance/pen and it won’t explode because AP4. Its useless against the Crimson Hunter formation. My Mortis-Dreadnought has twin-linked Las Cannons so 2 hits 2 pens save one, re-roll save the second one. I am now going to have to find the points to either get a Fire Raptor or a pair of Storm Talons and try and kill them with a ton of S6 flying shooting.

  2. Narfwak May 7, 2015 5:34 pm #

    Really interested in seeing how the composite detachment works out. Originally I thought it looked ridiculously good, but the taxes are pretty big; it feels so unwieldy trying to put a list together using it.

  3. colinsherlow May 7, 2015 6:05 pm #

    Stoked to be watching this.

    Where do I vote?

  4. Kartr Kana May 7, 2015 6:07 pm #

    What’s the best way to model up a Master of the Forge on a bike with a Conversion Beamer?

    • Reecius
      Reecius May 8, 2015 6:12 am #

      Coop used a T-Fire Techmarine to make his.

      • Kartr May 8, 2015 7:38 am #

        How’d he do the beamer backpack?

        • mortetvie May 8, 2015 9:38 am #

          He probably just glued a cheapy laser pointer to the model/bike?

        • Reecius
          Reecius May 8, 2015 1:01 pm #

          Not certain.

          • Kartr Kana May 8, 2015 1:47 pm

            I’ll figure it out, because I’m really thinking that I should trade my Thunderfire Cannon and Librarian for a Whirlwind Scorpious and Master of the Forge on a Bike. S8 Ap3 is better against Eldar Jetbikes than S5 Ap6 Ignores Cover.

  5. colinsherlow May 7, 2015 6:26 pm #

    Onnnne more thing.

    In the wraithhost formation do the dscythes get to reroll the wound rolls like they were twin linked or do they not get the reroll because they are not actually twin linked?

    • abusepuppy May 7, 2015 6:40 pm #

      Twin-linked template weapons reroll failed wounds, but being able to reroll to-hit rolls is not the same thing as being twin-linked.

      Also, Str D weapons do not roll to wound; they instead roll on the Destroyer table, and thus do not benefit from effects that allow them to reroll wounds or penetrations (such as Doom.)

      • colinsherlow May 7, 2015 7:27 pm #

        Yeah I figured

  6. colinsherlow May 7, 2015 7:27 pm #

    Would like to see someone try swooping hawks for a few games. I think they are better then they get credit for

    • abusepuppy May 7, 2015 7:31 pm #

      I really like Hawks. The utility of a good anti-infantry gun combined with Haywire in addition to excellent mobility and the free blast is a great setup. 2×5 Warp Spyders and 1×6 Swooping Hawks is a pretty good way to take the Aspect Host, I think.

      • colinsherlow May 7, 2015 8:04 pm #

        That would definitely be a great way to run the host

        • Reecius
          Reecius May 8, 2015 6:12 am #

          Totally agree, wish I could find my damn Hawks and Scorps! Lol

  7. iNcontroL May 7, 2015 7:40 pm #

    sick matchup!

    • Reecius
      Reecius May 8, 2015 6:11 am #

      It was good fun. Thought I would get smoked by superior speed.

  8. Sam May 7, 2015 7:47 pm #

    Does it really count for $250 if Reece isn’t really playing Eldar? This is more a problem with Eldar with Dark Eldar allies so far.

    • Reecius
      Reecius May 8, 2015 6:11 am #

      Will you see that combo in tournaments? Yes. Also, I didn’t use any DE this time.

  9. Khezden May 8, 2015 11:58 am #

    Great game guys.

    Reece, I think you need to eBay some new heavy wraithcannons for your WK. I don’t think yours are working correctly 😉

    • Reecius
      Reecius May 8, 2015 1:02 pm #

      Yeah, mine misses all the time, lol!

Leave a Reply