Let’s hear the arguments for and against, this is a hotly debated topic and I would like to hear more of what the community is thinking.
So, first things first. The question at hand is whether or not does a unit in a Night Scythe that is wrecked or explodes take the strength 10, ignores armor hits that a unit in any other flying transport take?
Here are the facts:
- BRB Pg. 81 states that a flyer that is wrecked or explodes! will scatter 2d6″ and then the large blast marker is placed, damaging units underneath it.
- If that flyer is also a transport, then all models within it take a strength 10, ignores armor hit.
- Survivors, if there are any, are then placed within 3″ of the blast markers final position. Note: This is not stated to be a disembarkation move but the implication is that it is.
- The rules for the Night Scythe state that a unit in a Night Scythe that is destroyed is not allowed to disembark, but instead enters reserves.
So, the question then is: do the models inside take the hit? The implication would be no they do not, as it seems logical. However, following the order of operations above, nowhere does it state that a unit in a Night Scythe would not take the hits that units in flying transports suffer when the transport is destroyed. Furthermore, the hits occur BEFORE a unit may leave the vehicle. By RAW, the unit would take the hits, and then go into reserves.
Now, this opens up a lot of new questions such as: what happens to any survivors that fail a morale or pinning check as a result? Do these models get resurrection protocol roles?
We typically lean towards RAW interpretations of rules here as it allows for the least amount of personal bias. Following RAW means that anyone, anywhere, coming to our events can know what to expect so long as they have a rule book. In this case though, it is a really weird situation and we all know there are going to be a large amount of Night Scythes at the BAO, so let us know what you think.