Spikey Bitz Rebuttle: The Knight Titan is the Best Around!


The Imperial Knight titan may be the best unit in the game, and here’s why.

The other day on Bell of Lost Souls Reece posted up an interesting article about the new Imperial Knight model, called Of Knights and Men.

If you haven’t read it yet, go do it now, we’ll wait for you to come back.  

I really liked the article and he made a lot of good points in general regarding to how it works, and it’s function in game.

However I think this unit may be WAY better than most people are giving it credit for, and figured I would take a look at it from the “Super Heavy” perspective.

For instance have you realized that the Knight actually has two ways to inflict D weapon casualties, one being a 5″ template,  not just from the Reaper Chainsword?

Or that in theory 1/3 of the time that you are in an assault with it, you will force your opponent to remove their models from play without saves of any kind possible?

Yeah this thing may be way better than we thought. Checkout all the details in my video below.

It’s a little long, but should be good to listen to while hobbying! -Enjoy MBG


  • Note, Super Heavy Walkers cannot Tank Shock as Rob says in his video -Ed.
  • Note, Hammer of Wrath is AP-, not AP2 as Rob says in the video.
  • It does not appear that Strikedown works on the model’s shooting.


About Reecius

The fearless leader of the intrepid group of gamers gone retailers at Frontline Gaming!

8 Responses to “Spikey Bitz Rebuttle: The Knight Titan is the Best Around!”

  1. Pascal Roggen February 28, 2014 5:55 am #

    boy this vid needs some fact checking.. yikes!

  2. Adam February 28, 2014 9:30 am #

    Nothing about the Strikedown rule says it applies to a models ranged weapons, instead it only says that it affects models struck by an ATTACK, not struck by a MODEL with that rule. The rapid fire battle cannon has it’s own profile, which does not have the Strikedown rule. Additionally, it only affects the specific MODEL hit, and both Vehicles and Monstrous creatures are unaffected… so that’s not really going to do a whole lot to the targets you want to hit with it anyhow.

    You also don’t mention how it’s “move through cover” rule actually works, it means that at best, this model is reduced to half of it’s movement through terrain.

    If the Knight has to die to make use of it’s best attack, then that doesn’t bode well for them either. Finally, it cannot Thunderblitz, that’s for “Super-heavy Vehicle” types, not for “Super-heavy Walkers”, if you need a little proof, check out the Lord of Skulls tracked behemoth.

    Sadly, most of the hype about how OP various super heavies are has to do with not fully reading the rules.

  3. IndigoJack February 28, 2014 10:04 am #

    Also, hammer of wrath automatically hits and does not require a roll. It’s also ap-, not ap2

  4. Lex February 28, 2014 11:14 am #

    The Strikedown issue is a bit iffy. I see the point about the Ranged weaponry not having it, but neither does the Melee weapon. “Usually” when a model is given a rule, it applies to all of its attacks. However, most of the time its spelled out. Here, there is nothing that says it applies to melee (ala Smash), ranged, all or none. So, it would seem without a FAQ it is either all or none of the weapons. The latter making it a superfluous rule for this model, which doesn’t necessarily mean anything and brings me to Smash. It does nothing for the Knight. The D’s don’t roll armor penetration, it’s already AP 2 and S 10.

    • Chuck February 28, 2014 1:41 pm #

      I’m pretty sure the only reason it has Smash at all is just because it’s a Super-Heavy Walker and all of those have Smash. While it’s superfluous in this case, it’s just there as part of the rule set that comes with being a SHW.

    • Reecius February 28, 2014 1:48 pm #

      Maybe just on the Hammer of Wrath attacks? But yeah, I agree, it is very vague.

      • Adam February 28, 2014 1:54 pm #

        Too bad even then Strikedown only affects a single model… and not MC’s or Vehicles.

      • Slaede February 28, 2014 3:03 pm #

        It would be strikedown only. Nobody I have ever heard of plays the Slaanesh Prince with rending on its lash of despair even though the Prince has rending. Same principle.

Leave a Reply