BAO Tournament FAQ v 1.2

bay area open logo

BAO Tournament FAQ V1.2

(Free for use and modification by any TO’s who choose to do so)

Warhammer 40,000 Rules Addendum

This is the official and final version of the FAQ that will be used at the BAO. We use this as a tool to fill the gaps left in official rules, errata and FAQ’s.

Warhammer 40,000 Rule Book General Principles

• When an attack removes a model from play (e.g. a failed initiative test from Jaws of the World Wolf), that model is considered to be removed as a casualty.

The Movement Phase

• A Tank is allowed to move through non- vehicle enemy models not locked in close combat when it turns on the spot to “aim” as part of a Tank Shock. Units moved through in this way count as being Tank Shocked and models in the path of the pivot may make Death or Glory attacks (provided the unit passes its Morale test). [pgs. 76 & 85, W40KRB]

The Shooting Phase

• Models that Turbo-boost in the Shooting phase can move any number of inches (up to the maximum for their unit type) in any combination of directions, potentially ending the phase in the exact same position. [pg. 45, W40KRB]

• When a unit makes a shooting attack, so long as a model in the target unit was within range and LoS of at least one model in the firing unit when To Hit rolls were made, then the target model may have wounds allocated to it and be removed as a casualty.

o Ex 1: A unit of 10 Grey Hunters with 8 Boltguns and 2 Meltaguns fires at a unit of Chaos Space Marines. The Space Wolves player chooses to resolve the Boltgun wounds first. After armor saves are made for the Boltgun wounds, the closest CSM is beyond the 12” range of either Meltagunner. This CSM model may still have the Meltagun wounds allocated to it and be removed as a casualty if any one of the Boltgun wielding Grey Hunters had range and LoS to it when To Hit rolls were made.

o Ex 2: A Space Marine Tactical Squad with 4 Boltguns and a Lascannon shoots at a unit of Ork Boys. All 4 Boltgun wielding Marines have range and LoS to the same Ork Boy, but only that Boy. The Lascannon Marine has range and LoS to the entire Ork Boy unit. All Ork Boys in the unit can have unsaved wounds allocated to them and be removed as casualties. [pg. 3, W40KRB FAQ]

The Assault Phase

• Units are considered to be locked in close combat as soon as any enemy model moves into base to base contact with them. This prevents the unit from firing Overwatch against other units charging them later in the same phase. [pg. 23, W40KRB]

• Units may choose not to make a Consolidation move after winning an assault. If they choose not to, all models in the unit are left in their exact positions. [pg. 27, W40KRB]

• If a unit chooses to make a Consolidation move, then all models in the unit must end this movement 1” away from all enemy models, including any enemy vehicles they may have just attacked in close combat. [pg. 27, W40KRB]

Psykers/Psychic Powers

• Multiple instances of the same Malediction cast by different models do stack with each other. [pg. 68, W40KRB]

• Zooming Flyers do not suffer the Strength 1 hit with the Haywire special rule when targeted by the Objuration Mechanicum psychic power. The other effects of the power apply normally. [pgs. 3 & 6, W40KRB FAQ]

Universal Special Rules

• When an unsaved wound caused by a Blast, Large Blast or Template weapon is doubled due to the Swarms special rule, this only occurs after the wound has actually been allocated to a particular model in the unit, not when a wound is still in the wound pool. If the particular model has only one remaining wound, excess doubled wounds are lost.

o Ex 1: A S4 Flamer that causes 3 unsaved wounds to a unit of unwounded Necron Scarabs would result in one Scarab base being killed, while another base would be left with 1 wound remaining.

o Ex 2: A Baleflamer inflicts 4 unsaved wounds onto a unit of unwounded Necron Scarabs. As these unsaved wounds inflict Instant Death when allocated onto a Scarab base, a total of 4 bases end up being killed. [pgs. 16 & 43, W40KRB]

• A unit can perform a Vector Strike in the same turn that it leaves Combat Airspace. [pgs. 43 & 81, W40KRB]

Flyers and Flying Monstrous Creatures

• Any attacks or special abilities that can cause damage (i.e. hits, wounds and/or vehicle damage) without rolling to hit (e.g. an Ork Weirdboy’s Zzap psychic power, Imotekh’s Lord of the Storm or Njal’s Lord of Tempests special rules) have no effect on Zooming Flyers and Swooping Flying Monstrous Creatures. This is true even if the attacking unit has the Skyfire special rule. [pg. 3, W40KRB FAQ]

• For ease of tournament play, at this event, all vehicle weapons are assumed to be able to swivel vertically 180 degrees on their mount, instead of the normal 45 degrees. [pg. 72, W40KRB]

Blast Weapons

• Models completely out of LoS of the firing unit can be hit by a blast template and add wounds to the wound pool for the shooting attack. However, models completely out of LoS cannot have unsaved wounds allocated to them, and so cannot be removed as casualties. Vehicles completely out of the firing unit’s LoS are unaffected by the blast. [pg. 16, W40KRB]

Template Weapons

• Models completely out of LoS of the firing unit can be hit by a template weapon and add wounds to the wound pool for the shooting attack. However, models completely of out LoS cannot have unsaved wounds allocated to them, and so cannot be removed as casualties. Vehicles completely out of the firing unit’s LoS are unaffected by the template. [pg. 16, W40KRB]

• Template weapons with the Torrent special rule must still abide by all relevant targeting and casualty removal rules of a template weapon. [pg. 43, W40KRB]

Allies

• A unit with an allied Independent Character attached cannot embark, nor begin the game embarked, upon a transport vehicle. [pg. 112, W40KRB]

• Allies of Convenience are scoring units for the purchasing player, provided they meet the normal requirements to be a scoring unit. [pgs. 112 & 123, W40KRB]

• Allies of Convenience are never counted as denial units against the purchasing player. [pg. 112, W40KRB]

• Attacks, wargear, and special rules that automatically affect enemy units are resolved normally against Allies of Convenience.

Fortifications

• Fortifications are not considered enemy or friendly units, do not generate Victory Points when destroyed, do not trigger effects caused by destroying a unit, and do not count as a surviving model in the purchasing player’s army. [pg. 44, W40KRB]

• Gun emplacements are not affected by psychic powers (other than psychic shooting attacks) and tank shocks.

• Gun emplacements cannot be charged. However, if while charging another unit a gun emplacement is engaged in close combat, then attacks may be directed at the gun emplacement as though it is a separate unit. [pgs. 44 & 105, W40KRB]

• Both players may have a model in base contact with the same gun emplacement (provided they are 1” apart) and both models may fire it in consecutive Shooting phases. [pg. 105, W40KRB]

• Any model with a BS greater than 0 may fire a gun emplacement, including vehicles and models without a ranged weapon. [pg. 105, W40KRB]

• Models on top of a Bastion that are obscured by the battlements receive a 4+ cover save. [pgs. 95 & 97, W40KRB]

• Models obscured by a ruined bastion receive a 4+ cover save. [pg. 18, W40KRB]

• Models behind a Bastion and obscured by the building portion of the fortification receive a 3+ cover save. [pg. 18, W40KRB]

• The purchased Comms Relay and gun emplacement for a Bastion must be placed on the fortification’s roof.

• For the purposes of movement and unit coherency, treat the Skyshield Landing Pad like a ruin without a base and one upper level. [pgs. 98 & 115, W40KRB]

• Only models physically on top of a shielded Skyshield Landing Pad gain the 4+ invulnerable save. [pg. 115, W40KRB]

• The shielding walls of a Skyshield Landing Pad are battlements and provide a 4+ cover save to models obscured by them. [pgs. 95 & 115, W40KRB]

• Models obscured by the leg/pillar portion of a Skyshield Landing Pad receive a 3+ cover save. [pg. 18, W40KRB]

Missions

• For ease of tournament play, at this event, a scoring unit is always considered to be a denial unit as well. [pg. 123, W40KRB]

• A Fast Attack/Heavy Support unit with the Swarms special rule (or any other special rule that specifies the unit never counts as being scoring) does not count as being a scoring unit, even when playing the Scouring or Big Guns Never Tire missions. [pg. 123, W40KRB]

• In The Relic mission, if the relic is dropped because it moves more than 6” in a single phase then it is dropped from the position where the carrying model began that phase.[pg. 131, W40KRB]

• In the Relic mission, if the model carrying the relic leaves the table for any reason then it is dropped from the position where the carrying model began that phase. [pg. 131, W40KRB]

• Units embarked on a transport cannot achieve the Linebreaker Secondary Objective for being in the enemy’s deployment zone. [pg. 122, W40KRB]

Drop Pods

• Models disembarking from a drop pod can make a normal move ending wholly within 6” of the pod.

• When a drop pod deploys it is treated as suffering an immobilized damage result and removes a hull point.

• If a drop pod deploys into dangerous terrain and fails its DT test, it is treated as an already immobilized vehicle suffering a second immobilized result. It therefore removes two more hull points and is wrecked.

• If a drop pod is wrecked because of a failed dangerous terrain test, the unit inside is considered to be disembarking from a wrecked vehicle. They must end their disembarkation move wholly within 3” of the drop pod and take a Pinning test.

• The doors of a drop pod model are ignored for all game purposes (e.g. they never block LoS, they may not be disembarked from, and enemy models do not need to remain 1” away from them).

• Units embarked upon a drop pod transport, and Independent Characters attached to those units, are ignored for the purposes of calculating the number of units that may be held in Reserves. This means that a drop pod themed army could potentially begin the game with every unit in Reserves. [pg. 36, W40KRB]

Black Templars

Blood Angels

• The Blood Lance psychic power has no effect against Zooming Flyers and Swooping Flying Monstrous Creatures. [pg. 3, W40KRB FAQ]

Chaos Daemons

• When Chaos Daemons are taken as an allied detachment, two Daemonic Heralds may still be taken as a single HQ selection. [pg. 80, C:CD]

• Epidemius’ Tally of Pestilence special rule can allow non-daemon followers of Nurgle to benefit from Noxious Touch. [pgs. 52 & 75, C:CD]

• A unit of Screamers of Tzeentch cannot make Slash Attacks against Zooming Flyers or Swooping Flying Monstrous Creatures. [pg. 4, C:CD Supp]

Chaos Space Marines

• A model without the Champion of Chaos special rule may attempt a Glorious Intervention to save a model with the Champion of Chaos rule. [pg. 65, W40KRB]

• Two Independent Characters with different Marks of Chaos can both join the same unmarked unit. [pg. 30, C:CSM]

• Force weapons cannot cause Instant Death to Kharn the Betrayer even if their strength is double or more than his toughness value (e.g. a Nemesis Daemonhammer). [pg. 59, C:CSM]

• A Warpsmith cannot use a fire point to curse an enemy vehicle with the Master of Mechanisms special rule while embarked on a vehicle. [pg. 34, C:CSM]

• Plague Zombies can man gun emplacements and fire emplaced weapons. [pg. 105, W40KRB]

• LoS for a Helldrake is drawn from the head of the model. The head has a 360 degree LoS and ignores the rest of the Helldrake model when drawing LoS. [pg. 1, C:CSM FAQ]

• Models with a Chaos bike may use their twin linked bolter as the replacement when the Chaos Wargear Lists says, “a model can replace one weapon with…” [pg. 91, C:CSM]

• A Dimensional Key does not override the effects of the Jamming Beacon wargear on a Land Speeder Storm. [pg. 69, C:CSM]

Dark Angels

• Dark Angels units using the Deathwing Assault special rule are ignored for the purposes of calculating the number of units that may be held in Reserves. [pg. 44, C:DA]

• A unit containing Belial that uses the Gate of Infinity psychic power to Deep Strike does not scatter. Also, the unit does not need to roll to see if a model is claimed by the warp. [pg. 56, C:DA]

• Ezekiel does benefit from the Book of Salvation wargear, effectively making him WS6. [pg. 54, C:DA]

• A Deathwing Terminator model can take a Cyclone Missile Launcher and Thunderhammer/Storm Shield. [pg. 99, C:DA]

• The following weapons are considered to be Boltguns when using the Standard of Devastation: Boltguns, Twin-linked Boltguns, Master-crafted Boltguns, Hurricane Bolters, and Combi-weapons (when fired as a Boltgun). Also note that the terms Boltgun and Bolter are always used interchangeably. [pg. 66, C:DA]

• The Shroud of Angels special rule means that two Ravenwing Darkshrouds within 6” of one another give each other Stealth. This Stealth stacks with the Shrouded the Dark Talons already have. [pg. 49, C:DA]

Dark Eldar

• The Penetrating Blade special rule applies to all of Lelith Hesperex’s attacks, including ranged attacks. [pg. 49, C:DE]

Eldar

• An Eldar Independent Character joined to a Dark Eldar unit cannot be the target of a psychic power that must be cast on an Eldar Unit. [pg. 39, W40KRB]

• An Eldar unit with a Dark Eldar Independent Character joined to it can be the target of a psychic power that must be cast on an Eldar Unit. While joined, the effects of the psychic power apply to the Dark Eldar character. [pg. 39, W40KRB]

• Phoenix Lords do not directly convey their unit benefits to non-aspect warrior units. However, if a Phoenix Lord has a special rule that would apply to any unit they join, those rules do apply to non-aspect warrior units joined by the Pheonix Lord (e.g. Khandras does not give the Stealth special rule to a unit of Guardians. But if Khandras joins a unit of Guardians the entire unit benefits from Stealth while he is attached). [pg 54, C:EDR]

• If Prince Yriel chooses to use his Eye of Wrath wargear while he is involved in a challenge, place the large blast template normally. The enemy model also involved in the challenge is treated as being in a separate unit from any other units hit by the template. Wounds are then determined normally for each effected unit, removing casualties in order of closest to Prince Yriel. Using the Eye of Wrath in this way allows Prince Yriel to wound models not directly involved in the challenge. [pg. 53, C:EDR]

• Cover saves may not be taken against Prince Yriel’s Eye of Wrath attacks. [pg. 53, C:EDR]

• A Swooping Hawk unit that uses the Skyleap special rule to go back into reserves goes into Reserves, not Ongoing Reserves, and will therefore need to roll to return to the table on turns 2 and 3. [pg. 35, C:EDR]

• Vibro Cannon attacks have no effect against Zooming Flyers and Swooping Flying Monstrous Creatures. [pg. 3, W40KRB FAQ]

• A model with the Eternal Warrior special rule still dies automatically and is removed if it fails its leadership test after being wounded by a Diresword. [pg. 30, C:EDR]

• An Ally of Convenience attempting to cast a psychic power is affected by the Runes of Warding wargear. [pg. 112, W40KRB]

Grey Knights

• Allied units cannot benefit from the Grand Strategy special rule. [pg. 22, C:GK]

• A Neural Shredder uses the majority leadership of the target unit when rolling to wound. [pg. 53, C:GK]

Imperial Guard

• Parts of an Imperial Guard Infantry Platoon may be placed into Reserves while the rest of the Platoon is deployed. The units deployed are counted as a single unit in missions that limit the number of units that can be deployed. In addition, when making a reserve or outflanking roll, roll once for all the units placed in Reserves from the same Platoon. Any units in Reserves that are embarked upon a non-dedicated transport are instead rolled for separately. [pg. 1, C:IG FAQ]

Necrons

• If a model with the Reanimation Protocol special rule is part of a unit caught in a Sweeping Advance, do not place a Reanimation Protocol or Ever Living counter next to the unit. [pg. 27, W40KRB]

• A successful Feel No Pain roll does not negate the armor reducing effects of the Entropic Strike special rule. [pg. 35, W40KRB]

• If a Cryptek or any Independent Character is joined to a unit of Deathmarks, that model also benefits from the Hunters from Hyperspace special rule. [pg. 39, W40KRB]

• A Doom Scythe’s Death Ray is a hull mounted weapon, but the two points picked for it do not have to be within the weapon’s arc of sight. However, only models in the Doom Scythe’s LoS and range (including the range and LoS drawn from the Tesla Destructor, if fired) can have unsaved wounds allocated to them and be removed as causalities. For casualty removal purposes the Death Ray’s range is 12” plus the 3D6” rolled for its second point. Vehicles completely out of the Doom Scythe’s LoS are unaffected by the attack. Note that the Death Ray line may still pass over models completely out of LoS and cause hits on that unit. But in order to cause any casualties, at least one model in the unit must be within range and LoS of the Doom Scythe. [pg. 3, W40KRB FAQ]

• The player whose turn it is determines whether the effects of mindschackle scarabs and whip coils are resolved before or after models involved in a challenge are moved into base to base contact. [pg. 9, W40KRB]

• When Mindshackle Scarabs are controlling a Deathwing Knight, either the Necron or Dark Angels player can choose to activate the unit’s Smite Mode and all Deathwing Knights in the unit must follow suit. However, if one player is striking at a higher Initiative step than the other player (e.g. the mindshackled Deathwing Knight is also being affected by a whip coil), then whichever mode the first attacking Deathwing Knight(s) choose to attack in will apply to all Deathwing Knights from the same unit. The Chronometron wargear can only be used on rolls of a single D6 (e.g. an armor save) not rolls that use multiple dice (e.g. a leadership test). [pg. 85, C:NCR]

Orks

• Models turned into a squig by the Zogwart’s Curse special rule are not considered to be removed as casualties. Neither is the model considered “destroyed” for the purposes of Victory Points, or other game effects, until the squig is removed as a casualty. Any special rules that would have triggered when the original model was removed as a casualty (e.g. Saint Celestine’s Miraculous Intervention) are effectively ignored and do not trigger, even if the squig is later removed as a casualty. [pg. 61, C:ORK]

Sisters of Battle

• If Saint Celestine is turned into a Squig by the Zogwart’s Curse special rule in the Orks codex her Miraculous Intervention special rule is effectively ignored. [pg. 61, C:ORK]

• If Saint Celestine is turned into a Chaos Spawn using the Boon of Mutation special rule in the Chaos Daemons codex she is considered to be removed as a casualty. Place the Miraculous Intervention counter at the spot where she was turned into a spawn and roll normally for her return. The spawn version of Celestine remains in play whether or not she returns to the game. This means there could be multiple spawn versions of Celestine on the table. [pg. 73, C:CD]

• Attacks and special rules that reduce a characteristic or apply an ongoing effect to Saint Celestine (e.g. the Entropic Strike special rule) still apply if she returns to the game via Miraculous Intervention. [pg. 103, WD379]

Space Marines

Space Wolves

• If an Ally of Convenience casts a psychic power within 24” of a Runic Weapon the Space Wolves player must roll a D6, and on a 4+ (3+ for Njal) that power is nullified. This is done instead of the Deny the Witch roll the opposing player would normally make. [pg. 112, W40KRB]

• Jump Infantry and Jump Monstrous Creatures (e.g. a Nemesis Dreadknight with Personal Teleporter) are affected normally by Jaws of the World Wolf. Flying Monstrous Creatures however, regardless of what flight mode they are in, are not. [pgs. 47 & 49, W40KRB]

Tau Empire

Tyranids

• A Tervigon cannot spawn Termagants in the same turn that it uses the Gate of Infinity psychic power. [pg. 52, C:TYR & pg. 146, W40KRB]

• Units with the Stubborn special rule ignore the Deathleaper’s It’s After Me rule when taking Morale or Pinning tests. [pg. 59, C:TYR]

Skies of Blood

• The updated rules, points costs and unit availability can be seen here and will be available for use at the BAO: http://apocalypse40k.blogspot.ca/2013/02/death-from-skies-rules-pictures.html

Please note, that only the updated rules will be in use at the BAO, not the Fighter Ace Upgrades.

Tags:

About Reecius

The fearless leader of the intrepid group of gamers gone retailers at Frontline Gaming!

51 Responses to “BAO Tournament FAQ v 1.2”

  1. Hippesthippo February 22, 2013 12:49 pm #

    I disagree with the two instances in which you’ve changed the rules (vertical firing arcs, scouring/biggunz denial), but I understand why you’ve done it.

    Seems to be some formatting typos in the hitting flyers with abilities that don’t roll to hit section.

    Overall, looks good. Great work, Reece.

    Also, can scarabs deny objectives on the scouring? You should make that clear.

    Cheers,
    Ken

    • Reecius
      Reecius February 22, 2013 1:56 pm #

      Yeah, I understand your points completely, and we debated this for a looooong time. Essentailly what it came down to was keeping events running smoothly. We’ve run 3 big events in 6th so far, and I would say one of the top 3 most common questions I get is the fire arc on fliers. It is really confusing for a lot of players and to make it simple and free up judge time from constantly making rulings on LoS for fliers, we decided on this.

      The vehicles being denial units was the same thing. Most people play it that way and when you have a game lost because someone didn’t realize the rule was counter-intuitive, people get royally pissed. We again ruled in favor of ease of play.

      Thanks for pointing out the formatting errors, I will go in and fix that. I thought I caught them all but I must have missed one. I will double check on Scarabs, that is important as you know we’ll be seeing scarabs.

      Thanks for the support though, I know these documents will never be perfect (I got voted down on a number of these, I know the feeling well) but I think a rule set we can all play be is more important.

    • yakface February 23, 2013 12:01 am #

      Ken,

      Why would you wonder if Scarabs (Swarms) can deny in Scouring missions based on the FAQ?

      Yes, the FAQ says all scoring units are also always denial units, but right below that the ruling says:

      • A Fast Attack/Heavy Support unit with the Swarms special rule (or any other special rule that specifies the unit never counts as being scoring) does not count as being a scoring unit, even when playing the Scouring or Big Guns Never Tire missions. [pg. 123, W40KRB]

      So since a Swarm is never a scoring unit, it would not be a denial unit either (because its natural state per the rulebook on pg 123 is that Swarms are not denial units).

      • Hippesthippo February 23, 2013 5:11 pm #

        Because with all of the changes it could potentially be confusing. You bother to mention they aren’t scoring, but say nothing about not being denial units.. Shortly after saying that every fast attack is a denial unit on the scouring.

        I understand they aren’t. Will other people?

        • Hippesthippo February 23, 2013 8:00 pm #

          I suppose after reading through it again, you’re right. It is clear as it is. Did I misread it the first time, or did the writing in that section change? Hmmm… Seems I’m getting old.

  2. Adam
    Adam February 22, 2013 2:36 pm #

    Any model with a BS greater than 0 may fire a gun emplacement, including vehicles and models without a ranged weapon. [pg. 105, W40KRB]

    So… Vehicles can, but nids cant? 🙁

    • Reecius
      Reecius February 22, 2013 2:40 pm #

      Yeah, weird that a Rhino can but a Nid can’t but that is RAW.

      • Adam
        Adam February 22, 2013 2:42 pm #

        Also, your Blast FAQ kind of means that barrage weapons cannot shoot models out of LOS. Is that correct?

        • Reecius
          Reecius February 22, 2013 3:02 pm #

          Nope, barrage rules modify blast rules and specifically state you do not need LoS.

          • Adam
            Adam February 22, 2013 3:11 pm
            #

            Ah, perfect, okay… I should stick to Fantasy, this shows what I know, haha.

          • Reecius
            Reecius February 22, 2013 3:14 pm
            #

            Ah no dude, speak your mind! I didn’t mean to come across as being mean or anything. We want people to give us feedback as it helps. It’s just that some folks go about it the wrong way, you were asking a legit question which is what we want.

        • yakface February 22, 2013 3:02 pm #

          Adam,

          Please remember these are not rules, but simply clarifications of the existing rules to give you an idea how a judge will rule. So a rule that is an exception to the normal rules would still apply…so weapons that don’t require line of sight would obviously not be beholden to the rule forbidding models out of LoS being a casualty.

          • Adam
            Adam February 22, 2013 3:11 pm
            #

            Oh I totally understand, I’m mostly pointing things out for the sake of clarity. I don’t mean to be disruptive at all, instead I want to be constructive to make sure people don’t try to take advantage of any of the rulings you guys put so much effort into.

            I’m not even playing 40k this year, doing Fantasy instead, I wish we could get one of these!

            You going to be there Yak?

  3. Black Blow Fly February 22, 2013 4:01 pm #

    I see some improvement. I would like a detailed verification why jump infantry and FMC are affected by Jaws.

    • Adam
      Adam February 22, 2013 4:34 pm #

      He explicitly said FMCs are not affected.

    • yakface February 22, 2013 4:47 pm #

      The rationale was this: Jump (and Jet Pack) in 6th edition are not full unit types anymore but rather just subsets of whatever main unit type they are added to. So Jump Infantry is a subset of infantry and Jump Monstrous Creature is a subset of Monstrous Creature. As JotWW affects both Infantry and Monstrous Creature it therefore also affects both Jump Infantry and Jump Monstrous Creatures. Flying Monstrous Creatures, on the other hand, are a completely separate unit type from Monstrous Creature (they just move like Jump Monstrous Creatures when Gliding) and therefore are NOT affected by JotWW.

      • Black Blow Fly February 23, 2013 5:33 pm #

        Where do the rules specifically state jump infantry is a subset of infantry? I would like a page number(s). Thanks!

        • yakface February 24, 2013 1:49 am #

          @BBF & Azgrim: Check out page 47 of the rulebook, specifically the bold text at the start of the jump and jet pack unit type sections. These two classifications can now be added to other unit types, which is why the new Daemons codex is supposed to have jet pack cavalry, for example.

          And Grizgrim, there is no such thing as flying infantry…check out the unit type rules and you’ll see.

          • Black Blow Fly February 24, 2013 5:05 am
            #

            Okay thanks.

          • Azgrim February 24, 2013 11:58 am
            #

            Flying infantry was merely there to poke holes in your logic but you just missed the point .We all know that there is no such thing as flying infantry (although it wouldn’t be hard for them to be played)

            FMC follow the same rules for MC everywhere ,expect if they are zooming. How are they magically different.

            regarding jet pack cavalry (which my or may not be a thing) ,every other daemon unit that functions similarly has historically been a jet bike or jump.

  4. John Whyte February 22, 2013 5:01 pm #

    When you saw ” Ex 2: A Space Marine Tactical Squad with 4 Boltguns and a Lascannon shoots at a unit of Ork Boys. All 4 Boltgun wielding Marines have range and LoS to the same Ork Boy, but only that Boy. The Lascannon Marine has range and LoS to the entire Ork Boy unit. All Ork Boys in the unit can have unsaved wounds allocated to them and be removed as casualties. [pg. 3, W40KRB FAQ]”

    I think your example should state whether the bolgun marines have LOS to the rest of the Ork Boy unit. I would assume from the rules that they would need LOS to kill other Ork Boys, but to me your example implies that they have no LOS to the rest of the unit. It was just confusing to me when I read it

  5. DeoSangre February 22, 2013 10:07 pm #

    So to be clear, if a vehicle counts as a scoring unit for either the primary OR secondary it will count as a scoring/denial unit in regards to Linebreaker?

  6. Schadenfreude February 23, 2013 1:34 pm #

    BAO 40k singles starts on the 2nd. The 6th ed chaos deamons codex is released on the 2nd. Are we going to use the current rules?

    • Reecius
      Reecius February 25, 2013 12:57 pm #

      No, considering it comes out DURING the event, haha, not going to use it the day of =)

  7. Sid February 23, 2013 6:37 pm #

    Will Troop, Heavy, and Fast attack dedicated transports count as scoring and denial units in missions as well?

    For example, will my Pathfinder Devilfish deny objectives in the Scouring or score in the mission? Thanks.

    • Reecius
      Reecius February 25, 2013 12:57 pm #

      I believe yes, let me double check that one.

      • SCP Yeeman February 26, 2013 10:30 am #

        Any update on this one? I too am wondering the same thing.

        • Reecius
          Reecius February 27, 2013 1:40 pm #

          Sorry for the delay, but no, they are not scoring.

          • sid February 27, 2013 3:04 pm
            #

            So if they dont score or deny than they do not offer up bonus points in the Big Gunz or Scouring missions then, correct?

            That would seem to make the most sense, otherwise you get all the negatives and no positives.

            Thanks for the clarifications!

          • Reecius
            Reecius February 27, 2013 3:43 pm
            #

            Absolutely! They do not give up extra points.

  8. Azgrim February 23, 2013 8:21 pm #

    How is there a distinction between FMC and MC but not jump and infantry?If there was flying infantry would they not be effected ??

  9. Douglas February 24, 2013 11:27 am #

    Can you target barrage weapons at models underneath the skyshield (the ground level.)

    How do template and blast markers work, do they just hit the top or bottom levels or both? What about scattering blasts….

    The skyshield is mentioned as ruins for movement only, what about these scenarios?

    • Reecius
      Reecius February 25, 2013 12:56 pm #

      As with a ruin, a barrage weapon could only hit the top level, blast weapons you choose a level so long as you have LoS.

  10. yakface February 24, 2013 5:00 pm #

    @Azgrim:

    But that IS the point. If you look at the rules, Flying Monstrous Creatures are clearly a different unit type and their rules specifically say that they only MOVE like Jump Monstrous Creatures, not that they ARE Jump Monstrous Creatures. If GW had made a separate unit type for flying Infantry, then that would not be affected by JotWW either. Again, if you look at the rules for the unit types carefully, I believe you will see the distinction.

  11. David Key February 25, 2013 11:33 am #

    Nice Reece!

    One point. Does not the unit entry for RW NightShrouds say that the stealth bubble does not affect NightShrouds? I don’t think they can affect each other for a 2+ cover. The book is pretty explicit.

    • yakface February 25, 2013 4:14 pm #

      David: We’re going with the updated wording in the digital (ipad) DA codex, which removed that statement about two NightShrouds not being able to help each other.

      • David Key February 26, 2013 8:46 am #

        I hope you have play tested that…
        The implications are huge.

  12. N.S. February 25, 2013 4:16 pm #

    “Dark Angels units using the Deathwing Assault special rule are ignored for the purposes of calculating the number of units that may be held in Reserves”

    This seems like a house ruling. RAW this does not work at all. This is one hell of an advantage for us DA players.

    • yakface February 25, 2013 9:54 pm #

      The timing on when Deathwing Assault is declared happens before deployment, so when it comes time for deployment and the player has to check and see how many units he can put into reserve, those units are no longer part of the pool of potential units.

      More importantly, there are already a lot of different army builds that can put all (or nearly all) of their units into reserve if they want, so its really not that big a deal. You still have to have something on the table not to auto-lose.

      • N.S. February 25, 2013 10:39 pm #

        Ah well then maybe you could clarify some things for me.

        #1 Q: Do Dark Eldar allies count as Eldar for the Farseer psychic powers Fortune and Guide? (p28) A: No.

        That’s from the official FAQ. Why is this (below) allowed? What look at RAW allows this, or is this simply to allow for a “fun” death star to be allowed?

        ” An Eldar unit with a Dark Eldar Independent Character joined to it can be the target of a psychic power that must be cast on an Eldar Unit. While joined, the effects of the psychic power apply to the Dark Eldar character. [pg. 39, W40KRB] ”

        I just logged onto the internet and this is crazy… But isn’t posting scans of a book sold exclusively by GW on your tournament FAQ asking to get sued?

        • yakface February 26, 2013 12:07 am #

          There is no contradiction at all. The GW FAQ simply specifies that you cannot cast a power that requires an ‘Eldar’ unit onto a Dark Eldar unit. If a Dark Eldar model joins an Eldar unit, it is still an Eldar unit and therefore the power gets cast on the unit and per the rules for joining units, the IC is part of the unit and therefore benefits from the ability while joined.

          So in other words, a DE IC joins an Eldar unit = still an Eldar unit. An Eldar IC joins a DE unit = still a Dark Eldar unit.

          • N.S. February 26, 2013 1:05 am
            #

            Thanks for the clarification! While you’re clearing up all of my concerns Yakface, could you explain how casting gate of infinity in close combat will be resolved in this event? Perhaps an addition to the FAQ?

      • Jeremy Veysseire
        MikhailLenin February 26, 2013 8:06 am #

        Isn’t the DW Assault Listed as being after rolling for Warlord Trait? The reason I ask is Warlord Trait is listed under “Deployment” (Pg 121)

        • N.S. February 26, 2013 11:27 am #

          Yes, the following wording is what’s being questioned.

          ” immediately after determine warlord traits, tell your opponent which units are making a deathwing assault, and make a secret note of whether it takes place during your first or second turn. All units making a deathwing assault automatically arrive via deep strike at the start of the chosen turn – there is no need to roll for reserves.”

          How does one ariva via deep strike, let’s see…

          ” in order for a unit to be able to deep strike all models in the unit must have the deep strike special rule and start in reserve. ”

          “some units that must arrive via deep strike. They always begin the game in reserve and always arrive via deep strike. When working out how many units can be placed in reserve, units that must be deployed by deep strike ( along with any models embarked upon them) are ignored. ”

          pg.36

          Hmm, let’s see how reserves work.

          Preparing reserves page 124.

          ” when deploying their armies, players can choose not to deploy up to half of their units ( rounded up ) keeping them as reserves to arrive later. ” it goes on to tell us about units and how they count towards reserves.

          Brief recap.

          Permission to declare units using this special rule? Check
          Permission to make a note of when they will arrive? Check
          Permission to automatically arrive via deep without rolling? Check
          Permission to ignore reserve limitations? Nope

          Declaring that they are making use of this special rule after warlord traits, but before deployment, doesnt suddenly grant you permission to ignore the reserve tally unless the rule specifies so. The only way I could imagine people think that this lets you ignore the tally is because it tells you that they arive via deep strike before you’ve even deployed, making their deployment via reserve a “must”

          TL;DR

          The ruling for their tournament is fine, it doesn’t break the game in any way, and makes for some serious fun. But isn’t RAW, which is why I was questioning it.

        • yakface February 26, 2013 10:06 pm #

          Yes, Warlord Traits are picked during ‘deployment’ but this is before players actually deploy their armies. ‘Preparing Reserves’ is not actually done until each player actually deploys their army. The summary in the back of the rulebook (pg 424) makes it really clear…you actually choose your Warlord Traits, THEN pick your psychic powers THEN players actually deploy their armies. It is only when it is your turn to deploy your army that you look and see how many units you can put into Reserve. So by the time this rolls around, these units now MUST arrive by Deep Strike and are therefore not counted.

  13. Douglas February 26, 2013 9:04 am #

    What are the restrictions for placing fortifications? Do they have to be 3″ from other pieces of terrain? can AEGIS be placed ON or touching or IN area terrain? Up on hills etc?

    Sorry if i missed this somewhere.

    • Reecius
      Reecius February 26, 2013 10:12 am #

      The way we play it is that the Aegis, as battlefield debris, can go over other pieces of terrain. Other fortifications replace a piece of terrain if they would occupy the same space. Just take the terrain off of the board.

  14. Douglas February 26, 2013 8:34 pm #

    Are Experimental Forgeworld 40kstamped units like the Space Marine Spartan Assault tank or Necron Acanthrites allowed?

    Can a Space Marine army purchase Storm Ravens per Skies of Blood etc?

    Thanks again,

    HOWL!!!

  15. Douglas February 26, 2013 8:48 pm #

    I see the Storm Ravens in the FAQ, what about experimental FW stuff. Tks

    • Reecius
      Reecius February 27, 2013 9:25 am #

      No experimental rules, sorry. Only published material and updates for those units.

Leave a Reply