Crisp Mini on Embarking/Disembarking in DzC

More rule clarification for Dropzone Commander.  This time Embark and Disembark moves, specifically the 2 embark/disembark limit and entering a building directly from a transport by Chris, from Crisp Mini. As always, check out the Tactics Corner for more great tips!

First the video, but feel free to scroll past to read on.

If you haven’t already deduced, units in DZC may make a total of 2 embark and/or disembark moves per activation.  This seems an easy rule to follow, but the confusion comes in when infantry are embarked in an APC which is embarked in a dropship, and you want to get the infantry in to a building.

So you may be thinking, no problem Crisp, the APC can get off the dropship.  The infantry can then leave the APC, and the infantry then has 1 embark left to enter a building.  This is sadly incorrect, as when the APC leaves the dropship, it counts as a disembark for both the APC and the infantry inside.  This has been clarified on Hawk Wargames site in the downloads section, and also in the forums.  My pro tip for find official rulings in the forums is to run an advanced search in the rules section for author “Hawk Simon”.

This does not mean it is impossible for infantry to make it to the building, as infantry disembarking a transport that is within 1″ of a building entrance may enter the building for only 1 embark/disembark.  Typically leaving the transport is 1, and entering a building is 2, but if the transport is within 1″ (remember to measure from center) of an entrance, this will only count as 1 embark/disembark.

So with the example of the infantry in the APC in the dropship, the infantry could garrison the building if, and only if, after all the movement the APC is within 1″ of a building entrance before the infantry disembark.

Those are the major points I wanted to point out here, but this is by no means the only rules governing embarkation and disembarkation of units.  These are areas I see questioned most often, and I must admit I understand the reasoning of, “If the APC disembarks a dropship, how does that count as a disembark for the infantry embarked on the APC,” but Hawk has ruled that the infantry counts as disembarking the dropship multiple times.

Finally, a few other bullets on transport rules.

  • When embarking or disembarking, units, both the transport and the transported, may only move half their total value.  This may be split up.
  • Units embarking or disembarking are removed/placed within 3″ of the transport.
  • Units may only embark upon transports purchased with them.  So units can get stranded if their transport is destroyed.
That is it for now.  Thanks for reading and/or viewing, and I will be back next time with some close quarter battle break down.

And finally an image that isn’t a meme!



About Reecius

The fearless leader of the intrepid group of gamers gone retailers at Frontline Gaming!

8 Responses to “Crisp Mini on Embarking/Disembarking in DzC”

  1. Reecius May 18, 2014 12:22 pm #

    This is a good point, thanks for sharing it, Chris!

  2. Egge May 18, 2014 12:44 pm #

    What about the Shaltari where the infantry is not really inside the gates/ transports?

    • Crisp Mini May 18, 2014 3:14 pm #

      I have a Shaltari gate overview planned. I may skip the CQB review and go straight to that

      • Reecius May 18, 2014 3:22 pm #

        That might jive better with this one and make a nice series.

      • Fister May 18, 2014 4:24 pm #

        Why not both?

        • Crisp Mini May 18, 2014 8:35 pm #

          I have video shot for both plus a few other things. Just takes a little time to get them together. Gotta rotate it in with painting when possible. The videos are works of love to promote this game since I really enjoy it and want to see it grow. Reecius has been nice enough to post them. I think it’s working between him, TinBane and myself DZC has been on blast. Also planning to get some official FLG bat reps on their fabulous gaming mat in the near future

          • Crisp Mini May 18, 2014 8:46 pm

            And Cameron! Can’t forget him

          • Reecius May 19, 2014 8:17 am

            Yeah, we have a lot of folks buying into the game right now, it’s great! I think we are going to start doing DzC Thursdays!

Leave a Reply