Warhammer 40K and General Gaming News, Rumors, Tactics and Jokes!

signals from the Frontline

Show Notes

10-26-13 show

News

  • You all have to see these way too awesome  Baby Primarchs from a Legendarion http://legendarion.com/legendarion.html. They’re done in the Chibi style and they’re just fantastic. I can’t wait to see more of them! I just hope he doesn’t get in trouble for using the names of the Primarchs? I really hope to see this project completed as they’re so awesome.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

  • We came across an awesome Sisters of Battle CosPlay picture on the net, check it out!

sister of battle

  • Joe Drache is bringing his AWESOME, huge Titans for the LVO Apoc event. That is going to be really cool!
  • Forgeworld released new rules for their Space Marines characters and Chapter Tactics! Very cool stuff in there. They also releases some new Kakophni Marines which are awesome, as well as Ashen Circle Marines. Also, the awesome Fire Raptor!
  • Return of the challenge matches! Our buddy InControl of Star Craft 2 fame said he’d really enjoyed watching our challenge video battle reports from when Reecius’ Eldar were getting called out left and right. He offered to pony up some prize support to see them go down, again. So, we are going to launch them again!
  • Mark H. Told us that he can’t get the Last Memory psychic power from the Black Legion supplement to work on his GW psychic app. Is anyone else having this issue?
  • Privateer Press released a new colossal for Rhulic Dwarves!

41103_GhordsonEarthbreaker_WEB

 

Rumors: The Rumor Section is gathered from the web and is not in any way information we receive from  any manufacturer nor is it necessarily accurate. This section of the podcast is intended for entertainment purposes only.

  • The Independent Characters on their Facebook Page showed that the next SM supplement and it looks like it will be Clan Raukaan or the Iron Hands! Sweet! The Wrath of Iron book was really good.
  • Racially Specific terrain?! Coooooool. We’ll see if this turns out to be true but we would love to see that.

Rant Session

  • Reece has been ranting about game balance and tournament format and wanted to be sure it was clear he wasn’t trying to put other formats down in his wild rants!

Tactics Corner

  •  White Scars Rhino rush vs. Triptide Tau

Rules Lawyer

  • Further Comdemnor Boltgun discussion.
  • How do wound sin the wound pool work with different rages. Do you need to do a wound to get the increased reach?
    • Noah
    • This comes to us via Ryan B.
      • Do you reroll both dice when firing an Ordnance Weapon that also has Tank Hunters?
      • Can a character in a Chariot join a unit of Chariots? -Dylan M.

List Review

Commander

Puretide chip

Multi spectrum Suite

Iridium Armor

Command and control node

Shield Drones

Troops

Fire Warriors 12

Shasui

Fire Warriors 12 man

Shasui

Elites

Riptide

Ion acclerator

TL plasma rifle

Intercepter

Feel no pain

2 shielded missle drones

 

Fast Attack

Pathfinders 7man

Heavy Support

Broadsides 2 man

Intercepter

Skyray

Disruption pod

Space Marines

Tigarious

Troops

Tactical Squad 10man

Vet SGT

Meltagun

Drop pod

Tactical Squad 10

Vet SGT

Plasma gun

Drop pod

Devastators 5man

4 Lascannons

The Commander will be sitting in the Devastator squad, giving them Rerolls to hit, Ignore cover and Tankhunter or Monster hunter. That Tactical squads are there to go out and takobjectives while the Tau sit back and fire at stuff. Tigarious will be there to provide Psychic defense against other things while he twinlinks stuff for fun(Mostlikely the pathfinders)

 

Tags:

About Reecius

The fearless leader of the intrepid group of gamers gone retailers at Frontline Gaming!

22 Responses to “Warhammer 40K and General Gaming News, Rumors, Tactics and Jokes!”

  1. Avatar
    CaptainA October 26, 2013 8:46 am #

    So in the podcast, it seems like you are saying that if unit A has a bolt pistol, flamer, missle launcher, and bolters and shoots at unit B that is 48 inches away, then every model in unit A can shoot at unit B. Is that what you are saying?

    • Avatar
      Hotsauceman1 October 26, 2013 9:28 am #

      No. It can wound up to it. You can shoot beyond your range.

  2. Avatar
    Paul Cornelius October 26, 2013 9:11 am #

    Amusing episode. Naps are important.

    You guys gonna post show episode threads on the forum? Forum is super-convenient.

    • Reecius
      Reecius October 26, 2013 10:19 am #

      Done and yes, naps need to be taken from time to time.

  3. Avatar
    Hotsauceman1 October 26, 2013 9:25 am #

    It should be Cacophony: A harsh mixture of sounds.
    Also, thats for reviewing my list 🙂 I really want wait to try it 🙂

    • Reecius
      Reecius October 26, 2013 10:19 am #

      No worries, I think you will do well with it!

      • Avatar
        Hotsauceman1 October 26, 2013 2:56 pm #

        Thanks, I wanted t make a tau list that was good and was different

  4. Avatar
    Novastar87 October 26, 2013 10:10 am #

    Hey guys my question about characters in a chariot joining units of
    Chariots really only applies to a slaanesh herald in chariot joining a seeker cavalcade, IIRC that is the only chariot that can be bought in units

    • Reecius
      Reecius October 26, 2013 10:18 am #

      Understood. But, as a chariot is a vehicle, and to my knowledge, there is no precedent for a vehicle joining a unit of vehicles, I would say no. An IC embarked on a vehicle can no longer join units.

      • Avatar
        novaStar October 26, 2013 11:15 am #

        well then he will slyly stay near a unit of chariots lol

        • Reecius
          Reecius October 27, 2013 11:37 am #

          Hahaha, maybe no one will notice him!

  5. Avatar
    steven morrow October 26, 2013 1:39 pm #

    I am going to ask for something crazy and thats a review of dark eldar wth tips and strategies by mr cheese Frankie himself.

    • Reecius
      Reecius October 27, 2013 11:37 am #

      Frankie will help you out, for sure!

  6. Avatar
    Noah October 26, 2013 2:13 pm #

    What brought that question up is let’s say you have a Chapter Master in a squad of tactical marines shooting at some other unit. All the bolter marines are in range of only one model in that other unit however the Chapter Master fires his orbital bombardment which range is unlimited. Because the range of the OB is unlimited the boltgun wounds can wound any model in the unit. What confused me was I didn’t see anything that actually required you to hit or miss with the OB just as long as you were within range and LoS during the To Hit roll phase.

  7. Avatar
    Julnlecs October 27, 2013 2:43 am #

    Noah I believe you actually have to wound with the OB, therefore also hit with it.

  8. Avatar
    Ming October 27, 2013 5:42 am #

    Sometimes I feel like I play or paint or think slow. What were you on in this podcast because dang you all talked so fast? Zombie shots? Monster?

    • Reecius
      Reecius October 27, 2013 11:36 am #

      Sorry if we were talking to fast we were a little delirious!

  9. Avatar
    6thstreetAlan October 28, 2013 9:12 am #

    Okay I am going on record that you guys are all wrong on these bolt gun interpretations.

    When GW releases a FAQ and clearly states that you can not snipe out Psykers hiding inside units.

    • Reecius
      Reecius October 28, 2013 10:05 am #

      So what is your reading, Alan? That it has to hit the psyker? That is how the Grey Knights wargear is worded but this one is different, intentionally different, IMO as there are some subtle changes between this and the GK dex that indicate to me it was purposeful such as the Crusader and DCAs getting Power Swords instead of weapons, etc.

  10. Avatar
    6thstreetAlan October 29, 2013 8:58 am #

    Well lets look at the wording of the rule:

    Psi-shock – Any unit with the psyker special rule , brotherhood of psyker special rule, or psychic pilot special rule that is hit by a weapon with this special rule suffers a perils of the warp.

    Now I will try my best to construct a logical statement.

    P1: In order to be affected by the Psi-shock special rule your unit must have the “Psyker Special Rule”

    P2: If a Psi-shock weapon hits a unit without the psyker special rule it would have no effect other than the normal damage output

    P3: An independent character with the psyker special rule can join a unit.

    P4: While an independent character is part of a unit he counts as part of that unit for all rules purposes. pg39 RB

    P5: Some special rules which and Independent Character may carry can confer to their unit.

    P6: Units joined by an Independent Character with a special rule that do not confer do not receive that special rule.

    P7: The Psyker special rule does not confer to the unit

    Therefore, a psyker who has joined a unit does not confer the psyker special rule to that unit and the unit does not have the psyker special rule which it would require in order to be affected in anyway by the psi-shock special ability.

    Furthermore, even if an Independent character with the psyker special rule happened to be the closest model to the unit firing that independent character would still be unaffected y psi-shock because he is a part of a unit that does not have the psyker special rule.

    Here is another counter:

    P1: The word Model is used often in the 40k rule book

    P2: The psi-shock rule could have written “Any unit with a MODEL that has …….”

    P3: The author did not use the word model but instead used the word unit.

    Therefore, it is probable that the author never intended to target hidden psykers but intended the rule to only impact the dozen power single model psykers in the game which are going to have a hard time with psi-shock.

    • Reecius
      Reecius October 29, 2013 10:57 am #

      Alan, your logic is flawed or has unintended consequences you may not be seeing.

      If the unit does not contain the psyker rules when joined by a psyker, then the psyker would cease to be a psyker. You would therefore no longer be able cast psychic powers while the psyker is in the unit. You can’t argue that he no longer has the psyker rules while in the unit without accepting both consequences.

      If you argue that he can still use his psychic powers while in a unit of non-psykers, then the unit does contain the psyker rules and is subject to the condemnor boltgun. However, as the psyker is the only model subject to its effects, he is hit by it.

      I just hope they FAQ the stupid thing. However, on a personal note, I think that this is good for the game. I vote with my conscious on this one that that is what the language of the rule indicates, but as a nice benefit I think this will help bring balance to the game.

  11. Avatar
    6thstreetAlan October 29, 2013 9:00 am #

    Why do I feel like your response will be I accept your premise I reject your conclusion.

Leave a Reply