Signals from the Frontline: Warhammer 40K and General Gaming News, Rumors, Tactics and Comedy

signals from the Frontline

Show Notes



  • Follow us on Twitter, Facebook, and YouTube!  Join our Forums, too! If you would like to be a guest on the show, email Reece at
  • We sell tabletop games and supplies at 20% off! Hit us up for your next gaming order at or visit our webstore at


  • The Las Vegas Open is just days away! So pumped. We will be in the Sunset Ballroom, Reno II, and Laughlin ball rooms.
  • Registration will start at 7pm on Thursday in the Sunset Ballroom. You can help us set up and socialize, too, if you want to!
  • A Formation is a detachment per Pg. 121 of the book. It counts as one of the 2 detachments you can bring to the LVO. Don’t show up with 3 detachments to the 40k Champs or Highlander, please!
  •  We will be live streaming the event on Sunday, during the Championships. Roughly 10am to 7pm. Find us on FrontlineGaming_TV on Twitch and be sure to click the Follow button so you get notified when we broadcast.
  • We will also be posting round by round scores for 40k and Fantasy, and will be trying to get it done for Warmachine, too. These will be posted on the Frontline Gaming front page.
  • The LVO dinner will be at Margaretville. Make your own reservations. People will be arriving between 8 and 9pm. Make your own reservations, it is a very informal affair.
  • Be sure to check out the West Coast Podcast Alliance after party in the Reno II room Saturday night, starting around 8pm.
  • F.A.T. Mats will be for sale at the LVO!

Upcoming ITC Events

  • We will be rolling out a big ITC update for the 2015 Season! This time, we will do it in a more structured way, with debate, voting and some careful thought to determine guidelines for the next season.
  • Once the pairing/scoring software we’ve been working on is done, we’ll offer it out to anyone that wants to use it to help run their ITC format event!

Rumors: The Rumor Section is gathered from the web and is not in any way information we receive from  any manufacturer nor is it necessarily accurate. This section of the podcast is intended for entertainment purposes only.

  • Sisters and Marines vs. Tzeentch Chaos for the summer campaign?
  • Harlie Rumors, these guys look pretty sick!
  • 30K Starter Box?
  • Fantasy as a skirmish game? 9th ed? Both?

Rant Session

Tactics Corner

  • Holy crap, Harlies look pretty mean!

Rules Lawyer

  • We will be using the GW interpretation for Infiltrate, the ITC FAQ will be updated soon. Please note, Infiltrators must always infiltrate which means that a non-infiltrating unit may never deploy with an infiltrating unit and vice versa. Brutal.

Completed Commissions


List Review


About Reecius

The fearless leader of the intrepid group of gamers gone retailers at Frontline Gaming!

27 Responses to “Signals from the Frontline: Warhammer 40K and General Gaming News, Rumors, Tactics and Comedy”

  1. Avatar
    Ed February 17, 2015 5:13 am #

    Good show guys! I have a quick question on the 2 detachment limit.

    Does an Imperial Knight count as a separate detachment, or as part of a regular CAD?

    For example, would a Company of the Great Wolf Detachment, a Space Wolves CAD plus an Imperial Knight be LVO legal?


    • Avatar
      AbusePuppy February 17, 2015 6:15 am #

      The Forge World Imperial Knights are allowed to be taken as Lords of War, which means they can be taken as part of a CAD (or any other detachment with a LoW slot.) However, this also means that they are subject to the normal rules for bringing a Lord of War (i.e. giving the opponent +1 to Seize, being worth extra VP, etc.)

    • Reecius
      Reecius February 17, 2015 6:49 am #

      As Abuse Puppy said, you can only do that if you take the knight as a LoW in another detachment, which only the forge world knights can be. If you’re taking a Knight from a Knight detachment, if their is 1,2 or 3, it is it’s own detachment and counts towards the two detachment limit.

      • Avatar
        Ed February 17, 2015 7:49 am #

        Thanks for the clarification gents. Good luck next weekend!

        • Reecius
          Reecius February 18, 2015 9:15 am #

          Happy to help, See you there!

  2. Avatar
    Nova star February 17, 2015 8:14 am #

    You can still download the Harlequin codex from GW/BL even though the physical copy is delayed

  3. Avatar
    Caldria February 17, 2015 8:35 am #

    I’ve been getting more and more excited about these harlequins as more info has been leaked – I was gonna start another army a little while back, but after the rumours I’ve been seeing, harlies will be that army to ally with my dark eldar.

    However, I’m quite a bit dissapointed with the restrictions on being able to field them – I wanted to add in a troupe or two, and sprinkle in a shadowseer and deathjester here and there with the solitaire. But there is no real way to do that without paying tax.

    The way of heroes formation is a SS, DJ and Solitaire with infiltrate/shrouded/stealth. But none of them can ever join a unit. The Company of actors is 1 troupe, SS and DJ, and they must be fielded together and the ICs can never leave (they get crusade and give crusade to eldar units within 6″)

    Ofc, I can’t use both of those formations as well as my Dark Eldar primary detachment.

    Then the Masque forces me to buy a voidweaver which I had no intention of ever getting. At least the 2 fast attack slots can be filled with 2 star weavers.

    I don’t know how I’m gonna slot them into my DE yet. The shadowseer and deathjester look so exciting to play with though.

    • Avatar
      Andrew February 17, 2015 11:19 am #

      I prefer how they’ve done it (SS DJ being character more than independent characters), hopefully it will promote more thematic units rather than the character sniping we currently see in centstars and such.

    • Adam
      Adam ( February 17, 2015 11:39 am #

      GW actually has several methods to accomplish what you want. You can take multiple of the Harlequin Troupes for example, or even go unbound. The restriction to 2 detachments is an artificial one imposed by competitive events. It’s not that the ITC format is bad for disallowing that, it’s just what comes with a competitive environment, you need some restrictions to keep things fun in such a large format. I would encourage you to use whatever you want in friendly play, and the more people do that the more it will influence events to change their rules. 🙂

      • Avatar
        Nova star February 17, 2015 12:35 pm #

        Unbound is the equivalent of watching monkeys fling poo, fun to watch but not a game lol

        • Avatar
          Pascal Roggen February 17, 2015 4:47 pm #

          as long as it’s not an army of one unit wraiths:). unbound is fun and feasible. the loss of objective secured, or ws5 space wolves or +1 initiative on the charge BAs etc etc etc, is getting more and more noticeable.

          The more 7th edition codex’s are dropped the less anyone will want to go unbound, or, at least it won’t be wildly powerful

          • Avatar
            AbusePuppy February 17, 2015 5:47 pm

            Didn’t your own “one unit Wraiths” thing kinda disprove that? There are plenty of things printed in 7E that are still very good reasons for avoiding Unbound, not to mention all of the ones left over from 6th.

  4. Avatar
    Loren February 17, 2015 5:38 pm #

    “Infiltrators must always infiltrate”.Can you plz elaborate on this?. Where dose it say this? If this is the case I wonder if that turns up the power level on =][= servo skulls to 12?


    Enemy infiltrators cannot set up within 12″ of a Servo-skull. Similarly, enemy scouts cannot use their pre-game move to approach to within 12″ of a Servo-skull. A friendly unit arriving by Deep Strike rolls one D6 less for scatter if it aims to arrive within 12″ of a Servo-skull. Likewise, friendly blast templates placed within 12″ of a Servo-skull roll one D6 less for scatter.

    Servo-skulls are considered too small and agile to be attacked and cannot be harmed in any way. However, should an enemy unit move within 6″ of a Servo-skull, then the Servo-skull will self-destruct or flee the battlefield – remove it from play.”

    You could line your foes deployment zone with these and REALLY limit your enemy deployment options.

    • Avatar
      AbusePuppy February 17, 2015 5:48 pm #

      If you read the Infiltrate special rule, its use is not optional. Units that have Infiltrate MUST set up using those rules, unless they choose to stay in reserve (or in a transport.)

      • Avatar
        Aaron February 17, 2015 7:57 pm #

        And there is nothing they say you can’t then deploy them in your own deployment zone after regular deployments are over, so essentially you aren’t “infiltrating” them, hence why it being mandatory isn’t a huge deal.

        • Reecius
          Reecius February 17, 2015 8:02 pm #

          It is a big deal now, though, as a unit with infiltrate is technically always infiltrating, even if you deploy in your own deployment zone (as you always have to deploy them last). So, non-infiltrating characters can never go with them and vise/versa.

          • Avatar
            Kartr February 18, 2015 7:57 am

            Well infiltrating characters can go with a non-infiltrating unit and give it to them, per RAW and the ITC FAQ, right?

          • Reecius
            Reecius February 18, 2015 9:17 am

            No, the gw faq overrides us, ours will be updated today.

          • Avatar
            Kartr February 18, 2015 9:29 am

            Where’s the new GW FAQ? Because I just checked the Black Library FAQ page and the last BRB update was Oct22 and doesn’t say anything about infiltrators.

          • Avatar
            DCannon4Life February 18, 2015 4:41 pm

            It’s on GW’s site–at the bottom (center) of the main page is where you’ll find the link, I think.

            It’s annoying that they’re in two different places. 🙁

          • Avatar
            Kartr February 19, 2015 6:06 am

            Extremely annoying! On a couple levels.

        • Avatar
          DCannon4Life February 18, 2015 9:13 am #

          I went around on this recently. While it would make sense to be able to declare, “I am not infiltrating this unit” and deploy it normally, the option does not exist in the current wording of the rule. Units with Infiltrate ALWAYS infiltrate.

          Thus: Infiltrators cannot be deployed in a non-dedicated vehicle, as the vehicle is already deployed (both vehicle and occupants have to be deployed at the same time). Also, any unit with the Infiltrate special rule cannot charge on Game Turn One NO MATTER WHAT (even if merely deployed in their own DZ, minding their own business).

          If you get Master of Ambush, and you don’t want to be Turn One assault restricted, you better reroll–because the Warlord and 3 non-vehicle units HAVE Infiltrate (not optional).

          This could be ‘fixed’ (if the current rule isn’t already Working As Intended) by simply adding, “may” to the Infiltrate special rule, giving the controlling player the option to units/models during the ‘normal’ deployment step and freeing them from the Turn One assault restrictions. /shrug

          • Reecius
            Reecius February 18, 2015 9:19 am

            Yup, simply making it optional was all that was needed.

  5. Avatar
    colinsherlow February 17, 2015 7:32 pm #

    I might be around to help set up a bit.

    There open gaming?

    • Reecius
      Reecius February 17, 2015 8:01 pm #

      Not Thursday, nothing will be set up, haha. You might be able to sneak a game in but I wouldn’t count on it.

      • Avatar
        colinsherlow February 18, 2015 6:31 am #

        No prob then. Will prob show to help set up for a bit

Leave a Reply