Signals from the Frontline: Warhammer 40K and General Gaming News, Rumors, Reviews, Tactics and Bad Jokes!

signals from the Frontline

Signals from the Frontline: Warhammer 40K and General Gaming News, Rumors, Reviews, Tactics and Bad Jokes!

Press play to listen to the podcast, live feed at the bottom of the notes.

Show Notes

7-16-13 Show Notes

News

  • Pacific Rim was awesome!
  • We got our Apoc goodies in! Shipments will be going out today. The new kits are gigantic, too!
  • Rich, whom sent in a list for review, said he followed our advice and added in some cultists into his Chaos army and said it has been performing much better for him. Sweet! Dylan also called in to say the list advice we gave helped him out, too! Nice one.
  • Another cool Khorne Mower conversion was sent in to us showing how you can make one of these bad boys into a walker!

khorne mower walker

  • Warlord Games is offering free worldwide postage until the end of July and also releases the new Jagdpanzer tank.

WGB-WM-189-Jagdpanzer-IV-L48-a-600x518

  • Mecha Front releases a new concept image for their game.

mecha front

  • HiTech releases new Mantas, which look a lot like all of their other guys, but still very cool.

Mantas_Final_1

Rumors

  • More whispers on the wind about possible 40K supplements that will pair off famous enemies against one another! That would be super cool.

Rant Session

  • Thanks for all the community feedback on us starting up with Fantasy.
  • A listener wrote in asking about our experiences with competitive and casual gaming groups.

Rules Lawyer

  • This comes to us via Cameron B.
  • This has to do with order of operations in determining characteristic modifiers (page 2).
  • At the beginning of the chaos turn, Typhus casts Gift of Contagion on Ghazghkull and rolls a 3, so Ghazghkull has -1 S and -1 T.
  • On the Ork turn, Ghazghkull charges Typhus. Ghazghkull has a power klaw and furious charge, and his base strength is 5.
  • Is Ghazghkull’s attack resolved at S10 or S9? What this comes down to is if Gift of Contagion counts as a “combination of rules or wargear that modifies a characteristic”. Some have argued that since it happened on the previous player turn, it now is counted as the base characteristic, so it applies before multiplication.
  • Also, to follow up on your video battle report, what happens when a chaos lord rolls a 25 on the chaos boon table, does that permanently alter their base characteristic, or is it applied after multiplication like a normal “rule that modifies a characteristic”.
  • Reserves and psychic powers.

List Review

CSM

HQ

Lord

-2 lightning claws

-aura of dark glory

-melta bomb

-steed of slaanesh

Troops

10 cultists

10 cultists

5 noise marines

-blast master

5 noise marines

-blast master

Fast

4 spawn

4 nurgle spawn

Heavy

2 nurgle obliterators

Daemon Allies

HQ

Tzeentch Herald

-disc

-level 3

-exalted reward

Troop

10 plague bearers

16 daemonettes

8 screamers

  • 1500 on the nose. the plan is to have the lord with the unmarked spawn allowing them to out flanked if needed. the tzeentch herald joins the screamers. the noise marines sit in the back field and blast things with the blast master. nurgle spawn rush the enemy. plague bearers sit on objectives. cultists deck chair and the oblits deep strike when needed other wise hang back and shoot. I know the lord might be better as a nurgle lord on a bike but need the slannesh mark for the noise marines and out flank ability. the lord and spawn unit will pick on troops and other units they are able to bully. any advice would be great thanks.

Tags:

About Reecius

The fearless leader of the intrepid group of gamers gone retailers at Frontline Gaming!

21 Responses to “Signals from the Frontline: Warhammer 40K and General Gaming News, Rumors, Reviews, Tactics and Bad Jokes!”

  1. Nova Star July 16, 2013 9:06 am
    #

    The skull dozers legs look to be made from the blood tanks he normally has on
    the tracked section

    6s to Ninja Star….

    • Reecius
      Reecius July 16, 2013 1:29 pm
      #

      Yeah, that’s awesome! What a cool conversion.

  2. Hotsauceman1 July 16, 2013 9:07 am
    #

    Funny part about Pacific Rim, Jeager is german for hunter, yet no german suit like you said.

    • Reecius
      Reecius July 16, 2013 1:29 pm
      #

      I would have liked to have seen a German suit in there! Oh well.

  3. umbo July 16, 2013 9:15 am
    #

    Good rules points in this, GW please listen 🙂

    Another one for you, ignore cover special rule says against ‘wounds’… so does it not affect vehicles but on page 75 it says vehicles take cover save exactly like non vehicle model would do against a wound.

    • Reecius
      Reecius July 16, 2013 1:32 pm
      #

      Yeah, rending uses that same terminology and in the past invul saves said they only worked against wounds, however, vehicles had them. I think it was an oversight.

  4. Vidar July 17, 2013 4:32 am
    #

    Pacific Rim did $91million opening weekend. Never doubt giant robots.

    • Reecius
      Reecius July 17, 2013 8:47 am
      #

      Nice one! Yeah, never doubt Giant Robots and always doubt Frankie! haha

  5. Vidar July 17, 2013 4:41 am
    #

    I like this rules lawyer section. Very useful.

    • Reecius
      Reecius July 17, 2013 8:50 am
      #

      Yeah, it has proven to be pretty popular.

  6. Nova Star July 17, 2013 12:46 pm
    #

    So the skull dozer is a giant walker that can tank shock, does he have to charge
    The unit he tanked shocked?

  7. Cameron July 17, 2013 6:38 pm
    #

    I don’t know what the correct answer is on order of operations for stat modifiers, but I can articulate the opposing argument.

    The rulebook never mentions anything about timing when telling you how to do order of operations. It doesn’t say “if it’s in a previous phase, it now counts as part of the base stat”… the only reference to this that that I’m aware of is with hammerhand in the grey knights codex, where it specifically states that the stat increase comes before the doubling from a power fist… and the fact that it needs to specifically outline this implies that it is an exception to the normal rule.

    The only thing the BRB says right now is this (page 2):

    “If a model has a combination of rules or wargear that modify a characteristic, first apply any multipliers, then apply any additions or subtractions, and finally apply set values.”

    So in the specific case on the podcast, ask yourself, “is Gift of Contagion a rule that modifies a characteristic?”

    “Yes”

    Then it goes in the order of operations with everything else. Multiplication first, then the +1 and -1 from furious charge and Gift of Contagion. S10.

    If you say that timing, or how “permanent” a modifier is, or what phase the modifier occurred in changes this rule… there’s nothing in the rulebook to base that on! Where does that come from?

    “Is Champion of Chaos a ‘rule that modifies a characteristic’?”

    “Yes”

    Then the order of operations apply. Multiplication first, then the Chaos Boon.

    Again, I don’t know what the real answer is, but that’s the opposing argument.

    • Reecius
      Reecius July 17, 2013 7:22 pm
      #

      Very good RAW argument and I can not refute it, honestly. However, logically, I think the RAI interpretation is the one I would personally go with. However, I fully disclose that I agree that your reading of the rule is more soundly based in RAW. I think it is something you should definitely ask your TO prior to going to an event.

      Just to clarify, you read it as: if a model has a negative modifier applied to it, such as -1 strength (as with Enfeeble), but also has a fist (or Klaw, whatever) that it’s attack would be resolved at (X*2)-1, correct? So a strength 4 model would swing his fist at 7? If so, again, I agree with you on RAW but I have never seen it played that way. Players intuitively apply the penalty before multiplication. That isn’t to say it is the right way to play, but that is the way I see it done.

      • Cameron July 18, 2013 8:07 pm
        #

        S7 would be my interpretation for the scenario you outlined above.

        What about about a tervigon with warp speed?

        Since there’s a specific FAQ about adding the extra attacks for a charge after a smash, and you add the bonus for crushing claws after a smash (it technically happens before the smash, but at least it’s in the same phase), everyone I know plays that the bonus attacks for warp speed also apply after a smash (even though warp speed was cast in the movement phase), and it has never been a point of contention.

        So a charging tervigon with warp speed and crushing claws would halve its base attacks characteristic down to 2, then include all the addition bonuses. It would have 2 + 1 + d3 + d3 S10 AP2 attacks.

        • Reecius
          Reecius July 20, 2013 8:20 am
          #

          Even things that permanently buff your stats, like a boon of mutation? Again, I think your reading is right it just doesn’t feel right.

          • Cameron July 21, 2013 6:28 pm
            #

            “This boon lasts for the rest of the game, make a note of it on your army roster next to that character’s entry”

            That’s the strongest language I’ve seen that would *imply* that you have actually changed the base stat.

          • Reecius
            Reecius July 22, 2013 9:08 am
            #

            That is what we were thinking, however still as you pointed out, we’re still adding rules there that aren’t actually in the rules. It makes sense logically, but there are no rules to support our argument other than common sense.

  8. WarlordEXE July 18, 2013 8:07 am
    #

    Doesn’t the wraithknight technically have two pilots?….

    • Reecius
      Reecius July 18, 2013 10:22 am
      #

      Yes, but one’s dead!!!! I see dead people!!

  9. Rollawaythestone July 19, 2013 12:52 pm
    #

    It’s called Pacific Rim for a reason. Only countries surrounding the Pacific Ocean have giant robots.

    • Reecius
      Reecius July 20, 2013 8:19 am
      #

      Guess that was a bit obvious, hahaha, but still, then Japan would for sure have a robot!